We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly a relaxing stroll on the beach picking up shells”
Review of Bowman's Beach

Bowman's Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not exactly a relaxing stroll on the beach picking up shells”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I have heard about shelling on Sanibel Island for decades, finally made it there. $6.00 to get onto the island, $2.00 per hour to park, which meant I had to predict ahead of time how long to stay (or plan on going back to feed the meter and put the ticket in my car). There were lots of people and while there were lots of shells, there weren't many that were intact. Mostly bivalves and mostly picked over. There were some people who were serious about getting shells, lugging bags off the beach, digging major holes in the piles of shells with their specialized shovels. I did not see anything different than I have found on other Gulf Coast or even Atlantic coast beaches, nor did I find better shells than at other Florida beaches. So, my overall experience was it wasn't worth it, at least not for the shells.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    730
    268
    48
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
511 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Beach Weddings”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful view, not too crowded, plenty of parking ($2 per hour fee) and sand packed with shells. And there were also two different weddings going on when we showed up!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrEdnWilbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dolphins, fishing, dining near Sanibel Bowman Beach make it one of Florida's BEST beaches.”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Beach has ample parking, good sunrise viewing, great sunset views, tide pools at low tide, decent boogie board waves with the right wind, nice restrooms, park area for the children, walk way over the Bayou where you can see Sanibel wildlife in action.

Food is north up the road two miles with a bunch of good restaurant ... Lazy Flamingo, Santiva General Store, and high end dining at The Mad Hatter.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank dalesuslick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
296 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Nice beach for shells”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were there at low tide and found some nice shells. It was windy and too cold to go in the water (too cold for me, others were in the ocean). I was disappointed that I didn't see any manatees crossing the bridge.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mosslady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
293 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Nice Beach and perfect Shelling....plus more”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent 2 hours here and the place from the parking area to the restrooms, paths to the beach, and the beach itself are so well kept. Do bring chairs, umbrellas, and your shelling gear. The shells tend to be on the smaller variety, but they are in abundance.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowman's Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bowman's Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing