We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit odd !”

Thistle Lodge Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Thistle Lodge Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Casa Ybel Road
Description: The award-winning menu at the Thistle Lodge includes a blend of Floridian, European, and Asian flavors designed to please even the most discriminating palates. The seafood is fresh and hand-cut right in our own kitchen. Steaks are flown in from the Midwest and dry aged to enhance their flavor and tenderness. Even the herbs, fruits, and vegetables we use in our cuisine are custom-grown. Whether you are planning a romantic evening for two, celebrating a special occasion or simply looking for the best beachfront dining in Sanibel Island, the Thistle Lodge offers an unrivaled culinary experience. Thistle Lodge is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and offers both indoor and outdoor dining. The upper level of the restaurant is available for private events.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
442 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“Bit odd !”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

An empty restaurant when all the others are pretty full is not a good sign. A sort of colonial old style dining room lacking in character but with good views over the grounds nod beach .
No GF bread ! Four of us dined and they forgot my order blaming a computer glitch so I ate my meal on my own .
Fish was very good as were accompanying vegetables etc .
I am afraid not terribly inspiring place , somewhere you would take your Granny to !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    178
    63
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food But...”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Good food but overpriced and the lodge / restaurant had a "musty" smell that took a little getting used too....Service was fine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SnorkelRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Casa Ybel and, while we loved the resort, we did not like The Thistle Lodge. The restaurant mistakes quantity for quality. I had the stringiest, hugest piece of ahi tuna that was not fresh-tasting at all. My husband had a veal dish that had 3 huge veal cutlets with mounds of lettuce in between and on top of the cutlets. The meat was tough and if he wanted that much lettuce, he would have ordered a salad. There are some wonderful restaurants on Sanibel (Il Cielo, Sweet Melissa's, Blue Coyote Supper Club, The Mad Hatter). This restaurant is a waste of time and money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehorn922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Sanibel restaurant”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were here for a wonderful anniversary dinner with out of town guests. The reviews were mostly right on as this was a beautiful destination as we love dining on the water (Gulf of Mexico). We asked fora table next to the window and were not disappointed except that sunsets are not visible from here. My husband and I shared an escargot appetizer that was delicious. He also had lobster bisque. Our friends had the crab cake appetizer that was good also. One of the entrées was a lobster Mac and cheese that had half a lobster tail on top. Rave reviews on that. The other couple shared a grouper dish that was delicious. Since we were quite full we opted only for the anniversary brownie with ice cream. Our drinks were great....white sangria!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hednwest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pricey but so delicious!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Such great quality food and very delicious! We ate here the day of our engagement and then had our wedding reception dinner with family and friends. The food is wonderful; the staff very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernsandflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thistle Lodge Restaurant also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Thistle Lodge Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing