We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location; Enjoyed Our Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seahorse Cottages
Sun City Peachtree, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Location; Enjoyed Our Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

Thanks to other reviewers on Trip Advisor, we found Seahorse Cottages. What a perfect choice for us! We rented a one bedroom for nine nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Although the kitchen wasn't the easiest to cook in, due to the tiny stove (that took forever for water to boil for our pasta), it was just fine for what we needed. It was nice to prepare several of our own meals, rather than eating out for every meal.

The cottage was comfortable and had everything we needed. There was even a laundry room for the guests to use with laundry soap included. On the counter, there were several bottles of insect repellent, shampoo, sunscreen, and more; just in case you needed.

The "swimming pool" was hysterical; the smallest I had ever seen. As a U.S. Masters swimmer, it became the butt of all sorts of jokes. No worries; I had planned to train at the Sanibel Recreation Center, anyway.

We really appreciated everything they had available to us; extra towels, wagons to carry our stuff to the beach, bicycles, shelling tools, hoses to wash off our kayak gear; they thought of everything.

Seahorse Cottages was a better value than other choices and perfect for us. We are already planning on returning; same time next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank ElaineK-SunCity-GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    31
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
91
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We recently spent 8 days at this property. There are four units so this is a small complex but is kept clean and tidy. It is suitable for couples who would like a quiet place to stay. As others have mentioned, it is a walk to the beach but there are wagons to take your items to the beach and the pool is small but very cute. If you collect shells, you will find many along the beach and there is a washing station to clean your treasures in the pool area. The gardens around the units and pool are nicely kept. The units or "cottages" are nicely decorated. We stayed in the smallest unit and there was a great storage system so that we could keep our items in a tidy manner. Although the bathroom is small, once again there was ample storage for products, etc. This unit and the two bedroom unit have a covered front porch and an open back porch. The interiors of the units and the grounds have been well thought out. Bikes and helmets were supplied and the beach towels were of ample size and thick. The area around the cottages is quiet and mostly residential. There are some lovely homes and condos in the area and you can walk to the historic lighthouse along the shore or using the street. There are a few commercial properties nearby so you can buy an ice cream cone, muffin for your morning coffee, breakfast or clothing. We enjoyed the area very much and you can bike to Sanibel's main commercial area along a multiuse pathway or if you like to walk, it is doable. This would be a suitable spot for groups of friends or families who wish to go away together and each couple could have their own cottage. The owners provide a binder with information about the area and their complex. The place has a quiet homey feel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank MiztyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

I just came for spending 4 nights and here is my problem. This could have been just me but I will let you decide. I saw the word Cottages and assumed that they were little stand alone buildings. Well this is not the case, it is one building divided into different Rooms. It was just a let down for me as I was expecting something else. If you know this going in you will not be disappointed.

That being said, it was clean, quiet and very nice. We enjoyed our stay there. The facilities are everything they said they would be. You will not be sorry if you stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed in the two-bedroom Cottage this past Labor Day weekend. It had everything a person could need for a home away from home. The cottage was very comfortable and roomy. The cover deck at the front was the best to be able to sit out and relax and share the day/evening with good friends. This place had everything for the beach goer. They had bikes available, beach carts, beach umbrellas, grill, and nets to get all the shells a person could ask for. Keith and Peggy were great hosts and made sure our stay was perfect. This will be a for sure do over.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CBnFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had the two-bedroom cottage which included a full kitchen, dining room, living room, two outside porches. We especially enjoyed the front porch - with a ceiling fan, plenty of room, chairs and tables, it was a great place to compare our shells collected! The cottage was very well equipped, and there were a variety of free amenities - bikes, pool, beach chairs, little wagons to carry stuff to the beach. The owner/managers were friendly, helpful, and unobtrusive. The cottages are located close to several beaches, and I suggest the bikes to avoid hourly parking fees.

Room Tip: No tips needed! They are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

These four cottages are the perfect choice for adults wishing to escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. They are tucked away in a quiet nook and provide easy access to the beach. You are a half mile away from the Sanibel Lighthouse. A lovely pool provides private respite from the salt and sand. The inn keepers are fine folks who endeavor to make your stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristabel_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This review is long overdue. We have spent our Memorial Day Weekend at Seahorse Cottages for seven consecutive years and counting. We stay in the 2 bedroom unit which has a full kitchen, living room and a table for dining. It also has a covered porch as well as a rear entry for easy pool access. The pool is a great place to have a cool drink or take a dip. It's very private and most of the day you can lie in the sun on one side or sit in the shade in the other. It's a short walk to the beach or an easy bike ride (which they provide) down to the lighthouse or to town.

Peggy and Keith are great hosts and really give you all the comforts of home, which is why they enjoy so many repeat customers. It's a great home base location while you enjoy the beaches, nature preserves and restaurants Sanibel has to offer.

We highly recommend Seahorse Cottages. To us, it's" our place" in Sanibel. If you stay there you'll probably want to make it yours as well.

MJ & MJ
Fort Lauderdale, FL

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MartinFortLauderdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
4.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Property: Seahorse Cottages
Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing