We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awsome vacation!!”
Review of Seahorse Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seahorse Cottages
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, clean vacation place on Sanibel. We surely found it at the Seahorse Cottages. Peggy is a great hostess, taking care of all your needs.The cottages are in a great location to access both sides of the islands beaches. We loved the use of the bikes, the little pool, the outside back porch, being able to walk/ride bikes to the lighthouse, and the cafe' for a great breakfast. The cottage had everything we needed and more than we expected. Thank you for everything - we are looking forward to returning for our next vacation.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine4ever04079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Seahorse Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

There isn't enough room to write our true feelings about Seahorse cottages. This was our second year spending a long weekend with Peggy and Keith at the cottages. This year we brought our families down with us and they also had a phenominal time. The cottages are quaint and give the true beach feel. The cottages are located on a delightful part of the island which is quiet. You feel like you have your own personal paradise. Peggy and Keith go out of their way to be sure you are comfortable. The complementary bikes are awesome and are great to tour the island. The beach is a quick walk. There are also cute shops, a great breakfast joint and the best ice cream on the island. We will be booking again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maimai701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We had our best vacation ever in June at Seahorse Cottages on Sanibel.
The Richardson's are wonderful hosts and have provided everything you'll need except your food. The cottages are beautiful and immaculate, as are the grounds and so peaceful. Steps from the water on a pleasant path and secluded, I loved that. Big front porch with chairs and tables and a back patio where we ate all but one of our dinners. The furnishings are very nice and we slept well every night. All we needed was more time to spend on Sanibel Island, it was very hard to leave. Now all I want to do is plan my next trip, which will be for a longer time and we will definitely stay at Seahorse Cottages. We loved having the bikes furnished and were on them every day.
Thank you, Peggy & Keith, for this special place. My husband, Ray, was very contented and he's not one for staying anywhere but home. We hope to go back very soon. Arkansas Travelers

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We spent a week in the one bedroom. It's a great location. Very short walk to the bay side, reasonable walk to the gulf side. Overall, the property is quiet, cozy, and quaint.

It's great to have the wagons to pull your stuf to the beach, and the bikes to hop on if you want to take a spin. The inside of the room had everything you need. The pool is small but shaded and quiet, and very refreshing after a hot day at the beach.

All four units were mostly full the whole week we were there yet we hardly saw a soul. If you want a quiet, restful spot that is not a cookie cutter of the many condo developments on Sanibel, this is it.

Peggy and Keith are wonderful hosts and I have no doubt they would do anything they could to make your stay more pleasant. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I absolutely loved the charm and the peace and quiet. I was looking for a quiet getaway and Seahorse Cottages had everything I needed. With a short walk to the beach, and a front and back porch to relax on in the evenings, it was perfect. Free bicycles, laundrymat and the shell cleaning table, were great additions. My studio had a full kitchen.and I will be back this year! I have passed on my experience to countless people. The only drawbacks for some people would be the small pool and the small parking lot, but I have a small car and and was there for the beaches!! Lori

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cayohueso1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

I was very pleased with the Seahorse cottages. The cottages were clean and well maintained. They were perfect for our family get together. Our trip consisted of 3 couples (parents in their 60s and adult children in their late 30s with significant others). We each had our own cottage, so we had our privacy. The back patios (also with privacy) were great to sit on in the a.m. and sip your morning coffee. The pool was great to have after a long day at the beach or just to chill in the evening. We had bikes (with baskets), wagons, towels, and laundry facilities available to us. If you like to save a little money on meals, the fully equipped kitchens and outdoor grills come in handy. One unit (#1) had a large front porch. That was nice for everyone to gather on and play board games or just chat. The cottages are just a minute walk away from the Bay which was a great place to view the sunrise. The cottages are just a 5 minute walk from the gulf which was a great place to shell. We liked the location, the east (lighthouse) end of the island. It was very quiet and peaceful. Easy access to Periwinkle Way which takes you anywhere you want to go on the island. The cottages are just around the corner from the Lighthouse Cafe, Rosie's market, and Pinocchio's ice cream. Again, a nice location. I would highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPOP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My husband and I vacation once every 4 or 5 years so I"m very particular about where we go when we do go. I did my research and decide on Seahorse Cottages. Peggy and Keith could not have been more accomodating and friendly! The place is beautiful and convenient to everything we wanted to do. (bikes are provided) When we got there, everything was clean, quaint, beautifully decorated and just when I thought there was something missing (i.e. in the kitchen), I found it. Just needed to get oriented. I plan on trying to go back to Seahorse Cottages yearly if I can. Quiet area, beautiful location and very friendly people.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisAndTommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 20 in Sanibel Island
2,361 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 20 in Sanibel Island
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 20 in Sanibel Island
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 20 in Sanibel Island
209 reviews
10.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
5.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 20 in Sanibel Island
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahorse Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Cottages

Address: 1223 Buttonwood Ln, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £96 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahorse Cottages 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seahorse Cottages is tranquil ground-level attached cottages nestled in a lush garden of tropical plants with a heated pool; located just 200 feet from the Bay beach and a block from the Gulf. All suites are comfortably furnished and include living area, bedroom, kitchen, bath and patio. Use of wireless Internet, bicycles and beach equipment is included. The peaceful setting and attention to detail makes Seahorse Cottages an ideal romantic destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Seahorse Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahorse Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Hotel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Motel Sanibel Island
Seahorse Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing