We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of West-End Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West-End Paradise
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This was our 3rd trip to Sanibel and the first time at West End Paradise. We loved it and hope to return to WEP!
As others have mentioned, Darwin is very helpful and accommodating. He does a truly wonderful job maintaining the units and the lovely property.
We stayed in the 2-bedroom unit. It was impeccably maintained and attractively furnished with Florida decor including many wonderful books on local topics. The unit included every convenience needed. There is a full kitchen including dishwasher (not all units have a dishwasher). The “Florida room” has a table and 4 chairs and is the perfect place for meals or to relax with a cup of tea. The “beach closet” has everything needed for beaching including umbrellas, chairs, towels, and shelling equipment.
All outdoor facilities are shared including 2 charcoal grills as well as dining tables and chairs for dining al fresco. Each of the 2 buildings has a complimentary washer & dryer (there is no daily housekeeping but you can leave a laundry basket outside the door for towel or linen changes). There are 6 complimentary bikes for guest use (Tahiti Drive is between the entrance and exit to Ding Darling so it is an easy bike loop through Ding Darling).
The beach access is about a block away. The unit has a guest pass for parking at the beach access, if you don’t want to walk with beach chairs and other beach equipment.
This is the quiet end of Sanibel away from the hubbub of Periwinkle Way. But many attractions are nearby, such as the Captiva Cruises (dolphin cruises), the shell museum, Ding Darling, and the Tarpon Bay Explorers facility. Grocery stores such as Jerry’s (best key lime pie) and Bailey’s (better prices according to locals) are also nearby. And if you want a break from grilling fish, there are many restaurants on Sanibel such as Gramma Dots (for shrimp and chips) and Pinocchio’s (ice cream!).
Thanks to Darwin for such fabulous place and a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaviesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    14
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
21
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

booked this place based on previous reviews, and they were right! Darwin was the perfect host, meeting us when we arrived and going thru all the details. Room was nice with all the amenities (could use a more modern TV tho....we only used it to catch Olympics late at night). Grounds are VERY nice with two lagoons, lots of fish, turtles etc to enjoy. Walk to beach for shelling, sunset etc. 5 minute ride to church, restaurant, nature preserve. and 10 minutes to either downtown Sanibel or Captiva. Provided free bikes, chairs, etc. for our use. Will be back !!

Room Tip: had "sand dollar" room in front near road, but no noise to speak of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mojave California
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Wonderful stay at the West End Paradise. Away from the town of Sanibel; the West End Paradise is a relaxing place. A short five minute walk down a residential street takes you to a wonderful beach for shelling and sunsets. Host Darwin includes everything you need to enjoy yourself; bicycles, canoe, beach chairs, umbrellas, etc. Easy to drive or ride the bikes into town or to go the other direction to Captiva Island. This is the place to stay on Sanibel Island!

Room Tip: The efficiency is just the right size for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, VT
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We barely escaped the ice/snow storms of early January in the northeast and were very lucky our flight was not canceled. The occasion was my 70th birthday. Our efficiency met our needs perfectly. We found the deli and other foods and wine selections at Bailey's market were very good. Darwin's restaurant recommendations were excellent as was the local beach. We did take the bikes to Bowman's beach which we found to be our favorite. Next time we intend to bike through the wildlife drive at Ding Darling.
Thanks Darwin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheeprock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is the perfect place to stay for a week or two. My wife and I just spent nine nights there. We had a 3 room suite with a bed room, a full kitchen, a living room and bath plus a truly big screened in poarch. The owner is Darwin Ford who sees to your every need. Outside our room there are lots of things like common patio stuff. There are 2 ponds on the property which have an assortment of wildlife including small gators that sun themselves on palm logs.This place also has beach access passes and bikes.

If you are a bird watcher, you are across the street from J M "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge which is a bird watchers paradise. There is also Fishing and Shelling and Dolphin and Manatee watching plus Shopping and beautiful sunsets in addition to the Bird Watching.

Our suite went for about $190.00 a night which I consider more than fair for the high season.

Try it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OldeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This was our fourth stay here, and it won't be our last. Once we stayed somewhere else (no availability), and it just wasn't the same. West End always enhances our Sanibel experience. Its a natural quiet oasis tucked away from most everything else on the island. If you need to be entertained, and like a resort experience with the pool, etc., don't stay here. It is, however, quiet, comfortable, and there is lots of wildlife all around the two ponds on the property. By staying here, you have access to the neighborhood's private beach. No crowds, never than a handful of people on the beach. Also just down the road from Ding Darling (assuming the government gets their act together and reopens). Its more like what Florida hotels used to be like back in the day, before generic mega-resorts. It is a bit dated here and there, but Darwin, the owner, is always improving,and we see new touches every time we stay. He's a pleasure to talk to, and always ready to offer advice, should you need it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsm317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, TN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's been a few years since our last stay at WEP and it just keeps getting better. The owner, Darwin, is a gracious and accommodating host and it is obvious he takes great pride in the property. The units are spotless and well appointed. I can't think of anything we needed that wasn't provided. Every unit has a beach closet which includes chairs, umbrella, towels and other items to use during your stay. I love being on the quiet side of the island with an almost private beach. And I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
4.9 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#13 of 42 in Sanibel Island
252 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 42 in Sanibel Island
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 42 in Sanibel Island
259 reviews
5.6 mi away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.0 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West-End Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West-End Paradise

Property: West-End Paradise
Address: 1389 Tahiti Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33857
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
West-End Paradise Hotel Sanibel Island
West-End Paradise Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing