We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great beach location”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We've just returned home from a great, relaxing week at this Resort. All of the employees were most helpful and extremely pleasant and made us feel very welcome. We were in building G in an upper end condo with uninterrupted beach/sea views, it was great. It's not a large resort, 7 buildings made up of 54 townhouses and for anyone with a problem in climbing stairs, building F has an elevator.
The units are well equipped and attractively decorated. Unlike some timeshares, there is no starter packet of laundry detergent, shampoo/conditioner, etc., or coffee, so you need to remember to take those, but there was an ample supply of dishwasher & dish detergent, tissues and soap. A nice touch is the personal use of 2 beach chairs which you will find on your patio.
Another great thing for golfers, is the cart fee only rate making the price very reasonable to play this attractive and well manicured course which is only 5 minutes away. The office has a DVD rental program for a small fee, plenty of books as well as a beach chair and beach umbrella rentals, each for only $1/day. Also, they have a number of items that you can borrow for the unit, like tea pots, coffee grinder, etc., that do not form part of standard inventory which is very helpful.
Shopping at Baileys General Store is a must and whilst Jerry's store is the closer of the two, we preferred Baileys. Tortuga's easy to find location when coming from the Causeway is a plus, only a couple of minutes and you're there which must be an added bonus 'in season'.
We had a great time, very relaxing and will return.

Room Tip: For fewer stairs choose odd numbered unit, or building F if you need an elevator. Corner units have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilviB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    33
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
208
90
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I was invited by close friends to spend the weekend at this time share resort. What an absolutely beautiful setting. The property is immaculate! The unit was updated with the latest appliances, granite counter tops, new living room furniture. If I had any money to invest would definitely purchase a unit for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah3302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

My husband's family has been going to Tortuga for 32 years and I was lucky enough to go along for 3 of those. Last year, we were able to purchase a unit during the same week as the rest of the family and 2013 was our first time using it. The kitchens and living areas received face lifts with new furniture, cabinets, etc and it looks great! The pool area is large, the beach is just steps away, there are plenty of outdoor grill areas and the staff members are so helpful and friendly. The clubhouse offers inexpensive daily lunch options, as well as afternoon snacks and drinks, and a large ice machine so you don't have to use the ice from your unit to fill your cooler. Sanibel itself is a great area with lots of little shops and restaurants, if you want to leave the resort - which we rarely do. On site there's also tennis, volleyball, shuffleboard... Need I go on??

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

WOW...great views, beautiful condos right on the beach, beautiful landscaping, great pool and club house with ice machine, and a fantastic staff that makes you feel at home. We don't have kids, but there is a kids program that has different activities. Weekday lunches and frozen drinks are a steal. Our 2 bedroom condo was spacious and a fully equipped kitchen. Look no further...Tortuga is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeAndDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We have been coming to Tortuga for almost 30 years! It is a wonderful resort on a beautiful island. It has been our home away from home. The units are updated regularly and are so beautiful. The staff is warm friendly and responsive to every need. TBC is a treasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ito, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

In 2012 we shared the most wonderful time at "Tortuga" ! It was so peaceful and just ideal for the most part. We are due back for another visit and look forward to it .When we visited the weather and amenities were all you could want in florida or anywhere..The internet was fully functioning never had any issues with doin business by the pool or in condo.I and my partner recommend this resort to anyone who wants to getaway from the hustle and bustle of the city.The staff are just as wonderful making sure not to miss a thing ,and the pool side days were fun as well.Cooking out late in the evening was very nice after a day of basking in the sun .Looking forward to seeing the Tortuga family ! RJ Adamson & Brian Caton

Room Tip: we had a lookout to the gulf if you can get it jump on it to see the rain coming inward was incredib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My family and I have been visiting Tortuga since I was a small child. It is a wonderful resort with a large swimming pool that kids and adults alike enjoy. (Look for the tile turtle!) There is a social calendar updated each week which includes lunchtime options and activities for the kids at reasonable prices. The units are well-equipped with everything you might need for cooking in the unit if you decide to do so. They even have things like cookie sheets and cake pans available for check out from the office. My family and I enjoyed the weekly movie rental program which provides you with a large selection of movies (including recent releases) to be checked out from the office and enjoyed in the unit. Very close to the beach and Sanibel restaurants -- right across from the main causeway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rutang5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel
Tortuga Beach Club Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing