We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Sanibel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matzaluna

Matzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best of Sanibel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Back to Sanibel again for our 52nd anniversary - always look forward to hetting back and when we do one of the first stops after checking in at Casa Y'Bel is Matzaluna! My favorite is the Veal Parm - yummie!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HPSHACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    400
    161
    84
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Another great meal at Matzaluna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We visit Matzaluna every time we visit Sanibel. This year we brought the kids with us and they enjoyed it very much. The paper table cloth with crayons was a fun way to past the time. Everyone enjoyed the fresh bread with dipping oil. The entire family (including my 10 year old) got the crab bisque- so delicious! I normally go with the standard spaghetti and meatballs but decided to try the tomato mozzarella salad.. not that great.. barely any balsamic on it and had to wait a bit for our waiter to come over to check on us. Still a favorite of mine and I will return for sure next visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tuliplvr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Food was decent. We love wood-fired pizza, which is what we ordered. Waitress only checked on us once - right after the food came out. She never came back which meant we went without drinks through most of our meal (although she walked past us NUMEROUS times). When we went to pay, they didn't take our Discover card, so we had to pay with cash. I had no intention on leaving a tip, but she chose to not bring us our change, making sure she tipped herself!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food- average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

above average food with below average service. Great Italian meals at reasonable prices- but on both visits we had waitresses that were pretty non- attentive during non-busy times. if they could get there waitresses to the level of there food they would be great!!
Food was tasty and fresh- good bread- reasonable sized entrees- just wished we had better service

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KayRiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wicked Good Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was told to avoid pizza in Florida and from what i've seen that makes sense. Although I had an Urge for pizza or pasta and here it was Brick Oven and delicious. I got the Angelo with Spinach and mushrooms! And it was Tasty. I would avoid the Margarita Pizza. The lady next to me had it and it had way to much cheese. Also Get the Crab Bisque!!! It's Delicious.

Red Sox Fans Welcome!!! They have a Red Sox Nation banner out front.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DMcmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matzaluna also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing