We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to it's Reputation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanibel Cottages Resort
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lived up to it's Reputation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

On March 31, 2012 we drove from Key West, Florida to the Sanibel Cottages in Sanibel Island, Florida, to find this resort to be wonderful! When we checked into our room, it was clean, smelled great, and was more than we expected. Our unit was #110 which had a direct view of the Gulf of Mexico which was stunning, and the 2 bedroom 2 bath unit was spacious and very up to date as far as the fixtures and furniture. Overall this resort made us feel welcome and 'at home. The atmosphere of the resort was very inviting, warm feeling, and comfortable. What was really amazing was that we went during Spring break time and yet the resort was not crowded with too many people. There were kids of all ages enjoying the various amenities of the resort which only added to the charm. It is definitely a place we will come back to, and will recommend it to everyone we know. Thanks Sanibel Cottages for providing us such a great place to stay for our 2nd week of vacation in Florida!

Room Tip: I believe every room will have a great view of the ocean. But #110 had a direct view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ExplorerScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the cottages during spring break. It was very quiet and peaceful. The beach and pool were both very nice and clean. We stayed on the top floor so it was a haul to carry our luggage and groceries up the stairs. Consider this if you have elderly or handicap persons in your party. Also the floors are not soundproof so I am sure the people under us could hear us. I would not want to be on the bottom floor. The cottage was spacious and beautiful and the screened in porch was a delight. Enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails everyday bug free with a wonderful gulf view.

Room Tip: No elevators. Lots of stairs to the top unit and the floors are not soundproof, so the bottom units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank nursedocstl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Recently, I contacted Martha at Sanibel Cottages to inquire about any vacancies for the last week of March. I received a return call the following Monday and was advised there were no vacancies and a waiting list was being compiled. As I was talking and telling Martha of my interest, she rudely hung up. I was speechless, I mean, I understand you're full, however, a little politeness would go a long way. I immediately called back and was put on hold, apparently, another person called during my conversation, perhaps more important. When Martha came back to the phone, there were no apologies, nothing, just a reply that it's basically hopeless so no need to bother with the wait list. If this is an indication of the 'service' level before your trip, buyer beware as I would never consider booking one of the owner condo timeshares. Perhaps some of the condo owners take notice as she is representing you and trust me, there are many beautiful places to stay on Sanibel (Casa Ybel, Jensen's, etc). And, they really need to update their website, what a disaster, the forum is of no use whatsoever and provides no value to visitors. So . . . no, I definitely would not recommend Sanibel Cottages, it's a nice place but with this level of service and uncaring attitude, why bother when there are no many other wonderful venues!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
44 Thank RandallE395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

We have come here for 25 years. A beautiful 2 bedroom unit, all units face the gulf. Easy walk (about a minute) to the Gulf. Units are fabulous. Three weeks of heaven for us. Office staff and grounds crew are all really nice people! Breakfast overlooking the water every morning. A quiet getaway. Near tons of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank stagsknights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

This resort is beautiful. It is quiet and the beach is lovely. Another review mentions that you won't have to contact management because the units are well equipped. This is true and it is a good thing. As I left I realized I need an address for a location. I had already locked the unit and was turning in the keys at the office. I asked if the desk agent could please look up an address for me. The response I received was a deadpan, "No." No explanation or apology, just, "No."
I left with a bad feeling about the resort due to this.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank jujubGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We stayed the first week of August and it was beautiful. The were no signs of any oil, and the sandy shell covered beaches, and warm Gulf waters were extremely relaxing for our family. The Cottages were very comfortable and spacious. Hoping to come back next year!

Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank OSprey92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2009

We just cam e back from our first visit to Sanibel Cottages. We adore it there! It has gulf views that are beautiful. We like the fact that it isn't a large resort. It was not crowded at the pool or the beach. For a change we didn't have a beach trip where you have to get up at 7AM to reserve a pool or beach chair. You are given 2 chairs with your room. We rented a beach umbrella from the office for $5 for the week. The rooms are spotless and updated for comfort and attractiveness. The location is convenient to everything on Sanibel. We will for sure return to this lovely resort!

  • Liked — We loved the location and quality of the resort the best.
  • Disliked — There's no elevator so it is difficult to get luggage up to the second level.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank christeach2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
2.3 mi away
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Gulf Breeze Cottages
#9 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
#29 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Cottages Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Cottages Resort

Property: Sanibel Cottages Resort
Address: 2341 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6001
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanibel Cottages Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Sanibel Cottages Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Island Hotel
Sanibel Cottages Island
Sanibel Cottages Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing