We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We stayed at the cottages for our honeymoon. We were married on the beach outside of the cottages and were walking distance (next door) to the Mad Hatter restraunt . The cottage we were in was a very short distance from the beach and provided spectacular views of the ocean. The rooms were clean and well kept. The cost for what you are provided is spectacular. Castaways cottages also has a partnership with Tween Waters which makes it possible to use their spa, fitness room, pool and hot tub etc.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jganiel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2011

A beautifull place was there for 2 nights with 3 friends and the time was great,the cottages are very clean is like to be in your own house att .Edwin R.

Room Tip: well I stay on the 33 because is on a second floo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paloapalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

This was our second visit to The Castaways. We have 4 children and traveled with grandparents as well. So it was 8 people total, we stayed in Cottage 1. It was very comfotable, extremely roomy and just a pleasure to stay in. It was very large, everyone had their own space and we loved it! It was fantastic!! The Castaways is absolutely wonderful! We will definitely be back to visit.

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is the biggest. Perfect for large groups
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bbowers91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I want to start off by thanking the staff of the Castaways, they all made us feel like family. The room was great and the location on the island was perfect. We shelled, took long walks on the beach and fished during our stay. All the restaurant that we ate at were fabulous. The Sun Sets were fantastic every night. We recommend the Castaways Highly and I hope your stay can be considered The Best Time Ever also.
Capt Paul & Glaydene from Cooper City, Florida

Room Tip: Call in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CaptPaulGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The website and the location is what drew me to stay at The Castaways. But would I stay here again? NO.
Pros:
Directly behind Blind Pass for great shelling!
At a marina if you boat
Pet Friendly
Great location if you want to visit Captiva Islands and place to eat there.

Cons: Where to start...
Little to no parking, the last 3 days we were there a man parked his large dodge truck directly in front of my unit!
Pet friendly, but they did not supply pick up bags, and no one seemed to pick up after their pets.
Staff was blah at check in. I just gave you $1,000 bucks, you could at least smile...
On the first night of the trip I returned to my unit from shelling to take my lil' dachshund puppy out to potty, BUT I could not get the door open!!! The keys would not work! I ran to the office to let them know it would not open. The lady was nice enough and got the other keys to come see if she could get it open. Unit 25, like most other have two doors. She told us about the front door..."Well you dead bolted it, they'll be no getting in there." Apparently it has a dead bolt, but no key and you are not supposed to lock it... no one told us that?!?! The side door on the patio... apparently they've had some key issues and don't know which ones work and which don't, we were given a set they DID NOT WORK... what would I have done if it was after office hours?!?! They seemed just blah about the issue.
The only staff we saw during the week were a few guys who took all week spreading out new mulch, when there was trash all over the place though... I could think of more important things besides mulch... weeding, trash pick up, poop patrol, cut the grass... the bushes and yard areas in general just looked like no one had paid them any attention in months.
Holes in our screened in porch...
Air unit almost falling out of wall...
Large stain in middle of couch...
TV did not even fit on the stand, you couldn't let children play near it.
Patio table wasting away, chair straps broke.
Something ate a hole through our bread one night on counter!!
The bathroom ... O M G... keep in mind we were in unit 25, while a couple we met on the beach said their bed linens were GROSS, she'd rather sleep on floor but her bathroom wasn't bad... but ours WOW... the toilet rocked back and forth, the cabinet at floor and behind was rotting and not clean, no room to shut door move around etc. window in shower and bars rusting...EWW EWW EWW
Front door had a large gap between door and floor to let all sorts of creatures inside.
Grout in between tiles were brown...

The Castaways is good for a shelling location and a great idea, BUT the place is not well maintained... the lysol smell over load when you open the door for the first time does not mask the falling apart, this place at least our unit and the grounds are well past there prime. Not sure what unit other travelers stayed in or what they consider OK for paying 200.00 bucks a night for, but this unit and the grounds were not it!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaybeePickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We returned to the Castaways for our 3rd visit and found the property clean, quiet and relaxing. We stayed next to the marina and enjoyed the sunrise and then walked across the street to watch the sunsets. We love the fact that there are 3 restaurants close by
( check out the Lazy Flamingo) and a general store for last minute shopping. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluffLife55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

After spending a week in Miami at a 4 star hotel with all the stuffiness, i was in need of a more relaxed atmosphere without breaking the bank. We found it at Castaways. They seemed like they appreciated our business, were very accommodating in helping us with dinner reservations. The place is not fancy but right across the beach and the little cottages a bit of charm to themselves.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiamodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
328 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,550 reviews
8.7 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
9.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
724 reviews
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sanibel Island
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £102 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort
Castaways Cottages Of Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing