We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came for the view. Should have left it at that.”
Review of Sea Breeze Cafe

Sea Breeze Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Breeze Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Cafe, Soups
Description: Sea Breeze Cafe offers breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week from 7am till 10pm. Offering stunning Gulf views and al fresco dining on the patio, guests can enjoy a combination of classic tavern fare, innovative entree salads and sandwiches for a dining experience unlike any other on the island. Happy Hour specials are offered daily from 5-7pm along with live entertainment Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights from 6-9pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Sea Breeze Cafe offers breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week from 7am till 10pm. Offering stunning Gulf views and al fresco dining on the patio, guests can enjoy a combination of classic tavern fare, innovative entree salads and sandwiches for a dining experience unlike any other on the island. Happy Hour specials are offered daily from 5-7pm along with live entertainment Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights from 6-9pm.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Came for the view. Should have left it at that.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Ate here for early dinner. Drinks were good but food not so good. Seafood chowder thick and gummy. Lukewarm. Grouper I swear was Tilapia and not real fresh. Jerk wings very good and server friendly. Disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfnut00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good, lively spot.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We ended up here one night almost by default, but enjoyed a Caesar salad topped with grilled salmon and a grilled chicken dish, finishing off with a shared almost obligatory key lime pie and raspberry sauce. (Almost every restaurant offers this dessert, but why not?). Danny Morgan and a singer whose name I didn't catch supplied some lively music the night we were there, which added to the festivity of the holiday season.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland/Sanibel
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Dining with a view.”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

You would have thought that a beautiful island like Sanibel would be knee deep in waterside restaurants. You would be quite wrong. There are perhaps 4 or 5 at most places where you can eat AND sea the view. This café is part of the Sundial Resort on the Gulf of Mexico. The restaurant here used to be called Windows on the Water and was THE place to go for a luxurious Sunday brunch. In the last 15 years the owners of the Sundial decided they did not want to provide food here or even have anyone else take over the contract.

Luckily times have changed and there are now 2 or 3 restaurants at Sundial and Sea Breeze is the bar and patio where you can eat and drink to the sound of the waves on the Gulf.

Unlike the blurb provided by the restaurant this is not a unique dining experience once you get beyond the view. In fact the menu is almost identical to that of every other restaurant on Sanibel. Some shellfish here, some sea fish there, a bit of pasta and some salads and Bob is your uncle. But that is what punters want here so that is what Sanibel provides. Sometimes you are so desperate for a Gigot of Lamb or anything else that's interesting that you almost break down the doors at Traders along the way...

But traders , like all the other restaurants down the strip, does not have the view. So what is the 'breeze' like? And the answer is very good. First impressions are not very encouraging; the bar's tropical fish tank has only a couple of decent sized fish and no coral at all. But the service and the food provided are very good indeed. I have been twice with a tennis team which can intimidate the crew of some restaurants but I need not have worried at all. Way above Sanibel average. So the team gets to go back there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Excellent food, service and views at the Sea Breeze Cafe”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at the Sea Breeze Cafe. We were able to eat out on the patio which overlooked the water. I honesty believe that this is one of the nicest views of all the restaurants that we visited on Sanibel Island. The service was great....all of the staff were pleasant, cheerful and professional!!! The desert was to die for....It was made for chocolate lovers!!!!! I had the salmon for my dinner and it was just the best!!! We cant say enough about the Sea Breeze Cafe!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Indiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Second time and still great!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I invited another person to join us in August in this newly re-furbished restaurant located at Sundial Resort in Sanibel. We have a condo close by and have, over the years, been just about everywhere to dine on the Island. I thought the first experience was outstanding and was vocal about it! We were truly surprised!!!! Sometimes a first experience can be just that.... a one time experience.... We were back a few days ago (Sept 25) and invited another couple to go with us to this restaurant hoping it would be the same great experience.... Yep!! It was! The couple that joined us were equally impressed.... Service, Quality of food and atmosphere were outstanding and just as impressive as the first time we were there in August. This time Joe (not sure of his last name) was there to wait on us.... Outstanding..... much like Michele the last time.... great training, service oriented and very informative. Our neighbors in our condo unit above us were still talking about it the next day.... Consistency is the key and if they can deliver that type of experience in the lowest of low seasons (Sept), then I am truly impressed. Thumbs way up for Sea Breeze and/or Waterview (same kitchen, but one is formal and one is more informal) for making such a positive statement!! We will be back in November!!!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan C, Manager at Sea Breeze Cafe, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Sundial Beach Resort wants to thank you for posting your "thumbs up" experience at the Sea Breeze Café. We are delighted you and your friends enjoyed the delicious food and great service provided to you. We look forward to seeing you again in November. We have many special events and Holiday dinners scheduled for our guests this year. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Breeze Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Breeze Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing