We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time”
Review of Tarpon Tale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tarpon Tale Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2012

I was there with my husband. We had a lovely time. There was always something to eat like Brownies and Wine, fresh fruits and so on. We could take bikes, umbreallas and what ever we needed for the beach. Every rooms has his own little terrace.
On the other side of the street is a great breakfast place. They serve eggs any style, home made jam, fresh fruits and so on.
We would go back any time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sibylle848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2012

My husband Joe and I were married on Nov 9th and arrived at the Tarpon Tale on the 10th. We stayed in the Island Sunset Cottage and absolutely enjoyed it! I grew up vacationing on Sanibel but had never stayed up by the lighthouse before. It was such a cute and cozy inn, and very private as well. We enjoyed breakfast on our porch several mornings, and it was convenient to get everywhere on the island. Dawn was a wonderful host, friendly and welcoming. It was my husband's first time to Sanibel and he fell in love with it too. We really enjoyed our stay at Tarpon Tale Inn - perfect for a cozy little honeymoon! Thanks and we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lclangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Dawn and Joe are fabulous hosts and the inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is great to be so close to the beah and in a quiet area. I would recommend the Tarpon Tale Inn to anyone. I hope to return many times! Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you!!!!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have stayed at this sweet inn on Sanibel for several years now starting about 10 years ago. We hadn't gone down there for the last couple of years, and returned last month. It was better than I remembered. Joe and Dawn keep the place up-to-date and work so hard to make everyone's stay comfortable. The units are clean and comfortable, and having the kitchen and privacy of a housekeeping unit is so much more relaxing than a hotel, or, god forbid, a dressy resort. It's a beach vacation for goodness sake! Shoes off! We've stayed in just about all of the units, and they are all clean and quiet. We also love being in this part of Sanibel, having stayed in various parts of the island since the late 80s. You can't do better in terms of comfort, quiet, price, convenience to the beach, shopping, great shelling and wildlife viewing. Take one of the free bikes to explore the area up by the light house (also an easy walk on the beach), or ride the few miles to Jerry's (opposite Casa Ybel on Periwinkle Way) for groceries and other shopping. At sunset, we were thrilled to see a pod of dolphins at play in the bay. Also enjoyed kayak rental at the Ding Darling Preserve. We took the kayak tour a couple of times, and love it. They usually let you keep the kayak for a few hours after the tour, too, so pack a lunch. Enjoy this wonderful inn in paradise!

Room Tip: All good. The website is honest and accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

A GREAT place for an amazingly cozy get-away. We stayed in the Island Sunset bungalow: clean & charming. Everything we had hoped for.
Upon our arrival we were met by our host Dawn and given a tour of the inn. Shown our room we were welcomed to the smell of fresh baked cookies. (she had made some and placed out on the table) Just another caring touch by the owners of this fine place.
We biked the paths around the entire point of of island. Found beautiful shells and beach bling.Loved the Ice-cream place across the street. And got to meet and pet Asta the dog of BIG DOG surf shop( walking distance from the inn). After a long day we took time out to use the hot-tub. The place, the beach and the memories. Perfect.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We were in Sanibel last week of August and we simply loved it! We stayed in the Tropical Bird Cottage. It was clean, comfortable & very well stocked in kitchen ware. Beach is just a few steps away and you can enjoy the fabulous ice cream across the road. The island is a very quiet place and perfect for relaxation. We enjoyed the Ding Darling Refuge, the beach and the excellent restaurants. We will most certainly go back. It was a fabulous week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I booked this hotel because it was private and a great price for my budget. Dawn, the owner, met us upon arrival. The room was great and more than we needed. This hotel/condo type environment was quiet the entire weekend. It is also perfectly situated across from a delicious ice cream shop and a couple of restaurants. Food is great! I would come back here again whenever the opportunity came up. You also get to use bicycles as part of your room fee. If you are looking somewhere else, you might have to add bicycle rental into your trip cost. Many ride bicycles here and the paths are perfect for it. It is a short walk to the beach and lots of beautiful shells to collect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#19 of 20 in Sanibel Island
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 20 in Sanibel Island
723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 20 in Sanibel Island
731 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Tale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Tale Inn

Address: 367 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7431
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £149 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tarpon Tale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tarpon Tale Inn is a charming, family run property on the east end of Sanibel, a short walk from the island's famous shelling beaches, the lighthouse and the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. Each of our cottage style accommodations has its own distinct character, and range from cozy efficiencies to spacious one bedroom suites. We hope you'll choose the Tarpon Tale Inn as your home on Sanibel. You'll find the Florida you're looking for! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Tarpon Tale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Tale Hotel Sanibel Island
Tarpon Tale Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing