We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Bling, but just the Thing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Beachview Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachview Cottages
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“No Bling, but just the Thing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is our 13th year staying at Beachview Cottages and have come to think of #1 and #10, both beachfront, as our own. All of the cottages are in different pastel colors and named after shells. They would remind you of the beachfront cottages of the 1950's, with screened in porches, bead board paneling, but thoroughly modern on the inside with a galley style kitchen/great room, fully fitted, beach style furnishings. Cottages 1 and 10 are closest to the beach and each have a separate bedroom, cottage 1 with a queen sized bed and cottage 10 with a king. Lisa and Bob man the front office and are both warm and friendly, and knowledgeable of the island.

We chose Beachview years ago because they accept pets and we don't go anywhere (well almost anywhere) without our two Pembroke Corgis, who love the beach, the waves, the birds and playing ball with Dad. Beachview is on the quiet end of the Island, but close to everything you need, including Bailey's Center, which has a hardware store, grocery store and movie theater showing first run films

If you want luxury, fitness center, in-house restaurant and bar, this is not the place for you. There's no bling here. But if you want a very clean, quiet, safe place for families and your beloved pet, this is the one. Believe me, if it wasn't "The Thing" we wouldn't keep coming back for 13 years.

Room Tip: If you want beachfront, ask for Cottage #1 or #10; just not in November because they aren't avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YankeeMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    125
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
249
260
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous place to stay, I would recommend this place to anyone! Very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The young lady (I'm horrible with names) is awesome very helpful and honest. She will guide you in the right direction for food etc. Cottages- very nice and clean, just don't expect that you renting a plush high end cottage. Very nice, clean and has everything you need will be back next year!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carterunit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is our third stay with Beachview Cottages and once again it was awesome! Lisa, at the front desk, is just a wonderful person and SO helpful!! She is able to answer any questions you may have and makes fantastic suggestions on restaurants and attractions.
With it being directly on the beach you truly only need bring your swimsuit and sunscreen......and plenty of shell bags!! You just can't help but to collect them!
Definitely returning next year!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 3, 9 and 12. All were fantastic, but from the screened porch in 3 you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spend a few days there almost every year. Very cozy and relaxing.
Few steps and you are in the water. Pet friendly and friendly staff.
Miss the free "old" bikes though (they got new ones but now they charge for them).

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank GastonandCuqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

we just spent a week at the Beachview and it was the best ever. the cozy cottages are so much better the plain hotel rooms everyone else has. it was amazing old florida feel, beautiful beach, wonderful pool. the staff was so helpful with dinner plans, cruise ideas, maps, and coupons. so relaxing and no crowds. my husband and I were in the pool everyday and there were never more than 4 other people there I ruled the pool ! and they are pet friendly! next time we are staying 2 weeks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinggigi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut Hill, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

With the gulf only steps away, the ambiance and value this place can not be beat.

And if you tire of the beach, the pool is an excellent spot to retire too.

You can see the Milky Way on a dark night. Turtles, pelicans, egrets, sandpipers and a host of other sea and wild life. Oh yeah, it is great for shelling or fishing too!

Lisa is such a huge help in too many ways to list here. She has tips on attractions, beaches, dining, food, parking, shopping, sightseeing, shelling and so much more. Just ask her - she will give you the skinny and tell it straight. No real shopping or dining within walking distance. However, grills are plentiful.

There is not a bad cottage in the bunch. We went with 11 others (13 in all) for a week and got to see most units. The efficiencies are small but very cozy (we stayed in #6), the one and two beds were spacious and the big units over the office were best. All were clean and quite comfortable in an "Old Florida" way. The Gulf surf is not as punishing as the Atlantic, and you can wade way out there - except during high tides

All included microwaves, fridges, ovens with basic utensils, pots and pans for cooking / eating. FYI - Bring your own paper towels and condiments. They only provide salt and pepper. And if you want to grill at one of the many grills on site - bring your own charcoal since they do not provide this.

Most (if not all) food or supplies for most (again, if not all) dietary needs can be procured at Bailey's on the way in Check their web site here (http://www.baileys-sanibel.com) Just a few minutes a way by car or bike (you could walk, but the trip back loaded downs with bags will get old - quick). Beach chairs and pool towels are abundant.

All you really need is a bathing suit and sunblock. Beachview Cottages and the Island will provide the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to Beachview Cottages for a birthday getaway. I wasn't sure what to expect but was blown away by how cute and coastal this place was. We were in Cottage 10 right on the beach. There's nothing like eating breakfast from your dining room and enjoying the sounds and sites of the ocean. The unit was extremely clean and well kept. The air conditioning was top notch which is a plus in Florida.

Beachview Cottages offers beach items to borrow which was nice - chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas. They also had a nice pool which was a bonus. Each unit has its own charcoal bbq grill.

The greatest upside for me was being able to bring our dog to the beach for the first time. Beachview Cottages has multiple units that are dog-friendly! Nothing beats the memories that were made watching our Jack Russell run into the waves.

Make sure to bring bug spray - the no-see-ums were out in full force along the beach.

The location was perfect - well worth the trip over from the east coast of Florida. A must stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alberts1413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Property: Beachview Cottages
Address: 3325 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beachview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island
Beachview Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing