We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand, Sun and Serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sand, Sun and Serenity”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I'm writing this at Tortuga Beach Club as I look out from the private deck off the MBR to the beach and the gulf beyond. Truly a setting from paradise. The grounds back from the beach are secluded and include a wonderful pool area and great hot tub. There are daily activities for kids in the clubhouse by the pool. This is a wonderful place for families -- we have been coming here for nearly 20 years with our children (and now grandchildren). We have several units to accommodate the whole family for what has become the highlight of the year. One major reason the accommodations are in such good condition is the wonderful staff and the constant upgrades to the amenities. We will be coming back here again and again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have the best views, the lower rooms have the easiest access to the beach and pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 898suel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
219
91
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London Scot
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We enjoyed a most comfortable and relaxing stay - all the previous reviews are spot on in highlighting the grounds, the units and particularly the pool area - probably the most spacious and well maintained area we have ever visited. Quality relaxation.

Worth also mentioning the staff. All the ladies put up well with my impression of a grumpy old man and were helpful in the extreme. (The grumpy bit was an act, honest.)

The grounds are well tended and access to the beach is piece of cake. The views from the upper balconies are the reason people go on vacation.

Now for the boring bit - I am astounded that little mention has been made of the access to the even numbered, upper floor accommodations. There are thirty steps from the car park to the front door and then given the 'facilities' are located upstairs, a further thirteen steps have to be climbed. Forty-three steps to the toilet. Didn't trouble my wife nor myself, but could prove tricky for some. Only one of the eight buildings currently boasts an elevator.

Once inside, however, the units are seriously spacious and comfortable. Did I mention spacious? The comfort provided on the top floor was exemplary; the peace and quiet were almost biblical in proportions.

This property raises the bar of the standard of accommodation on Sanibel to a very high level.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapmanbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I absolutely love this resort. The grounds are perfect and the staff is very courteous and helpful. We have stayed here a few times now and every time it gets harder to leave. This resort is perfect for couples and families. We will be purchasing a unit in the future!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CheistinaA298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

beautiful property. have been coming here for years and finally may end up purchasing. depends on availability of specific units. most of the people here are owners and have seen them often. while this property is Hilton Club, not many, if any of the people i spoke to opt to trade. all the owners actually come very year and would not dream of clubing their week. 1 week by the way is not enough. you need at least 2 weeks to be able to soak it all in. the island is amazing as are most of the resturants....great, quiet place. very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finleyville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

The Best!
Went with friends to Tortuga Beach Club the week of Sept. 13th! Beautiful resort, spacious rooms (top unit) and wonderful people!
We choose to travel at this time of the year even though my friends have 2 school age children. Being they were the only children at the resort they still went out of their way to offer the girls daily crafts to do! Now tell me how can you beat that? Also, a daily lunch menu if you so choose!
This resort definately caters to their guests ! We could not ask for more.
Everything in the unit is well cared for and looks new! The property is just beautiful!
We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Justmemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. louis missouri
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We come every year in September, myself for the past 17 years, my husband since the 80's. It's like catching up with the neighbors for one week every year. It is a blast. I will never tire of this place, it is so beautiful. I wish everyone could experience this place. It is very quiet in September with kids back in school. Restaurant service is superb because they are so happy for the business. The office staff is very friendly and helpful. I have no complaints and never will. Every year we go there are upgrades to the rooms, it's like a new home each time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryljanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Tortuga Beach Club is the closest thing to Paradise you will find in the US. The grounds are keep in emaculate shape. The flowers, trees and plantings are beautiful. The pool and hot tub are great. And the pool chairs and loungers appear to have just been replaced, so they are in great condition. The drive around the complex has pavers, which is a huge advantage over other resorts with the shell and gravel drives that have dust flying all over the place. The management team is the most responsive of any resort we have stayed at. And they actually care about renters as much as their owners. A unique quality, but it is another aspect that sets Tortuga Beach Club apart from other resorts. The interior of the units are well maintained and it appears they have been recently updated with new living room, dining room furniture along with a new kitchen. If not, they are in excellent condition. There is volleyball on the grounds with shuffle board, tennis, pickle ball and ping pong in the clubhouse. And we have come to find out they have golf membership at the Dunes Golf and Tennis Complex, where all you pay is cart fee. This is a huge deal for us, since we love to play golf, especially at the Dunes which is a wonderful course. They have wireless internet that actually works well, something that can be hit and miss on Sanibel Island. There is an activities director on site that has activities for the kids - crafts, beach nature walks, swimming, etc. The activities person also barbeques lunches for purchase, prepares island drinks for purchase and there are many many more amenities that no other resort has on Sanibel. We will never rent at any other place when we come back to the island again. We have been coming since 1985 and staying at various resorts but Tortuga Beach Club by far is the BEST resort on the island hands down.

Room Tip: 2nd floor units have an incredible view of the ocean off a master bedroom balcony. 1st floor units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob1951STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
738 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortuga Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel
Tortuga Beach Club Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing