We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed.”
Review of Beachview Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beachview Cottages
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a disappointment to find the quaint looking cottage not clean, hair on the pillow, some gritty stuff on the sheet and a dirty tub. The cottage furnishings clearly needed updating. The sofa bed, for which they charged extra was very old, with a mattress that offered no protection from the metal bars. The smoke alarm went off around 2:30 a.m. and did not stop until the staff member came after 9:00 a.m., he blamed the batteries, and said we should have removed it. We tried at the risk of breaking our necks. He even had a hard time removing it.
I was not aware that pets were allowed at the cottages, and left after one day, because I ended getting bitten by bugs, all over both my legs, my chest and hands from sleeping on the sofa bed.
Ended up needing medical attention for the bites. Beachview Cottage claimed the exterminator did not find any bugs/fleas etc.. after I complained.
The cottage was close to the ocean, however, the water was murky and not inviting.
Was charged 25.00 extra per day, because I could not manage the second floor cottage because of bad knees. No mention of price difference on advertisement of cottages and no consideration for my handicap.
For disclosure's sake, I paid in advance for 2 days and
left after one day. I contested the charges for the entire awful experience and was partially refunded.
Very sad for my granddaughter who was looking forward to enjoying herself on Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CBS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Pending removal request due to blackmail/false review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was able to see three cottages due to my parents coming and then we switched together into a third cottage. All were cute, clean and number 12 was quite beautiful. 6 and 3 were also great. We swam everyday and the water and beach were great. The pool was also very clean and quiet. We are definitely coming back. As for the bugs on the beach-that only come out at night get skin so soft.

Room Tip: If you want something fancy go and pay 400-500 a night if you want an affordable wonderful place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cyanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! We look forward to your next visit, to our little island paradise. In the meantime, you can watch the waves dance or catch the sunset via our webcam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The cottage was a promised by the beach, but that was about it. The cottages itself was quite worn out and you could see that there has gone a while from the last renovation.
The beach experience was a big disappointment because there was no blue clear waters. There was only a dark murky water where no one was swimming. This is not this hotels fault (as Florida is dumping excess water reservoirs right in front of Sanibel Island), but to pay 285dollars a night for a cottage with beach access, but you cant swim in the sea, it is not worth it.
Another minus is the small mosquitos that were everywere. We were both totally eaten inside our cottage.
Location of the hotel was nice as you could see the sunset and it was not too far from restaurants by car.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Metropolitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

The cottages are remodeled every 5 years on a rotating schedule. This is an industry standard. The individual beachfront cottages are by far the highest in demand. They are literally reserved 365/366 days a year. The beachfront cottage #1, which you reserved, was remodeled in October 2009 and is scheduled for remodel in the fall of 2014. Remodeling has to be carefully planned in advance. Many of our guests stay every year and have their favorite cottage. They will rebook there magical week(s) for the following year prior to their departure.

I recall speaking with you in regards to the water release from Lake Okeechobee. This is an extremely sensitive matter, in which many residents, industry leaders and politicians are trying to combat. The water releases are intermittent, but at those times necessary. Unfortunately, your experience was for only one night. The following day the Gulf was sparkling and pristine.

The beauty of Sanibel Island is the preservation. The Island offers Ecotourism that is out of this world. A nature lover’s dream! We have lush vegetation, outstanding birding opportunities, a wide variety of land mammals and sea life. The weather conditions are favorable for all to enjoy, year round. Unfortunately, this includes no-see-ums. We try to educate our guests in regards to these small biting gnats (Leptoconops torrens). There is a guest book in each cottage with an entire page dedicated to the No-see-ums and how to prevent being bitten.

We are happy to hear you did enjoy our prime location and the unforgettable sunset!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is our 13th year staying at Beachview Cottages and have come to think of #1 and #10, both beachfront, as our own. All of the cottages are in different pastel colors and named after shells. They would remind you of the beachfront cottages of the 1950's, with screened in porches, bead board paneling, but thoroughly modern on the inside with a galley style kitchen/great room, fully fitted, beach style furnishings. Cottages 1 and 10 are closest to the beach and each have a separate bedroom, cottage 1 with a queen sized bed and cottage 10 with a king. Lisa and Bob man the front office and are both warm and friendly, and knowledgeable of the island.

We chose Beachview years ago because they accept pets and we don't go anywhere (well almost anywhere) without our two Pembroke Corgis, who love the beach, the waves, the birds and playing ball with Dad. Beachview is on the quiet end of the Island, but close to everything you need, including Bailey's Center, which has a hardware store, grocery store and movie theater showing first run films

If you want luxury, fitness center, in-house restaurant and bar, this is not the place for you. There's no bling here. But if you want a very clean, quiet, safe place for families and your beloved pet, this is the one. Believe me, if it wasn't "The Thing" we wouldn't keep coming back for 13 years.

Room Tip: If you want beachfront, ask for Cottage #1 or #10; just not in November because they aren't avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank YankeeMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous place to stay, I would recommend this place to anyone! Very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. The young lady (I'm horrible with names) is awesome very helpful and honest. She will guide you in the right direction for food etc. Cottages- very nice and clean, just don't expect that you renting a plush high end cottage. Very nice, clean and has everything you need will be back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carterunit47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is our third stay with Beachview Cottages and once again it was awesome! Lisa, at the front desk, is just a wonderful person and SO helpful!! She is able to answer any questions you may have and makes fantastic suggestions on restaurants and attractions.
With it being directly on the beach you truly only need bring your swimsuit and sunscreen......and plenty of shell bags!! You just can't help but to collect them!
Definitely returning next year!!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 3, 9 and 12. All were fantastic, but from the screened porch in 3 you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We spend a few days there almost every year. Very cozy and relaxing.
Few steps and you are in the water. Pet friendly and friendly staff.
Miss the free "old" bikes though (they got new ones but now they charge for them).

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank GastonandCuqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,964 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings Resort
Sanibel Moorings Resort
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
783 reviews
6.1 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Address: 3325 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £123 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Beachview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island
Beachview Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing