We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, not a resort, we love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, not a resort, we love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a great location for fishing at Blinds Pass and shelling on either side of the pass. The prices are good for the Sanibel area. It is a quick, easy walk to either side of the pass, maybe 3-4 minutes. If you are looking for a resort, which we were not, don't stay here, it's not a resort and is not priced like one. It felt much more private and less busy than a resort. although I believe it was fully occupied. It is great for us and this was not our first stay and wont be the last. They do not provide daily cleaning, which is fine with me. They provide a broom and dust pan so I do not understand the reviews complaining about sand...I assume most people know what the beach is (sand) and know how to sweep (its inevitable that sand will be brought in, that's why they provide a broom). We stayed in unit #33, it was upstairs and had great views of the bay with a decent size kitchen, master bedroom with walk in closet (which was really convenient) and a really neat little "extra room" with a daybed and curtain divider providing a little privacy and great views of the bay. We were not bothered by the early morning noise of the marina as some have mentioned...and we were directly above it. The only complaint I really have was that they no longer rent cottage #10 out. My husband and I looked at it last year and made plans to come at least once a month this summer and stay there but due to complaints about the "small size", they quit renting it out...which means we won't get our little mini vacations that I was looking forward to. The site stated that it was a very small unit so that is what you would expect, I don't know why some people had to complain and ruin it for the rest of us...thanks a lot. We found the size of unit #10 to be quite adequate for 2 people, bigger than the common motel room and about the same price so I don't know what they had to complain about, you just can't please some people! Please consider renting out unit #10 again!

Room Tip: Unit #33 has good views of the little bay and nice privacy as it is upstairs. Also the little "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shurst92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of our property. I am pleased to hear that although we were full, you still felt it was quiet and private. You have described our property in great detail, and I feel this will help others decide if we are right for them or not.
We look forward to your next visit.

Rick Boyd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    166
    42
    16
    21
See reviews for
188
190
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Looking for a cozy little place walking distance to the beach and bay and found just that in the Castaways Beach & Bay Cottages. Not one of those fancy resorts but a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly and the cottages are clean. # 28 was recently remodeled with a perfect view of the bay.

Helpful?
Thank Angel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st louis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just got back from a fabulous trip to Castaways. Stayed in cottage 4 which has been remodeled and loved it. Only a few steps to the beach and seashells. Staff was very friendly and helpful. This is not a fancy Florida resort but very relaxing on one of the best islands in the world. If your looking for luxury accommodations this is not it. Lots of places to go to, either in Sanibel or Captiva. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Cottage 4 is on the beach and great for a couple. Other cottages sleep more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for your great review. I am happy thatyou described Sanibel as one of the best islands in the world. It truly is a beautiful destination. We had cottage number 4 remodeled last year and the design and work that was done is amazing. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Pros: nice fishing docks nearby, beach across the street- walking distance, grill and table outside the cottage, pet friendly, clean, comfortable beds

Cons: smells very musty especially in the bedroom with the queen bed, dishwasher leaked when trying to use, bathroom needs updating- looks like it was thrown together and does not contain a vet fan or AC so it gets very humid and there is visible water damage inside and outside, AC bedroom units were very loud

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sn367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very pleased to hear you liked our great location and found your cottage clean with a comfortable bed. I understand your concerns about the Air conditioning, we are currently replacing these with ultra quiet split AC units. We look forward to you visiting us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuss
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 great nights at Castaway and enjoyed every second. We definitely come back. It's great to relax, have a bbq at your cottage or tour the island by bike or canoe. If you want to enjoy beautiful Sanibel and Captiva a bit away from the other visitors, come here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very pleased to hear how you enjoyed every second of your stay on Beautiful Sanibel Island. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Castaways has been our families favorite destination for years, and this vacation (which we just returned from) was yet again amazing.

All the staff is super friendly and helpful, always greeted with a smile and quick to accommodate any need.

The beach cottages are lovely and well equipped and you can't get any closer to the gulf. Just step outside and your toes are in the sand.

No better place for shelling, watching the dolphins and manatee or just taking a dip in the water.... and have a front row seat for beautiful sunsets.

General store and restaurants just feet away and a close drive to many more shops/food.

Can't say enough positive things to say about The Castaways, we are already planning our next trip.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank robin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review. I really appreciate all customer feedback, and to hear you can't say enough positive things about the Castaways is so encouraging. I am so pleased you are all ready planning your next trip. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

It is absolutely beautiful hear, this is our third time in the past two years and we love it here and are planning a quick return! The cottages are cozy and the workers are very kind and quick to help . The beaches are clean and not over crowded. This is a definite place to spend a relaxing vacation.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Busymom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick B, Manager at Castaways Cottages of Sanibel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and describing it as A must go too vacation destination! It is very encouraging for the staff to hear that you found them very kind and quick to help. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
8.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
8.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
6.6 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaways Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 6460 Sanibel Captiva Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2016
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sanibel Island
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castaways Cottages of Sanibel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterview cottages, efficiencies, or motel units are surrounded by the Gulf of Mexico and beautiful Sunset Bay. Discover miles of sandy beaches, shelling, fishing, swimming, or just relaxing Island style. The Castaways is a touch of paradise you're sure to remember. World-class shelling and bird-watching. Great fishing from our private docks or in the Gulf of Mexico.Marina with canoe,kayak and bicycle rentals, charter captains, bait and other sundry items.Three restaurants and general store within walking distance. Heated swimming pool. Pet-friendly units available for guests who want their 4-footed friends to enjoy a true family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Castaways Cottages of Sanibel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Beach And Bay Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Castaways Beach And Bay Hotel
Castaways Beach And Bay Resort
Castaways Cottages Of Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing