We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our island "musts" ....”

Matzaluna The Italian Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Home of Sanibel's only wood-fired pizza. Large selection of local and hyper local craft beers. Gluten free pasta and pizza as well as vegan options.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At least one meal on every stay on the island. Never disappoints ! This time it was Linguine di Mare, Penne Salsiccia and the old standby … Chicken Parm. Even took home an order of a Crab Bisque … to die for !

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cymru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

We had never stopped here because we thought it was just for pizza. We were wrong. The food is excellent, and they have a wide menu of Italian dishes. The service was EXCELLENT!!! We highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Great place for pasta - but this trip we had the mussels and pizza! Perfect after a day of fishing and biking!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Maps23838132906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We dined here on our first night in Sanibel.......we were exhausted from our flight and wanted a restaurant that would offer us good food in a relaxed ambiance. Matzaluna offered exactly what we wanted!

We were seated in their upstairs dining area...would highly recommend asking for that seating area, if you can, because it was quiet and away from the hub-bub of the downstairs.

I ordered the Stuffed Shells with Bolognese Sauce......a Special of the Day......perfectly-prepared al dente shells filled with a creamy ricotta/mozzarella/parmesan cheese mixture. The Veal Parmesan with Penne entree that my spouse ordered was delicious. Both entrees were so ample that we took enough home for lunch the following day. We could select a side salad or a cup of Pasta Fagiole Soup too. We both chose the soup, which was tasty, but had a bit of a kick to it. LOVED the bread.......actually asked for a few additional slices!!!!!!!

Kelly was our server. She was friendly, but a bit abrupt......could be that was because (from what we could tell) she was the only server on the upper floor. Sorry to say, though, that made the decision for our Very Good rating.....otherwise, it would have been Excellent.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Great thin crust pizza....we liked so much we went back again! Nice atmosphere.. on or first trip our waitress, Kelly, really made our night! She was awesome! Great friendly personality and great sense of humor! They bring you really good bread with dipping oil while you wait on your meal. Also reasonably priced and casual.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matzaluna The Italian Kitchen also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matzaluna The Italian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing