We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true, delightfully perfect!”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Cottages
Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A dream come true, delightfully perfect!”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

All my life I had dreamed of going to Sanibel Island and go shelling, as I am a recovering shell-a-holic. For my 2nd Anniversary, Sept. 9-13 2011 that dream came true. We chose to stay at Seahorse Cottages, owned by Peggy Richardson. We couldn't have made a better choice. Everything was delightfully perfect! When we arrived at the cottage we knew we were in heaven. Actually I could tell that as soon as we left Fort Myers for Sanibel Island. The area was even more breathtaking than I imagined. There was beauty everywhere we looked, the gorgeous beaches, amazing trees, great sunny weather, fluffy clouds, pretty tropical plants & flowers, interesting native Florida wildlife, beautiful seashells, eye-catching art for sale in the shops, cute & cozy cottage, we were blown away. We stayed in #2, a one bedroom cottage, which was very cute, cozy, warm & inviting, full of beach decor and well stocked with all the comforts of home. No need to bring: dishes, cups, pots/pans, towels, TP, paper towels, dish soap, bath soap, detergent (there is even a washer/dryer to use- not in each cottage but on the premises), bath soap, just bring food and drinks and what you would bring to a nice hotel. There is a TV and phone in the cottages. THere is also a refridgerator, microwave and coffee maker. The innkeeper (Peggy) is very nice, friendly & helpful. She does her best to accommodate your every need. There is also a perfect sized heated outdoor pool with green lights on at night. Also they provide bicycles and wagons to take on the beach. The pool is wonderful, small and cute, just the kind we like. In the off season you may get it all to yourself like we did. It was very refreshing, we spent lots of time in it. We rode the bikes to the beach at sunset and got some awesome pics. It was like God rolled out the red carpet just for us! The scenery was spectacular. Sunset on the beach at low tide took our breath away. Shells were everywhere. We got to see many live Florida fighting Conchs out looking for food. That was fun! We even found a newly hatched lobster (put him back in the water so he wouldn't dry out). Our first day on the beach there were many box jellyfish (they pack a wallop), so we didn't go in the water. But after that day they were gone and we played in the water. Also there are these adorable little lizards all over the place (green and black anoles). They were fun to play with too. I made a set of earrings with them (just long enough to take a few pics). The babies are only an inch long. Overall, we had an exquisite time and can't wait to return. Words cannot describe the extreme beauty and awesome scenery of South Florida, Sanibel Island in particular. If you want the experience of a lifetime, this is the place to go, and Seahorse Cottages is the place to stay! Affordable too. :)

Room Tip: Efficiency is good for one person, 1 bedroom for couples, and 2 bedroom for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tolbunt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    31
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
winerunner
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage and it had everything we needed. Loved the availability of bicycles and beach umbrellas. The beach was an easy 5 miniute walk and a great place for the guys to practice their fly fishing skills while the girls cruised for shells. Although the pool is small--it was refreshing and just what we needed after a hot day cruisng through town on the bikes. Also loved having the porches/sitting areas to relax with a glas of wine after a hard day of R & R :)
The only negative for us was that there was only one bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winerunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Seahorse Cottages are four connected cottages on the East End of Sanibel Island. We were lucky to find a vacancy, and we were also lucky to find such a great little place to rest for a few days. Highly recommend it.

We had the deluxe one bedroom. The kitchen has everything you can want for an island respite - stove, oven, fridge. What you will really like is that the owners have chosen kitchenware, plates, and glasses that are quite tasteful. The sideboard in the kitchen was lovely - such warmth you won't find in some hotel room.

The whole place is beautifully decorated. Small, but a place for everything. We loved the television room with a comfortable couch, and lovely wood pieces that make it feel like home. The bedroom closet has lots of room, and is packed with extra pillows, beach towels, extra blanket, and lots of shelf and hanger room. The linens are very nice - you can tell that care goes into picking things out for this lovely little place. Having said that, just know that the bed takes up most of the room. It's a narrow walk around the bed, but that didn't bother us at all.

And the wonderful owners give each guest their own beach chairs and a red wagon to cart them down the street (two blocks) to the beautiful beach. And there's bikes for everyone to use - free for guests. Can't beat that. It's all very first-class.

A little advice - the water in Sanibel has a strange after-taste if you're not used to it. Buy bottled water if you're sensitive. While the cottage goes out of its way to provide everything you may want, you may want to bring your favorite pillows. I did because I'm fussy that way. I wish I had also brought some regular sized bath soap, but what the heck - everything else was very, very nice.

And one more thing, be prepared -- these places are small. But how long are you in the cottage? The great thing is that it was CLEAN, BEAUTIFULLY DECORATED, COMPLETE WITH MANY CONVENIENCES, and very reasonably priced for off-season. I want to go back when it's cooler - TOO hot for long bike rides, and a great sun burn.

While the beach close to Seahorse is quite beautiful, make sure you stop at Bowman Beach to - it's also beautiful, it also has a fitness trail, a nature trail and LOADS OF SHELLS!!! Outside showers to wash off before you get in your car!

As for Seahorse, we just loved it. It's extra-special and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

While it is true that the cottages are just a short distance away from the water- that water is actually the San Carlos Bay and there is no beach near the part where the cottages are. To get to the beach actually required a bit of a trek (about 10-15 minutes), which is not what I was expecting. That being said, the owners have very thoughtfully provided little red wagons, beach chairs, and beach umbrellas which we definitely used. The walk to the beach would have been a lot more unpleasant without the wagon to carry everything. You also have use of bicycles, which is nice to not have to rent. The cottages themselves are small, but quite nice. We stayed in the studio cottage which was plenty big enough for the two of us for a long weekend. One of the things that could be done is to include the cottage number (they are all numbered on the outside like houses) in the reservation. We actually arrived quite late at night and could not see the piece of paper on the door which signified our room. We ended up in the wrong room and were awoken the next morning by the owner who was baffled that we were not in the right place. This could have been easily avoided by listing the cottage number in the confirmation email. The other suggestion I have would be to list what exactly is in the kitchen. We shopped at a grocery store before getting to the cottage and did not know if there was a coffee maker (there was, including filters, creamer, sugar, etc.), cups, plates, etc. Also, the studio cottage does not have an oven, and the cottage we accidentally spent one night in did. So it would be nice if the website clarified what exactly was provided in the "fully equipped kitchen." Also, the pool is basically a little larger than a bathtub- so if you are picturing a pool party, you will be disappointed! All in all, it was a pleasant experience- clean, relaxing, and peaceful, just not close enough to the beach for us. If that doesn't bother you, then definitely stay here- it really is a great value!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed here last year and thoroughly enjoyed it. Furnishings are an odd assortment of antiques and older furniture, but they thought of everything. Nice small property if you are looking for peace and quiet. Just a 1/2 block walk to the water. Great little pool, fish cleaning table, bicycles included and the kitchen was well equipped.

If my travels take me to Sanibel again I will definitely stay here. Never saw the owners. They were present and taking care of things but very unobtrusive. When we arrived our name was on the door and the key was on the kitchen counter.

If you want a quiet trip and time to relax this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxBeachFlamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We had a wonderful week at the Seahorse Cottages; we stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage. Very quiet peaceful neighborhood. Perfect spot to stay; only a short walk to a beach, either the bay or the gulf. Beach chairs, towels and umbrellas were provided along with a little red wagon for transporting everything to the beach and bikes were available. Our cottage was cozy and clean. The kitchen had everything we needed and the outdoor grill was just right for eating in (Jerry's shopping area is close by for all of your food needs). The grounds were well maintained. Great breakfast spot (Lighthouse Cafe - breakfast only-not great for other meals), deli for lunch (Rosie's!!) and ice-cream shop (Pinocchio's) right around the corner. Many restaurants nearby (by car) for dining out - Island Cow, Doc Ford's, Mad Hatter (expensive but - oh so delicious) and Matzaluna's Italian Restaurant to name a few of our favorites. The shower was tiny. We enjoyed the small pool and both porches. We had a very comfortable relaxing week. There is no maid service but a free laundry is available along with extra towels. Pat met our every need - a new coffee maker and nightlight - just a phone call away. We look forward to our next trip to Sanibel and Seahorse Cottages.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlover57225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Endicott, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

My husband, sister and I just returned from spending a week at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel Island. Our week could not have been better. Seahorse Cottages is the best place to stay. We were provided with everything we needed as far as a place to stay and relax. It was very clean and the kitchen had every pot, pan, utensil, appliance you could think of. Not only that, but bicycles were provided, as well as carts to carry all your items to the beach. They even provided beach umbrellas, beach chairs, nets to gather shells, and beach towels. Your every wish is their command. When you stay here, you are close to San Carlos Bay as well as the Gulf. It is perfect in every way. We had such a wonderful time sitting on the back deck with our coffee each morning and eating our breakfast out there as well. It's quiet yet close to shopping, restaurants and the beach. This was a super-fantastic place to stay and we thank Peggy and Keith for all they do to provide such a nice place at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sblinnkeeper, Owner at Seahorse Cottages, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your vacation with us at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel! We do work hard to make sure that everyone has that same wonderful experience that you did and we always are delighted to hear it. It's something we never get tired of hearing! We consider Seahorse Cottages our vocation not our job and our goal is to allow everyone to vacation in paradise and enjoy this beautiful island and the ambiance that Seahorse Cottages has. Our guests become our family and we welcome them back time and time again. We look forward to doing the same with you. Welcome to the Seahorse family!

Peggy and Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
326 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing