We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille is the place to find the best Caribbean flavors on Sanibel Island and surrounding areas! It is named after the character from author Randy Wayne White's best-selling book series and is a favorite dining spot for travelers from all over the world as well as a favorite for the locals looking for great food and atmosphere!
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner at Doc Ford's. We started with mussels and the each had specials. Flounder was great and the sea scallops were awesome. This is a laid back restaurant, think sports bar, with an upscale menu. Prices were very reasonable for the quality of the food. Rum specials were very good too. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,225
    1,403
    473
    142
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“fell short of expectations”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Based on its ranking of 8 from 62 we expected better. Service was very good and the menu was interesting but we found the flavour of the food to be lost because too much chilli had been used in the dishes we ordered. This is a large busy restaurant but the speed of service was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dwim1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Desert, Maine
Level Contributor
220 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The variety, quality and quantity keep bringing us back. It's not a pretentious place at all, posing as gourmet when it's not. It's good food, served simply and not costing all that much. Drinks are excellent. Jim the bartender from Stowe very friendly. We ordered take out one night and for $22 we both were stuffed. Prompt and yummy.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JH928S4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy Fish!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We ate here twice and especially enjoyed the fish and the rice and beans. I loved the Lime Panko Crusted fish sandwich, and the fish tacos. The outdoor patio is great and even waiting for a table is fun because the atmosphere is great.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pajamann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon - great football crowd”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stopped in on first day here in Sandibel, Sunday afternoon - the crowd was nice and Nate the bartender did a good job! My friends enjoyed the mojitos. We only had appetizers and sandwiches but they were good. I liked that the pulled pork sliders were not coverd in BBQ sauce.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluebordercollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Doc Ford's Rum Bar & Grille Sanibel Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing