We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy and casual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dreamy and casual”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This was a TS trade. There were 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. It was 2 floors with the kitchen, porch and living room on the first floor. Initially I was disappointed with no TV or hair dryer in the spare bedroom and the decor was a little dated in the bedrooms with regards to the bedspreads, carpeting and mirrored closets. The joint living space was upgraded and very nice.
Despite the lack of umbrellas at the pool the ability to rent lovely beach chairs and umbrellas from the office more than made up for it. At a $1.00 a day that's a bargain anywhere you go!
I wanted to love this place and by George I did! I took a deep pranayama breath and really fell into the slower island pace and enjoyed the wonderful natural surroundings and beach I had the pleasure to be a part of for the week!
Thee were lunches and mixed drinks for sale Sundays through Thursdays and Ping pong and shuffle board were also available. The beach was quiet and not crowded at all.
We are planning a return trip!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    33
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
215
91
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
plainsboronj
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed in this resort with my husband and best friends. We r all co owners of a Marriott TS. We have traveled a lot together and have stayed in some lovely TS units. Initially I was disappointed there was no TV in the spare bedroom as well as the absence of a hair dryer! thee were no umbrellas at the pool either. But then I was struck by the casualness and the slow pace and of course the natural beauty. It felt like time was standing still here but that turned out to be a wonderful thing. I / we were able to take a deep pranyayama breath and absorb the wonderful environment around us! The office has a wonderful gal named Jeanine who was very helpful throughout the week. We were also able to rent nice beach chairs and umbrellas for $1.00 a day each. Now that's a bargain in any arena right?! The beach was quiet and not crowded. The resort had a lot of families and there was shuffleboard, ping pong as well as lunches and mixed drinks to purchase in the clubhouse Sundays through Thursdays. Overall I would recommend the Tortuga and we are actually hoping to trade for this again next year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizPlainsboronj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Tortuga Beach Club is a premier destination if you want to enjoy all the comforts of home. The condos are extremely well equipped and maintained, as well as modern and comfortable. You have the option of eating in or you can select one of the many fabulous restaurants on the island. The grounds include a pool, hot tub, volleyball court, tennis courts, pickle board courts, shuffleboard, several gas BBQs, ping pong, children's arts & crafts, as well as shell cleaning stations. It's a fantastic family or friends atmosphere. The grounds maintenance crew do an impeccable job keeping the property immaculate. The office offers various items for sale, as well as a share program for DVDs, games, books, etc. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upper units are two story with the bedrooms located upstairs which is convenient for putting childre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyHootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The reviews here were exceptional so we were expecting a really wonderful vacation at Tortuga Beach. We exchanged into Tortuga through Interval and we sure are happy we did. We stayed in a newly furnished 2 bedroom unit, with the bedrooms both upstairs with 2 bathrooms. Downstairs there was a kitchen and livingroom with a screened balcony. One bedroom had a small porch overlooking the pool and the gulf. Simply gorgeous view! The resort had all the necessary amenities in the unit, towels, Wifi, kitchen utensils, soap, hairdryer and a compact washer/dryer.

There was ample chaise lounges at the pool, however there were no umbrellas for shade. There was a roofed structure for shade with limited seating and some areas under palm trees, but the addition of umbrellas would be great. We were told that the Sanibel municipality had restrictions on poolside umbrellas because of the wind, but the resort was working on the issue. However, we were pleasantly surprised to be able to rent beach chairs and umbrellas for the astonishingly low price of $1.00/day for each. The beach was uncrowded, the water calm compared to NJ, and a pleasant breeze in the 90 degree sun. The only other small issue was beach towels. There are none in the rooms, but you can borrow towels from the front desk. They are clean towels left by previous guests and they are to be returned clean at the end of your stay. Different than I'm used to, but worked out OK. You may want to pack your own beach towels.

Our unit was the furthest from the beach, Unit 134, which had a reserved under the building parking space. Although furthest from the beach, it was not too far, just a short walk. Any building in the complex would be fine. Our unit was on the 3rd floor, so be prepared for steps, but the view was worth it.

What really was interesting was the tenure of the quests we spoke to. Most were timeshare owners at Tortuga and they had been going there for 20-30 years!!! Now I understand why the reviews are so good.

The front desk was very helpful, especially Janine. We are definitely returning next year to this homey little gem on the gulf.

Room Tip: All building are fine and a sort walk to the beach or pool. They all have beachfront or beach view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratty_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a great family vacation in Sanibel. We stayed at the Tortuga Beach Resort on the island and were thoroughly pleased.

The accommodations were much larger than we expected and the condition of our unit was excellent. The property is right on the beach and is maintained beautifully by the staff. There are activities during the day for the family and the units are well-equipped for cooking in on the nights that we wanted to have dinner with the family.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for an island getaway and a stress free vacation.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evargas099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Resort was fabulous! Extremely clean, everyone, including guests, are friendly. The pool is perfect and a short walk out to the beach. There are gas grills for grilling, bike racks, covered garage, laundry in the rooms. The condos are truly a home away from home. Free golf is included for staying at this resort. We can't wait to go back!
Jenny, IL

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Tortuga Beach Club. We are not owners and this was our 1st time here. We loved it. It looks much better in person than the pictures on the web. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are very spacious. We had a top floor unit, 122. The view was amazing from the master bedroom. We really liked the kitchen and living room makeover. The kitchen is very well equipped. The pool was perfect. My family also enjoyed many of the activites offered such as Kids Night Out, pool side ice cream, and drinks.
My only comments that keep me from giving this resort 5 stars are the bedding, comforter, and pillows we found to be outdated. These could be updated. Also, the board at the resort recently implemented a non smoking policy on the pool/spa grounds. However, this was not enforced. I even once saw a staff member talking to a person in a lounge chair next to the pool and this person never asked the person to move or put out the cigarette.
But overall a great stay and we would return. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindi K, Front Office Manager at Tortuga Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Scarlett,
Thank you so much for your review! It sounds like you had a good visit with us. The master beds are all being replaced this year. Bed comfort is one of the most difficult tasks we work to accomplish! Everyone has a different opinion about it, but we think the beds on order are going to make most people happy. As far as the actual bedding, we are most likely switching the master bedding to "triple-sheeting" which is in use by many better hotels now. We have it in four sample units and it includes a decorative scarf and pillows which everyone seems to love. We are also trying to find better bed linens and towels for our units. The bedding is scheduled for change this year too!

Regarding the smoking at the pool and that our team member didn't mention this to the guest - we will be speaking with our staff to clarify that the rule needs to be enforced. I appreciate your feedback regarding that. You are absolutely correct.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#15 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
4.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Beach Club Resort

Property: Tortuga Beach Club Resort
Address: 959 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6922
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tortuga Beach Club Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Beach Club Hotel Sanibel Island
Tortuga Beach Resort
Tortuga Beach Hotel
Tortuga Beach Club Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing