We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation at West-End Paradise”
Review of West-End Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West-End Paradise
Reviewed 13 October 2008

We had a great stay at the West-End Paradise. Jennifer and Darwin are wonderful to work with. The unit was spotless and well equipped. I loved the ability to park at the private beach access...not as crowded as public beach accesses and did not have to pay the $2/hour public beach accesses charged. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Sanibel.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roxiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2008

West End Paradise is simply perfect. I am so glad I came to Trip Advisor to find a place to stay on Sanibel.

Not only is this probably the most affordable lodging in overpriced Sanibel/Captiva, it could not have been any more charming and wonderful. Darwin and Jennifer, the owners, are a wealth of information and they make you feel like old friends the moment you arrive.

Absolutely everything you could possibly need is provided. All we really require in a room is cleanliness, a working coffee pot, a hair dryer, and occasionally an iron. Not only did the room provide all those things, it had everything you could possibly need for a day at the beach (umbrella, towels, chairs, shelling equipment, etc.) provided free! The free use of bicycles was a very nice touch as well, and we had a nice time pedaling to the beach and through the Ding Darling Nature Preserve.

We loved everything about the West End Paradise. I wish it were possible to find unique lodging like this everywhere we travel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PleasureSeekerTippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

What a gem! The rooms are impeccably clean and have everything you would need for a beach vacation. Bikes to ride to the beach, shelling equipment, beach toys & chairs, towels. The fully-equipped kitchen and outdoor grill were so handy and great. You could choose to eat indoors, out on the screened in porch or by the "lagoon" out back with outdoor seating. The hosts were accommodating and fun. Darwin taught our boys how to crack open coconuts without any tools. Nice, quiet, peaceful, everything we could hope for. And, the clean, private-access beach is just a block or two away by walking or bike. Lots to do on the island and our kids are begging us to go back. Good deal for your money!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danabol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2008

A small place located in a residential neighborhood toward the Captiva end of Sanibel. The neighborhood association has their own private beach to which W-End guests have access (5 minute walk, 2 minute bike ride--also parking). Easy bike ride (1 mile) to a large public beach with big playground for kids, showers, changing rooms, etc. The big attraction is shelling and it was excellent. Also enjoyed the "Ding" Darling National Wildlife Refuge (abut 2 miles away---bike or drive); great birding, wide views across marshes and flats, excellent visitors center and museum.
The island was pretty crowded, but W-E is off the beaten track, quiet, very clean, spacious and well-equipped. The couple who own the place were very welcoming and accommodating---they obviously believe in doing things right and holding to high standards. If you want a big, glitzy place with a pool and lots of activities, this isn't for you. But if you want an intimate, charming, "old Florida" place for relaxing and going at your own pace, you need to check this out. We will go back!

Stayed: February 2008
4  Thank NCgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

From the time we called to make the reservation, this place was right. Jen was friendly and helpful even when we arrived late and couldn't figure out how to get in our room. The use of the bikes and canoe made our little stay in Sanibel just about perfect.

Our room (the smallest) had all we needed: books, fridge, and a great bed.

When we went to use the canoe, Darwin explained how to put it on top of the car, where best to go canoing ... it was a great relaxing time.

The location is about the best in Sanibel - away from the crowded area to the east, when we went to the beach: it felt like we had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

The West End Paradise is a dream come true. Hosts Jennifer and Darwin were wonderfully kind, warm and helpful. Went out of their way to get a child size bike for our daughter to ride on the island and had a Christmas Tree with decorations set up for us when we arrived. The location is calm and soothing and the beach is quiet, clean and chock a block full of beautiful shells. We hope to return very soon!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Joecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We have made a trip through florida in the summer, but this was really fantastic. A beautiful home with a lot of space, free bikes, very nice owners, a beautiful garden an d a really great beach (almost private). Sanibel is a fantastic island (more relaxing than the rest of florida, not all MacDonalds etc.).
We hope to come back with our family someday.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank marcelius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,448 reviews
6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#13 of 45 in Sanibel Island
260 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Gulf Breeze Cottages
#12 of 45 in Sanibel Island
156 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 45 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West-End Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West-End Paradise

Address: 1389 Tahiti Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33857
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £71 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
West-End Paradise Hotel Sanibel Island
West-End Paradise Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing