We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will be returning!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Arms West Condominium

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanibel Arms West Condominium
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I will be returning!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

As a first time guest to Sanibel, Sanibel Arms West did an excellent job in satisfying all my needs for Vacation! My new husband and I stayed in E5 and absolutely loved the view, the space, the location, the freedom and of course the wonderful beach! We were able to eat our breakfast while enjoying the view of the beach, which was awesome. All the staff was extremely friendly and answered any question we had. We had no issues and will definitely be planning another trip to Sanibel and staying at Sanibel Arms West without a doubt! Thank you!

Room Tip: Second story rooms provide a better beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    64
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
170
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
398 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

I've been to Sanibel many times but this was our first stay here. For starters, I would book this place again anytime. We stayed in building E, which is Gulf front. (buildings C,D, E and F face the Gulf). There are first floor and second floor units. First floor is super convenient but the second floor provides gorgeous water views. Our unit was clean, plenty of space, two full bedrooms and baths. Nice kitchen, full size appliances. You have access to free beach chairs and such, grab and return. First come, first served. Pool area is different, it's heated and it's screened in, so no bugs. Nice feature. The resort is close to the lighthouse so you can walk down there along the shore (it's a long walk but doable). The place was filled with families, and it was very quiet at night. Super enjoyable. My boys walked over the canal front units and fished off the docks, you can also fish right off the beach. There's a good shelling station to clean your seashells and your feet, very convenient. I have not one complaint about this resort/condo - except I wish I could have stayed longer. Oh wait, maybe one complaint - Wi-Fi was sporadic at best. But that's how it usually is anywhere on Sanibel or Captiva Island.

Room Tip: If you want to be facing the Gulf, ask for buildings C, D, E or F. It's a large complex so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We just finished a 6 day stay at Sanibel Arms West in A3. We found our time there entirely pleasurable. My kids didn't want to leave this morning. The grounds, staff and amenities are all as described. Kenny in particular was very helpful. We brought our tandem kayak with us and used their canoe and kayak rack so that was a plus. The condo was clean and had everything we needed. We brought food to cook to cut down on the eating out bill. :-)

It is very close to walk to the beach and it is a relaxing beach, good for shelling and went fishing right off of the condo complex and caught plenty of fish kayaking one night before sunset. The pool is nice, a break from the beach and another opportunity for relax. We highly recommend this spacious condo. What a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Unless you really need to look out the window and see the gulf, the buildings farther back are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

There are many condo complexes on Sanibel Island. Some are small and quiet and some are large and noisy. Sanibel Arms West is small and quiet. The condos are individually owned and rented through the complex office. The grounds are very neat and well kept. We rented a condo that was in the H building. I was very happy with our stay and will return again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loriann30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We live in North Carolina and we vacation to FL every summer for about 2 weeks. We had the best time at Sanibel Arms West! The office staff and general manager, Steve, were so welcoming and helpful. They gave us lots of information on the island and suggestions on places to eat. We were there to celebrate our 10 year Anniversary because we met on Sanibel Island. We stayed for 3 nights and will definitely come back and stay longer next time. We had a beautiful, updated, 2 bedroom 1st floor condo in the A building. It was very spacious and the accommodations were fabulous. They offer beach lounge chairs, tennis and bike rentals. We had a lovely bike ride to the light house and went on many beach walks. We enjoyed being able to walk right out to the beach. The last night there, we had our children and some other family members join us. They are still raving about what a wonderful time they had on Sanibel and what a beautiful condo we rented! We can't wait to stay again next summer!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank court822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We've stayed at Sanibel Arms West 7 times. It has become our tradition to go there for one week over Christmas break every year. We have stayed I-1, I-2, I-3 (3times), I-5 and B-4. We love the I building because it faces the pool. All of these condos have been renovated except B-4, but it was still nice...there was nothing available in I that year, so we had to stay in the B building. Everything has always been clean and the condos have always been stocked with everything we need including fun games and puzzles. The pool area is great. If the weather is cold, they turn the heat up in the pool, so you can still enjoy it. Grills, beach chairs and shuffle board are also available to guests at no extra cost. Every once in awhile a small problem might arise, like the garbage disposal not working or a squeaky door...all you have to do is let maintenance know and they get it taken care of that very day! :) It's so fun to see the island decorated up for Christmas. They had an amazing Christmas Eve service on the beach by the light house. We love going and look forward to staying at Sanibel Arms West. We wouldn't stay anywhere else! The prices are very reasonable too! We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: We recommend staying in a condo that has been updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We recently spent three nights on Sanibel Island. The Arms West Condos was the location. It is a great spot on the point with a great view of the Gulf. We upgraded to a second floor beach front room. It was $50 extra a night, but worth the view.

The rooms are dated but comfortable with a nice lanai to view the sunset. The swimming is nice on the gulf, but not ocean quality. Like other reviewers the most lacking feature is the tiny master bathroom, with no place to put any items. The TVs and furniture were adequate and met our needs. The old Florida look is not resort quality, low ceilings, brick steps, moldy pavers, no hot tub at the pool. The staff was very nice in the office and accommodating.

But then the fun started....We did not get a guest book in the room that gave instructions on the TV or free internet. We called the first day because we could not get the internet to connect, the office said the maintenance people would bring the book and check out the internet signal. Of course they never showed up to address the issue. We decided to eat in so brought out the food on the second night. Cereal, crackers, muffins, fruit were on the counter top in containers. When we got up in the morning the food was covered in ants- an infestation. We discarded the food and went to check out one day early. The manager gave us a refund on the upgrade and apologized.

If you go bring zip lock bags for your food. When we checked out our guest book was on the counter but it was never delivered.

Room Tip: Get the second floor beach front room, or you could be anywhere in a simple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wmsburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.5 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
4.3 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanibel Arms West Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanibel Arms West Condominium

Property: Sanibel Arms West Condominium
Address: 827 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7001
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanibel Arms West Condominium 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Sanibel Arms West Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanibel Arms West Condominium Hotel Sanibel Island
Sanibel Arms West Condominium Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing