We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, I became an owner”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shell Island Beach Club
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So good, I became an owner”
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My wife and I have been coming to SIBC since the late 90's as a guest of my friend and his wife. We love it so much, we finally purchased our own unit for the week before my friend. Oh, and my friend bought a second week after his original week. So we have a potential of three weeks in a row in this little piece of paradise.

Room Tip: All rooms are 2 bedroom, 2 bath with washer/dryer and full kitchen. You can do a quick wash and bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

just loved our little vacation ( 5 days) at this resort...the location at the southern most tip of the island and right on the beach with a beautiful view---just added to the beautiful surroundings--the rooms were spacious and very clean..the staff ( dianne and all the others) were a pleasure to talk to and very accommodating....everyday the dolpfins and pelicans put on a show--right there on our beach only steps from our condo.....another added freebie our there bicycles that are there for all guests to use on a real nice bike path....my wife and i along with my parents give this resort a thumbs up..we do look forward to another visit there.....mike -n- karen sellers---st.petersburg florida--transplants from l.i. new york

Room Tip: loved the view from our 3rd floor unit---we could see all of ft.meyers beach,bonita springs beach an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Had a very relaxing week at Shell Island Beach Club - end of the island, close to the Sanibel Lighthouse. Bikes are provided (included in rental) and we rode all over the place. Bike paths are great! Stepped out the back part of the property right over the boardwalk and to the beach - southwest Florida is picture perfect.
Two bed/two bath worked out well with full kitchen facilities. All the comforts of home included.
Only went off the island once during the week into Ft Myers Beach -
Highly recommend this place - 'Debbie' (in the office) makes you feel at home.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor to have a better view of the Gulf of Mexico
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenDal1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have been coming to Sanibel as a couple and with our children for more years than I care to remember and just love Shell Island Beach Club. Each unit sleeps up to six people with a double sofa bed and has two bathrooms. The upper floor apartments feel more airy with a vaulted ceiling but the downstairs apartments are also very nice. All units have a screened balcony and most have a sea view. The complex itself is low key just a short stroll to the beach with well tended gardens, pool, sauna and tennis courts . It is maintained to a high standard to preserve the top rating with RCI and Interval International timeshare organisations. Bikes are freely available to use on the many cycle paths on the island. It does not have a gym but there is a local gym you can join. There are countless restaurants nearby to suit all tastes and budgets or you can use the gas BBQs in the grounds or cook in the apartment. Jerry's supermarket sells great beef burgers and BBQ ready food! Just off the island, there is a huge Publix where you can stock up with supplies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

We just came back from Sanibel after a week-long stay at Shell Island Beach Club. We had a two-bedroom condo which comfortably accommodated our party of 5. The unit was ample and well furnished. Complete kitchen, washer and drier, two bathrooms, comfortable living and dining rooms, three HD TVs, DVD player. All units have a screened balcony.

The property is right on the beach and is well maintained. Guests can enjoy immediate access to the beach, a swimming pool, whirlpool and tennis court. There are also bicycles guests can use at no charge. Several grills are also available.

The beach is nice, with Sanibel's Lighthouse at walking-distance. There were several turtle nests around and of course shells everywhere!

Service staff was great! Polite and informative, they are always ready to assist guests with a smile on their face!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Edtampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here from July 6th - July 12th through our Hilton Grand Vacation Club. We loved the low key setting and found the grounds to be very pretty and well taken care of. We had a partial ocean view and really enjoyed the easy access to the beach. It's just a short walk from any condo. Two beach chairs are provided for free, but to get more you must put down a deposit. You must also put down deposits for using beach towels...probably easier just to bring your own. My only complaint (and it's a small one) was that the pool is rather small and there's no view of the ocean. My kids preferred South Seas pools over this location and so did I! We came to be on the beach, so like I said it's a very small complaint. The beach is very shallow which makes it great when bringing small children. We could walk out 50 feet each night during low tide and see all kinds of sea life. Overall it was a wonderful beach area and not overly crowded. You are just a short beach walk to the light house and pier. Also you are walking distance from a couple of restaurants and an ice cream place. Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: There are only two floors to each complex, so make sure to get a top floor to maximize your views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed in Unit #12, 12A--perfect location - view of the Gulf, right by the path to the beach, units only have 4 condos in each - quiet. Two beach chairs came with the condo, umbrellas were available at a very reasonable cost. What we didn't have in the kitchen we were able to "borrow" from the front office. Bicycles are available at no additional cost. Tennis courts and shuffleboard on the property. This was our second time at this location, planning on coming back! Plenty to do in the area - we had three young adults with us, they found plenty to keep them busy also. Lighthouse is an easy walk from the condo. Wonderful nature preserve on the island, along with a wildlife rehabilitation center. Miniature golf is close by in Ft. Myers. Shops are delightful. Thankfully very few restaurant chains (we only saw two chains). Paradise for photographers and for shell seekers. Management was wonderful to work with.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melissasmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,136 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
651 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,227 reviews
5.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Island Beach Club

Property: Shell Island Beach Club
Address: 255 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7491
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Shell Island Beach Club Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing