We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of West-End Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West-End Paradise
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Loved the landscaping and wildlife. Very peaceful and quiet. Clean apartments with everything you need. If not just ask Darwin and it's there in an instant. The beach is a short walk away with no crowds at all, if you do see someone they are alway very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is an adorable boutique motel on the quiet (private beach) west end of Sanibel. One of the owners, Darwin, takes exquisite care of the units and the grounds (this place is SPOTLESS) and is always available by cell phone if you need anything. There are two ponds in the back where you will see lots of wildlife and there are really nice amenities such as a hammock, table and chairs, bbq, outdoor hose, bikes, kids sand toys, beach chairs, umbrellas, and laundry available all included in the price. The beach is within walking distance but we found it easier with our kids to drive to the private parking lot (you will get a parking pass) and throw all of our stuff in our car. There isn't a pool but with the PRIVATE beach you don't need it. Sometimes we were the ONLY people on the beach and "crowded" would be 10-15 other people within sight. Also worth noting if you like sunsets you can actually watch the sunset from this beach which is not always the case in Sanibel. On our last night we played around in the surf with a pod of dolphins that were so close I was afraid they were going to surf into us! So special and unforgetable! If you want to visit the more natural and wild part of Sanibel this is THE place to stay. We stayed in the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom unit with a big screened in porch and a full kitchen. If you want to stay away from the crowds, love nature, and love watching the sunset you will love this place as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrumbyGully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We snuck down a few hours for 3 days and wanted to experience Sanibel. The host, Darwin was gracious and helpful, including spot on recommendations for food. He also offered pretty much anything on the grounds if we needed, including laundry facilities, grounds to relax on, bicycles, and his phone number for anything that came up. We stayed in the "small room," which was a bedroom with bathroom, mini fridge, tv, and closet. The closet was filled with a beach umbrella, chairs, and beach toys for us to use. The beach is about 0.25 miles down the street but this is an easy drive with parking at the beachside. The beach was quiet, clean, and we got to snorkel with a manatee one afternoon.

In summary, it was perfect for a laid back mini vacation and I would recommend the resort to anyone. Thanks for the great stay.

Room Tip: The small room is perfect if you just need a place to relax after a busy day on the water or on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank marshallisqbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We were looking for a weekend away. We found this place on trip advisor. The ratings were so good and it was spoken so well of, we gave it a try. I was expecting a lot because of the writings and BOY DID IT LIVE UP TO ALL OF THEM!!!!
It is a definite if you want old Florida tropical feel!! We stayed in unit 4, which is a one bedroom with kitchen, living area, bathroom and screened in "Florida" room. This unit over looks the pond, where you may see alligators, or birds.
Darwin was there quickly after we arrived. He was very helpful in getting us checked in and gave us some good pointers.
Our room was spotless and cozy. A very nice beach feel to it.
The beach is approx 1000 feet from the room. You are given a parking pass to drive down there or you can walk, or there are bikes there (yes, included in the price!!) The beach is beautiful and quite. It all is in a residential area. A lot of people are gone now and there really was hardly anyone there anytime we went.
Darwin also had every thing you might need to go to the beach there, also included. There a couple chairs, umbrella, beach toys, even a net to pick up those shells in.
They do have a washer and dryer there for you use, also included!! A very nice shell cleaning area is there also.
The entire grounds are just beautiful and relaxing. We sat out in the Florida room, just relaxing, listening to nature and looking at the pond. You can't help but relax.
I TRULY RECOMMEND WEST END PARADISE!!!
YOU REALLY WON'T GO WRONG HERE!!!!!!
Thanks Darwin and West End Paradise for helping us have a very relaxing get a way weekend!!

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad room there. There are several options to very small and then 2 bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Being a semi-retired couple we were looking for a peaceful place to enjoy the sun and beaches of Florida. This place fit the bill and more. My wife is a nature/bird lover and the pond in back of our unit(i recommend unit1), provided her with some nice viewing and pictures including a close up of the infamous alligators. The beach was only 1000 feet down the road. While it wasn't as nice and sandy as Bowman beach, it was convenient and not crowded at all. Our unit was very very comfortable with plenty of room to watch TV, relax by the pond or even swing in the nearby hammock. Lastly, and maybe the most important the place was spotless and Darwin made sure he was available for any problems, which he was a few times lol. Should mention that the price considering other Sanibel lodgings, was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Unit 1 has both a deck and enclosed porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had stayed in this neighborhood of the west end of Sanibel Island, at least 3 times before, at other small cottages, and walked past West-End Paradise. I always said I wanted to give this place a try, as it was so pretty. Last October, we rented their largest unit, 2 bedroom, 2 bath for our group of 4 (2 couples). We loved it. We will use West-End Paradise from now on, when we return to the Island. Darwin, the owner/manager was present and available to ensure satisfaction. But we didn't need anything. He provides bikes, beach chairs, etc.. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of nature and wildlife. And the accommodations are pristine and comfortable.

Walking or driving to the beach is easy, and this beach is the best part of Sanibel, in our opinion. As this beach is only for the people residing or renting in this neighborhood. So, it is never crowded. Enjoy!

Room Tip: On the West-End Paradise web site, he has a very good description and photos of each unit. Calling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rokubanlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

West-End Paradise was all we wanted it to be for a week during Red Sox baseball spring training. Like many others, we were quite impressed with this first stay here, and with the hard working Darwin Ford who is helpful and available. The place is unbelievably clean, well-stocked with bathroom and bedroom supplies. Our kitchen was in fine working order, as was the free-to-guests laundry/drier room. Thank you for not nickel-diming guests on this. It was very quiet day and night, with a tremendous sense of privacy even though units are adjoining rather than separate - a wonderful and pleasant state of affairs. Supplied beach chairs, beach towels, nearby beach parking pass were bonuses, as were the bicycles that worked very well. All the units overlook one or the other of two small ponds, and birds love the place. The grounds are impeccably maintained, including the gravel parking area and trash/recyclable bins. We stayed in one-bedroom unit #4 with large enclosed veranda and large kitchen/dining/living area, and it was more than enough for the two of us, at a March price of just over $200 per day including tax. The facility is four miles from Sanibel's business district, and nearly ten miles from the Sanibel causeway. This means a long trek to get off-island in the afternoon (count on 30-45 minutes to the causeway even using the Gulf Drive route to avoid backed up Periwinkle Drive), but it's a lot faster if you go off island in the morning and back on in the afternoon or evening. There is no good traffic in the Fort Myers area in March, so we just allowed for lots of travel time - and stayed on the island except to go to baseball games. Nearby Doc Ford's restaurant is a tourist favorite, but we got only one take-out meal there because of huge waits for both lunch and dinner. At Darwin's recommendation we dined at Cip's at Periwinkle Place and liked it; at the Green Flash on Captiva; at Sunset Grille at Blind Pass (bridge between Captiva and Sanibel), and at JetBlue Park. Ballpark food not so special; the other three were very good, and Sunset Grille was wonderful. West-End Paradise makes it easy to get anywhere from the northern tip of Captiva to Periwinkle Place. We've already made our reservations for March 2015.

Room Tip: Apt. 4 has a huge screened veranda with sliding window/door from small double-bed bedroom, and a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.8 mi away
Blind Pass Condominiums
Blind Pass Condominiums
#11 of 44 in Sanibel Island
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#14 of 44 in Sanibel Island
258 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 44 in Sanibel Island
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 44 in Sanibel Island
571 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sanibel Arms West Condominium
Sanibel Arms West Condominium
#4 of 44 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sandalfoot Condominium
Sandalfoot Condominium
#3 of 44 in Sanibel Island
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West-End Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West-End Paradise

Address: 1389 Tahiti Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33857
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £72 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
West-End Paradise Hotel Sanibel Island
West-End Paradise Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing