We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Italian Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matzaluna

Matzaluna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Service was great. My scallops were delish and the sauce was also very good. The salad was a great mix of green lettuce (not cheapo iceburg). The house balsamic was absolutely deslih!!! Overall, we had a good experience here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j9_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    399
    160
    84
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

we ordered carry out pizzas on our vacation one night from matzaluna. the pizza was delicious even though it was quite expensive. they had the pizza done fairly quickly and the restaurant looked really nice. we would splurge again to get some of their wood fired pizza again if we come for a visit. good stuff!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kersten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place, good pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our second visit to Matzaluna but our first time trying the pizza. We've tried other options on the island for pizza, but Matzaluna wins in our book. We arrived early (around 5:30) and was seated upstairs. We opted for Caesar salad & a sausage pizza. Service was prompt and the wine selections were varied & reasonably priced. We were happy with the pizza (wood fired I think) and would return again. It was one of the more reasonably priced meals we had during our stay and it was considerably better than other places we tried on previous visits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seafood Italian style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Matzaluna is one of our favorite places on the island. This place specializes in pasta and pizza. The herb/olive oil is served with fresh bread. The crab bisque is excellent. We enjoyed Veal Saltimboca, Crab Alfredo, and Linguine di Mer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington,Ky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I got take out from here our last night on Sanibel. We got a Chicken Siciliano pizza and an Angelo pizza as well as the bread and dipping oil. I usually prefer chicken pizza with a white or pesto sauce, but actually liked my husband's Angelo pizza the best! This is thin crust pizza and was very tasty. The bartender was very friendly when I picked the food up. Next time we wil probably try eating in and sample some of their other food. Definitely worth a try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wildcorndogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matzaluna also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matzaluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing