We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Relaxing”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We had a wonderful week at the Seahorse Cottages; we stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. Very quiet peaceful neighborhood. Perfect spot to stay; only a short walk to a beach, either the bay or the gulf. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas were provided along with a little red wagon for transporting everything to the beach and bikes were available. Our cottage was cozy and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed and the outdoor grill was just right for eating in (Jerry's shopping area is close by for all of your food needs). The grounds were well maintained. Great breakfast spot (Lighthouse Cafe - breakfast only-not great for other meals), deli for lunch (Rosie's!!) and ice-cream shop (Pinocchio's) right around the corner. Many restaurants nearby (by car) for dining out - Island Cow, Doc Ford's, Mad Hatter (expensive but - oh so delicious) and Matzaluna's Italian Restaurant to name a few of our favorites. The shower was tiny. We enjoyed the small pool and both porches. We had a very comfortable relaxing week. There is no maid service but a free laundry is available along with extra towels. Pat met our every need - a new coffee maker and nightlight - just a phone call away. We look forward to our next trip to Sanibel and Seahorse Cottages.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachlover57225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband, sister and I just returned from spending a week at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel Island. Our week could not have been better. Seahorse Cottages is the best place to stay. We were provided with everything we needed as far as a place to stay and relax. It was very clean and the kitchen had every pot, pan, utensil, appliance you could think of. Not only that, but bicycles were provided, as well as carts to carry all your items to the beach. They even provided beach umbrellas, beach chairs, nets to gather shells, and beach towels. Your every wish is their command. When you stay here, you are close to San Carlos Bay as well as the Gulf. It is perfect in every way. We had such a wonderful time sitting on the back deck with our coffee each morning and eating our breakfast out there as well. It's quiet yet close to shopping, restaurants and the beach. This was a super-fantastic place to stay and we thank Peggy and Keith for all they do to provide such a nice place at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2011

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your vacation with us at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel! We do work hard to make sure that everyone has that same wonderful experience that you did and we always are delighted to hear it. It's something we never get tired of hearing! We consider Seahorse Cottages our vocation not our job and our goal is to allow everyone to vacation in paradise and enjoy this beautiful island and the ambiance that Seahorse Cottages has. Our guests become our family and we welcome them back time and time again. We look forward to doing the same with you. Welcome to the Seahorse family!

Peggy and Keith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2011

A half block walk to the Bay side of the island, the salt air a good antidote to the snows of Pennsylvania. The wonderful Lighthouse Cafe and Rose's Deli is a half block the other direction, and a few blocks further to the Gulf. BIcycles to roam on. We stayed in the one bedroom cottage which was pleasant, comfortable and suited us well. An easygoing and thoroughly enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aubri9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

We came for a week's R&R. The cottage was perfect, cozy and inviting. One block from the bay and one block from the Gulf, in the nice eastern part of Sanibel. No maid service, but free laundry and unlimited towels, complete kitchen, etc. The pool is a laugher (very tiny) but is heated. We greatly enjoyed Seahorse Cottages, and would come here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, clean vacation place on Sanibel. We surely found it at the Seahorse Cottages. Peggy is a great hostess, taking care of all your needs.The cottages are in a great location to access both sides of the islands beaches. We loved the use of the bikes, the little pool, the outside back porch, being able to walk/ride bikes to the lighthouse, and the cafe' for a great breakfast. The cottage had everything we needed and more than we expected. Thank you for everything - we are looking forward to returning for our next vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine4ever04079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

There isn't enough room to write our true feelings about Seahorse cottages. This was our second year spending a long weekend with Peggy and Keith at the cottages. This year we brought our families down with us and they also had a phenominal time. The cottages are quaint and give the true beach feel. The cottages are located on a delightful part of the island which is quiet. You feel like you have your own personal paradise. Peggy and Keith go out of their way to be sure you are comfortable. The complementary bikes are awesome and are great to tour the island. The beach is a quick walk. There are also cute shops, a great breakfast joint and the best ice cream on the island. We will be booking again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maimai701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had our best vacation ever in June at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel.
The Richardson's are wonderful hosts and have provided everything you'll need except your food. The cottages are beautiful and immaculate, as are the grounds and so peaceful. Steps from the water on a pleasant path and secluded, I loved that. Big front porch with chairs and tables and a back patio where we ate all but one of our dinners. The furnishings are very nice and we slept well every night. All we needed was more time to spend on Sanibel Island, it was very hard to leave. Now all I want to do is plan my next trip, which will be for a longer time and we will definitely stay at Seahorse Cottages. We loved having the bikes furnished and were on them every day.
Thank you, Peggy & Keith, for this special place. My husband, Ray, was very contented and he's not one for staying anywhere but home. We hope to go back very soon. Arkansas Travelers

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
292 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
515 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,885 reviews
4.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#7 of 20 in Sanibel Island
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £101 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing