We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarpon Tale Inn
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$426
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$332
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$303
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
208
58
6
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
58
6
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towelspeaceful place to stayshort walklighthouse areaice cream shoplaundry roomfree bikesmini fridgefull kitchentable chairscleaning stationlaid backosprey nestcoffee makergas grillfelt like homequiet end
Filter
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights in the Historic Lighthouse 2 room. The room like the inn was charming. The bed was comfy, the shower pressure is great, the room clean and full of thoughtful little extras such as a bag of microwave popcorn, sunscreens, beach towels and a real hair dryer. Not one of those typical little hotel room numbers that don't do a thing. The location was great ... a short walk to the beach. We slept with the window open and it was very quiet. The birds did wake me up in the morning but I live in the city and am more used to hearing sirens than nature. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petittarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

My daughter and I stayed 3 nights. We enjoyed riding the bikes to the pier and on the beach. It was great to have the laundry facility available. The computer room was very quiet. Although, the computer was very slow. That was ok, we weren't in a hurry. Dawn came by to see how we were doing. She was very gracious. I will most definitely return to this Inn. One of the best places that I have stayed out. Thanks!!!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank imusttravel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

We just love the Tarpon Tale Inn! Our friends had recommended we try this "great little place”, and now we understand why. The Inn is cozy, clean and relaxing. The location is ideal and Dawn was the perfect hostess. This was our first visit to Sanibel Island and we will definitely be back. After exploring the island thoroughly we realized the Tarpon Tale is the best spot- close to Lighthouse with the most awesome shelling ever. One of the best places we have found!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank watchhill_RISusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you for the kind words
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We had a nice stay at the Tarpon Tale July 6-13. We booked the Tropical Bird . The cottage was very clean and cute- king bedroom with french doors to our private patio with tropical flowers and foliage and crushed shell paths around the property. There was a full kitchen with sofa bed in the connected living area, large step in shower in the bathroom. (Towels were yukky though-old and stained and some upkeep issues in the cottage-broken handles on microwave, burned out bulbs in lamps, holes in couch, but nothing too terrible.) We had a small plumbing issue that was taken care of immediately when we called and the owner was friendly. The property had almost everything you would need to enjoy a lazy beach vacation-laundry room with extra linens and towels, and sundries-in case you forgot something. There was a common area (office) with a computer ,snack mix , a closet of DVDs and videos for guest use, and a bottle of wine in case the need hit ya. Outside there was a covered spa-too hot out!!, beach chairs, and umbrellas for beach use and a bike rack with several old bikes- no kid bikes however-you must rent those or bring your own. When we arrived, there was a welcome letter pinned on the bulletin board in the "office" and the owners were available by phone as we had some questions, but as previous reviews had stated, no one is really around which is a little different. You have to look around yourself. We kind of liked the peace and quiet, but I could see where some guests may feel put off by the lack of hospitality. We hit the beach almost immediately, which is a short walk if you just take yourselves, but a long walk to carry all the "stuff" like chairs, etc.Luckily the Inn is located in a quiet part of town and the Buttonwood beach access is only three blocks away.( It really is not worth it to pay to park at the other beach access areas)-we found shelling to be great there. Some words of advice_ Take bottled water!!!! And food!!! There is really no good place to go to the store to get things- the little store across the street is pretty tiny and expensive- we stopped in Ft. Myers before we came and picked up some snacks, produce, and milk. the water tasted terrible to us in Sanibel so it was nice to have our own. The property has a gas grill , so we also brought some steaks and dogs and had a nice dinner on the cheap one night- expect to pay about 30- 70 bucks for each basic meal out for family of three. All the food we had out was delicious- Lighthouse cafe and Sanibel Bean for breakfast, Island pizza Co. was awesome, Lazy Flamingo and Cantina Captiva for lunch, and amazing dinners at Jacaranda and Timbers. Best chowder and dessert at Blue Giraffe. Shell museum was cool and wonderful dolphin cruise at Captiva Tarpon Bay tours. This vacation was nice and the Tarpon Tale is a good value if you like being independent and don't mind a little wear and tear.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holymoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We loved the TTI. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing way to celebrate our first anniversary and we found it! When we arrived we found our key in an envelope in the office and went straight to our room. No hassles with checking in! We stayed in the Birdhouse cottage, it was so cute and just perfect for two people. We were worried that the room would be too small but it was just perfect! The grounds were so nice and it was very quiet. You dont even realize you have neighbors!

We enjoyed the Lighthouse Restaurant (across the street) for breakfast and the shops next door were great too. We also enjoyed the beach in the morning (just a short walk or drive around the corner) and would walk over to the bayside (which also was a short walk) late afternoon for shelling.

We couldnt be more pleased with our stay in Sanibel and would definitely recommend the TTI to our friends.

G&F of OKC

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ZottOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn R, Owner at Tarpon Tale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Thank you so much!
Dawn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews