We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely "Mom and Pop" Property”
Review of Beachview Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beachview Cottages
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely "Mom and Pop" Property”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I selected this hotel based on trip advisor reviews for a long holiday weekend with my family. Travelers were my husband, daughter, my parents and me. We arrived a little early on and were told our cottage (Cottage #11) wasn't yet ready, so we parked at our cottage (it was so nice to just drive up to our cottage on the sandy drive). We walked to the beach and learned quickly why Sanibel is name shell capital. Lots of lovely shells everywhere!!.

When our place was ready (on time), we entered a cottage that had been updated recently. Colors were nick beach pastels and furnishings were rattan furniture couch, table with rattan chairs, and 2 sides chairs in the living room. Our cottage had two bedrooms, each with 2 queen beds. Each bedroom had a air conditioning unit which worked well when we needed them. An updated kitchen with new cabinets, flattop electric stove and full size fridge finished out the kitchen. A flat screen TV, Direct TV and DVD player worked (even though we didn't use them much while there). There was a internet repeater on our screened porch and the wireless worked fine the whole time -- including our daughter streaming videos.

I read reviews that said there were lots of noseeums, but we didn't have any trouble while we were there. We rented the property bicycles and rode through the Ding Wildlife Refuge (about 11 miles round trip). Even though we were about 30 minutes late bringing them back, we were not billed for the extra time. The staff at the front desk were helpful with restaurant suggestions and getting us anything we needed.

The property did not have daily maid service, but they did pick up towels and provide new towels daily. They did say that they would give us new sheets or provide any cleaning we needed if we would just let them know. We were only there 4 nights, so we didn't ask for anything other than fresh towels and occasional trash pick up.

The heated pool is at the front of the property and our daughter enjoyed the area. Our cottage also had a BBQ grill which was clean, but we didn't use it.

When we were there, snowbirds made up most of the guests. People were friendly with several cottages having dogs -- all of which were well mannered and didn't bark. In the evening we played cards and board games. with the doors open, you could hear the quiet murmur of others talking. We really enjoyed the community at Beachview Cottages. We typically like to seek out new properties for our winter get away, but for the price and hospitality, we will surely come back too Sanibel and Beachview Cottages again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank LakeGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    127
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
253
264
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We weren't looking for the anonymous luxury of a rental condo and enjoyed the old-fashioned charm of Beachview Cottages in our recent stay. The unit was small but clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen featured a full-size range and fridge, although the kitchen equipment was so minimal that it would have been hard to produce more than the simplest meal. All the units are different, so you have to go into the rates page to really see what you're getting. But most have a screened porch that allows at least a sideways beach view down the sandy driveway. You get instant beach access here, unlike other places nearby where the units are back behind the dunes. At least at this time of year, the crowd skewed older and quiet (also very friendly). Having rental bikes on the property was a big plus, as was being less than 2 miles from Bailey's General Store. The office staff was pleasant and helpful. The only minus was all the no-see-um bites I came back with--can't avoid those in FL, though. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the cottages are different--go to the "rates" page to see what each one has. Ask wheth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sudbury9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This was our 8th stay at this property in three years. We love the easy access to the beach and the privacy of individual cottages. Our children can go from the beach, to the pool to the room without worrying about elevators, lobbies or upsetting other guests. We love having full kitchens so we can cook our meals and spend more time on the beach. This hotel is pet friendly but they do offer rooms that exclude pets (my husband has pet allergies and has no issues in these rooms). The staff is friendly and helpful and work to keep the property clean and maintained. Some of the furnishings are older, but when you have children coming in and out from the beach, that is a plus!!

If you are looking for a family and pet friendly place to vacation, right on the beach, with the comforts of home, this is the place!!! There is free WIFI and cable in each room.

Thank you Lisa for always helping my family and trying to accommodate us every time we stay with you. We will be back, no doubt about it, the next time we need a "shell fix"!

Room Tip: If you do not want a pet friendly room or a room upstairs, ask and book ahead. These rooms do get b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a disappointment to find the quaint looking cottage not clean, hair on the pillow, some gritty stuff on the sheet and a dirty tub. The cottage furnishings clearly needed updating. The sofa bed, for which they charged extra was very old, with a mattress that offered no protection from the metal bars. The smoke alarm went off around 2:30 a.m. and did not stop until the staff member came after 9:00 a.m., he blamed the batteries, and said we should have removed it. We tried at the risk of breaking our necks. He even had a hard time removing it.
I was not aware that pets were allowed at the cottages, and left after one day, because I ended getting bitten by bugs, all over both my legs, my chest and hands from sleeping on the sofa bed.
Ended up needing medical attention for the bites. Beachview Cottage claimed the exterminator did not find any bugs/fleas etc.. after I complained.
The cottage was close to the ocean, however, the water was murky and not inviting.
Was charged 25.00 extra per day, because I could not manage the second floor cottage because of bad knees. No mention of price difference on advertisement of cottages and no consideration for my handicap.
For disclosure's sake, I paid in advance for 2 days and
left after one day. I contested the charges for the entire awful experience and was partially refunded.
Very sad for my granddaughter who was looking forward to enjoying herself on Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CBS1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Pending removal request due to blackmail/false review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alger, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I was able to see three cottages due to my parents coming and then we switched together into a third cottage. All were cute, clean and number 12 was quite beautiful. 6 and 3 were also great. We swam everyday and the water and beach were great. The pool was also very clean and quiet. We are definitely coming back. As for the bugs on the beach-that only come out at night get skin so soft.

Room Tip: If you want something fancy go and pay 400-500 a night if you want an affordable wonderful place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cyanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and your family! We look forward to your next visit, to our little island paradise. In the meantime, you can watch the waves dance or catch the sunset via our webcam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The cottage was a promised by the beach, but that was about it. The cottages itself was quite worn out and you could see that there has gone a while from the last renovation.
The beach experience was a big disappointment because there was no blue clear waters. There was only a dark murky water where no one was swimming. This is not this hotels fault (as Florida is dumping excess water reservoirs right in front of Sanibel Island), but to pay 285dollars a night for a cottage with beach access, but you cant swim in the sea, it is not worth it.
Another minus is the small mosquitos that were everywere. We were both totally eaten inside our cottage.
Location of the hotel was nice as you could see the sunset and it was not too far from restaurants by car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Metropolitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Manager at Beachview Cottages, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
The cottages are remodeled every 5 years on a rotating schedule. This is an industry standard. The individual beachfront cottages are by far the highest in demand. They are literally reserved 365/366 days a year. The beachfront cottage #1, which you reserved, was remodeled in October 2009 and is scheduled for remodel in the fall of 2014. Remodeling has to be carefully planned in advance. Many of our guests stay every year and have their favorite cottage. They will rebook there magical week(s) for the following year prior to their departure.

I recall speaking with you in regards to the water release from Lake Okeechobee. This is an extremely sensitive matter, in which many residents, industry leaders and politicians are trying to combat. The water releases are intermittent, but at those times necessary. Unfortunately, your experience was for only one night. The following day the Gulf was sparkling and pristine.

The beauty of Sanibel Island is the preservation. The Island offers Ecotourism that is out of this world. A nature lover’s dream! We have lush vegetation, outstanding birding opportunities, a wide variety of land mammals and sea life. The weather conditions are favorable for all to enjoy, year round. Unfortunately, this includes no-see-ums. We try to educate our guests in regards to these small biting gnats (Leptoconops torrens). There is a guest book in each cottage with an entire page dedicated to the No-see-ums and how to prevent being bitten.

We are happy to hear you did enjoy our prime location and the unforgettable sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is our 13th year staying at Beachview Cottages and have come to think of #1 and #10, both beachfront, as our own. All of the cottages are in different pastel colors and named after shells. They would remind you of the beachfront cottages of the 1950's, with screened in porches, bead board paneling, but thoroughly modern on the inside with a galley style kitchen/great room, fully fitted, beach style furnishings. Cottages 1 and 10 are closest to the beach and each have a separate bedroom, cottage 1 with a queen sized bed and cottage 10 with a king. Lisa and Bob man the front office and are both warm and friendly, and knowledgeable of the island.

We chose Beachview years ago because they accept pets and we don't go anywhere (well almost anywhere) without our two Pembroke Corgis, who love the beach, the waves, the birds and playing ball with Dad. Beachview is on the quiet end of the Island, but close to everything you need, including Bailey's Center, which has a hardware store, grocery store and movie theater showing first run films

If you want luxury, fitness center, in-house restaurant and bar, this is not the place for you. There's no bling here. But if you want a very clean, quiet, safe place for families and your beloved pet, this is the one. Believe me, if it wasn't "The Thing" we wouldn't keep coming back for 13 years.

Room Tip: If you want beachfront, ask for Cottage #1 or #10; just not in November because they aren't avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YankeeMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
3.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachview Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachview Cottages

Property: Beachview Cottages
Address: 3325 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5599
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachview Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beachview Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachview Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Hotel Sanibel Island
Beachview Resort Sanibel Island
Beachview Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing