We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We own time share weeks in April/May at Tortuga Beach Club on Sanibel Island and again had a wonderfully relaxing and beautiful vacation this year! The resort is always well maintained, the staff is friendly and willing to help in any way. The ability to golf at The Dunes Golf course is an added bonus!
We recommend Tortuga to anyone who wants a great getaway vacation to a beautifully small but very comfortable family oriented resort.

Room Tip: The upper units at Tortuga are a bit bigger than the lower ones, but all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have a two-week timeshare at Tortuga in March. We have been going for the past 27 years. It is like our home away from home. The condos are very well furnished with new items changed each year so they are always up-to-date. There is a beautification program for the grounds and they are beautiful and well groomed. The beach and pool are hit every year with our kids and grandkids. The kids love doing the crafts with the activities director. The staff is outstanding and always ready to help in any way. Lunches are cooked poolside, and they are the best bargain on the island. We travel a lot during the year, but we seldom find a place that measures up to Tortuga.

Room Tip: All condos face the ocean. The top floor condos have the best view. One building has an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlTrotter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My family stayed here for a week over spring break. The staff is excellent and attentive. The condo units are clean and well-kept, with the exception of the beds, which were old. The staff explained that the beds were being replaced soon -- that's good, but it was probably a year late. The pool area is very nice. It's not really suited for very small kids, as the shallowest point is about 4'. There are shuffleboard and volleyball courts, and gas grills on site. Parking is under each building. Entry to the 2-story units is on the 2nd and 3rd floors. if you get a 2nd floor unit, you have a front stairway to the courtyard and pool, but many don't have much if any view of the Gulf. if you get a 3rd floor unit, you get beautiful views of the Gulf, but need to go down 2 flights of stairs, which is slightly less convenient. Our building had an elevator. Beach access is great, especially because Tortuga has relatively few condo units, so there's less crowding than in front of larger developments.
The staff helps with anything you need. They have board games and videos for rainy days, tennis equipment to borrow, and a few beach toys to borrow. They run simple kids' activities each morning around the pool.
Rental includes greens fees to the Dunes golf course (you pay $20 for cart and can rent clubs). It's a beautiful, and very challenging course, with a LOT of water (and a few 'gators).
I recommend Tortuga for a very relaxing time on Sanibel. I'm hoping to plan a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichBustrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My family has been staying at Tortuga since the early "80's. The resort is superbly managed, well maintained, beautiful grounds, wonderful amenities. The staff is always very friendly and helpful, and the entire resort has a family-feel. The activities director provides a craft activity every day, grills lunch like it is in your own backyard, ice cream treats and kids' night out!! Every year we are greeted with smiles and "welcome back". Spectacular pool and spa, sugar-sand beachfront, shuffleboard, tennis, horseshoes, hammocks, everything you need for a relaxing island vacation. We love Tortuga Beach Club, and will continue to go back year after year!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VBO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our first time staying on Sanibel, and absolutely exceeded expectations! Our 2 bedroom villa was perfect- 2 bedroom- 2 bath- screened in porch- parking spot below- beach was accessible from several accessible Eco-friendly paths, pool always had open lounge chairs- grounds immaculate- staff amazing- didn't want to leave- renting bikes means accessibility to most everything on island, and with car traffic, bikes are a must! Loved, loved Tortuga, primarily because of the caring, wonderful staff! Mucho kudos! We will be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Nancy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We have been coming to Tortuga since the late '80's. We always look forward to our January visits because we know what to expect. Betsy and Cindy have always been wonderful and very attentive to our needs. The grounds are maintained and always immaculate condition. The units are constantly up-dated with new colors and new looks. We will continue to travel to Florida every January and stay at Tortuga as it is one of the best kept secrets on Sanibel Island.

Room Tip: All units have a view of the Gulf but the top units give a better view of the water and the surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our stay at TBC in November 2013 was our 25th since our first visit in 1987. Of all the places we visit and vacation at in this country and abroad this is the most pleasurable and relaxing by far. This is due in large part to the remarkable ability of the staff at the resort to maintain, update and add to the pleasures and amenities which they provide. Enormous credit to the team so ably and professionally led by Betsy Cain. It is not only a case of what they do for their guests (almost family in many respects!) but the friendly and outreaching way they look after us. We look forward eagerly to our next visit.

Room Tip: Lowe level units have easier access; upper units have more privacy and often better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,921 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £208 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortuga Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel
Tortuga Beach Club Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing