We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Favorite”

Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$34
Cuisines: Sushi, American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

They started us off with a small loaf of hot oatmeal bread, and it just got better from there. Very fresh fish, simply prepared, and the service was excellent, we were not in a hurry and the waitress did not seem to mind too much either.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bluewaterk330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    518
    222
    68
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food good, high-volume atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Excellent fresh fish menu, but I like to order off-specialty, so I had the seven-ounce filet mignon. It was very good. Their specialty bread (oatmeal-molasses) came to the table undercooked and squishy, but we ordered another small loaf, and it was good. My only complaint is that we felt rushed -- as if the staff wanted fast table turnover. Many people would not mind this. The side dishes were tasty, the setting scenic, the parking good. You climb one flight of stairs to the restaurant -- I did not look for an elevator, but if you can't easily climb stairs, call and ask before you come.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Been going to Timers for years after church. Always Fresh and excellent, service is always very good. Put this on your list of places to go before your go home you will surely return. Lou

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food/Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Wife and I ate dinner at Timbers with our 1 year old. Food was excellent, unfortunately it seemed our waiter was annoyed that we had our 1 year old with us. Additionally, my wife and I both felt like other patrons were somewhat "shocked" that we brought a baby to this restaurant by their glances at us. In summary, food was very good, but I would only recommend going without the baby.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mntraveler286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stone crab, etc.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

Timber's market delivered great stone crab, mustard sauce and seaweed salad. We passed up some great looking swordfish and other fabulous choices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgparrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Timbers Restaurant and Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing