We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Shells of Sanibel
Nearby Hotels
Song of the Sea(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
US$332
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanibel Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$291
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$370
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside Inn(Sanibel Island)(Great Value!)
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
53
43
16
2
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
43
16
2
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach toysbeach buggythe kitchenprivate accessshort walkunit numbermaster bedroomtennis courtswest gulf driveocean beachboth bedroomslooked brand newground floor unitcleaning supplieswonderful weekshuffle boardback porch
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

WOW!
we stayed nov 2009- dec 2009 (over thanksgiving) in the seashells condos of sanibel

We stayed in unit#40 and had an amazing time.

The unit was superbly furnished and kitted out. Laura and I had such an amazing time that we got engaged on the beach on just the 3rd day of our stay. Thankyou so much.

We would love to stay again.

Samuel and Laura x

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamueLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a wonderful stay in Unit 14 at Sea Shells of Sanibel. The condo was very comfortable, clean and had every thing we could have needed. The complex is across the street from the beach, but it is a very easy short walk. I'd rather have the short walk and pay less money at Sea Shells than pay more money for "beach front property" and still have to walk to the beach! The pool is absolutely wonderful - large and warm. The pool deck is new and beautiful - that is why the pool was closed in Sept. 2009 for two weeks. (One of the following reviews complains about the pool being closed.)
Some of the condos at this complex are managed by the individual owners and are not kept up like the units that are under the rental association. I dealt with an individual owner for all the details and pricing and when I actually made my reservation, I was told to call the rental agent. Just be sure that when you are talking to an owner that they have the rental office actually manage their condo.
Sea Shells of Sanibel is a very good value for the money and I recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lktmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

This would be our 3rd year at Sea Shells of Sanibel. We stayed in Unit 2 the last 2 years and decided against that for the reasons in my last review of this complex. We made a relatively last-minute reservation (in August) for Unit #1 this time with extended family. Upon our arrival, we discovered the pool was closed 'until further notice' which, frankly, really made me angry considering we chose this over another place without a pool. We were later told we could use a pool elsewhere but it was too far of a walk with a child so we passed.

The unit itself was well stocked with the necessities. The upstairs, unfortunately, was unbearably hot. It was so bad the first night we considered leaving and going elsewhere. The owners did have a really great notebook left in the condo with suggestions for everything from restaurants to how to deal wtih the upstairs temperatures. Their suggestions helped somewhat, but it was still very warm. MY suggestion would be for some thermal drapes in those windows where the sun beats all day long. it would have helped tremendously.

It is a nice complex with a short walk to the beach for a nice price. It is, unfortunately, not as nice to get unpleasant surprises like a closed pool or the kind we got last year upon departing the other unit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abagail5004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

Stayed in unit #44. The carpet, bedding and silverware were dirty. Drawers in kitchen were broken. Several of the window shades didn't work properly. The dishwasher leaked. The DVD player didn't work.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank VanVlietTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2008

The unit(5) we stayed in was one of the prettiest condo's we've ever stayed in. The place had to have been professionally decorated. For the price, this unit was a steal.

The complex is very laid back, very florida at a very reasonable price. They have bike rentals which added to our relaxing time.

However, the island restaurants were jammed. best to go early or late during season. No doubt, The Lazy Flamingo's Grilled Grouper sandwich is one of the best I've ever had...

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lovetotravel1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews