We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Visit to Sanibel”
Review of Kona Kai Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kona Kai Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Visit to Sanibel”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to Sanibel and having made reservations late in the trip, we found the Kona Kai to be a perfect location. The room was immaculate, grounds kept in excellent condition and very helpful staff. We were able to bike all over the island and explore while also being close to excellent restaurants.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    108
    28
    20
    16
See reviews for
87
168
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This motel has been thoughtfully upgraded and the rooms are all super-clean and lovely. We stayed in a motel room for one night after a week at an overpriced condo and I would go back to the Kona Kai for sure. It is on a main road but it is cleverly landscaped with palms, fountains, and twinkling lights. Very peaceful! Every room has a deck or patio of sorts, all have fridge and coffeemaker, and many have full kitchens. Oh, yes, and complimentary bottled water and granola bars, and sweet treats in the office as well. We were greeted by Chris in the front office--both she and the housekeeping staff were kind and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTtravelersCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kona Kai in March. The woman managing the hotel could not have been more helpful. She gave us good restaurant suggestions and recommended that we take the Shuttle tour of the Ding Darling Reserve. We are so glad we followed her suggestions. She also gave us tips for where to go to see a nice sunset. The room was comfortable and clean. The property has such a friendly feel to it. There are pool toys for the kids, towels and beach chairs to borrow for the beach. Grills and tables where people sat out in the evening visiting. There is an outdoor sink area for washing off shells. If we come back, we will definitely try to stay at Kona Kai again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a very nice time during our stay at the Kona Kai. It is a very nice smaller hotel on Sanibel Island with a very personal and friendly staff. We really appreciated the extra offerings they have available, like beach chairs and sea shell buckets and nets to borrow. There is some nice outdoor seating available throughout the common area and gas BBQ grills to use (and save money on eating out). We will certainly come back if we get the chance. And the Fish House restaurant right next door has some great happy hour specials that we took advantage of more than once.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texbohnsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My wife and I kind of stumbled in to Sanibel out of curiosity. Kona Kai was the first place we checked out, and that's where we stayed for several days. It's not fancy, but it is very clean and comfortable. And friendly! Rented bikes across the street and shopped the local grocery stores. We'd highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidsimonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

This is a no frills motel in a very nice setting which you can enjoy if you understand certain limitations. We had the Tiki room which is a free standing cottage in the back of the property (quiet). The room was spacious, clean, well furnished with small fridge, microwave, hot plates, dishes, glasses, utensils, etc. Tiny bathroom with shower. The property has several gas grills, picnic tables, etc. so you can cook in if you choose. Pool area with many chairs, tables so you can enjoy a relaxing time by the pool. However, the is no daily room maintainence so you make your bed, reuse towels, etc. which is fine for short stays. If staying longer accommodations can be made with management. The office is staffed with one person in attendance during the afternoon check in times. Otherwise you call on the office phone if you need something. You pick up your own soap, shampoo, etc. from the office which is always open. Periwinkle Way is extremely busy during the afternoon as it is the approach way to the causeway on and off the island. Rent a bike (Billy's Rentals is across the street.). The walk to the nearest beach is 11/4 miles despite what they tell you. From motel you can walk to restaurants, market, etc. so plan on using your car mainly in the mornings if needed and bike or walk the rest of the time. I loved this place but it's limitations are not fit everyone. It is more self-serve, somewhat European style.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

we stayed here two years ago, and had a good experience. So we came back in 2014. There is new management, and they are very helpful. Our room had no hair dryer, so they got one right away. The new WiFi system was balky, so they brought in an IT person the same day and got it fixed. The cleaning staff brought coffee, sugar, and whatever else we needed. This is not a fancy place, but the rooms are large and comfortable. We recommend it.

Room Tip: stay near the back, away from busy periwinkle way. The higher number rooms are near the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harvey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
2.0 mi away
Parrot Nest
Parrot Nest
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Kai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Kai Motel

Property: Kona Kai Motel
Address: 1539 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4513
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kona Kai Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our inn borders the Sanibel river for our guests who love to fish or kayak. We are located directly on the bike path and are close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Kona Kai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Kai Hotel Sanibel Island
Kona Kai Sanibel Island
Kona Kai Motel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing