We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Great Break”
Review of The Sangria Grill - CLOSED

The Sangria Grill
Price range: US$0 - US$48
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Atlanta Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Great Break”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and two kids were looking for a place to grab a nice quiet dinner as one of our children is an infant. Upon arrival my wife was concerned there were not more vehicles in the parking lot. Upon entering, the environment was familiar and warm as we were guided without reservation to the perfect spot for our family. We ordered a few appetizers and drinks. The lobster bisque was authentic and unlike other restaurants on the island that load there's up with tons of butter and cream, this was light and flavorful leaving you with room for the remainder of your meal. I opted for a specialty brandy and bacon dressing on my salad that was delicious! Salads can be boring and less than entertaining...This one hit the mark. My wife's Lobster ravioli literally had more lobster in it than she could tackle in one setting. My Alfredo del mare was perfectly prepared and while I am a big guy, I still had plenty left on my plate. My son had both the butter noodles and the chicken sliders. He's extremely picky and his comment was " it was nothing but Awesome"!
The experience was topped off by Chef Todd taking an interest in our son, not in a cheesey (I want to appease my patrons type way), but authenticate, REAL, "no candor class" applied way. We have been fortunate to travel quite a bit, I would recommend this experience to others. If your looking for an authentic experience this is a must visit.

Helpful?
Thank ATLCURACAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    14
    10
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lemonade Snobs”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The food for the grown-ups was absolutely wonderful. The **real** sangria was incredible. My kids can't stop talking about the fresh squeezed lemonade--seriously--on and on they go. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was that even though they made our kids feel very welcome (they loved getting to put their height on the front windows) the actual kids menu choices weren't that great for kids, at least not ours. Loved everything else, including the Chef making sure we enjoyed our meals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank justbeachy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Food was prepared right in front of us by Chef Todd. The freshest food we have ever tasted. The service, atmosphere, the food, was simply fabulous. Truly a great experience and the sangria is cold, flavor filled and ice cold.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jcappell
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Most Unpleasant Restaurant Experience Ever”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited the Sangria Grill for the first time, expecting a pleasant dining experience based on the average of online ratings but were shockingly disappointed.

The food:
We found the food to be incongruous with the prices. Despite a creative use of ingredients (e.g., nice use of seaweed with the fried calamari and novel salad dressings) and a generous helping of seafood in the jambalaya, some items were lacking (e.g., couscous that was too oily, and overcooked steak) and none was outstanding.

Atmosphere:
By design, the kitchen is open to the dining area and the cozy-sized room has a high ceiling that seems to amplify ambient noise. The diner hears most of the cook's commands (there are many) and more, such as telling the server he can't read her writing, and discussing the issue of our missing salad (seems that it was on the server's ticket but was somehow missed). We also found the dining area to be too warm despite the fans placed around the perimeter of the room.

Plates:
Stylishly small, but impractical.

The small rectangular salad plates are heaped high; we challenged one another to see who could avoid spilling salad onto the table--we all failed.

Steak was served atop a generous portion of garlic mash and vegetables. Upon cutting into the steak, the garlic mash and veggies oozed over the edge of the plate onto the table. We asked for a larger plate for the steak, but never got that.

Service:
The server immediately told us that food takes a little longer because it is made from scratch. (OK, this is not news, as cooking from scratch is expected.) Food didn't take very long to be served; though if the restaurant were crowded, we imagine there could be a long wait because the cook (presumably, the owner) seems to single-handedly orchestrate all of the cooking (there were two other cooks/assistants in the kitchen).

The server was very attentive, though overly apologetic. The server began to take our order and had to run to the counter to carry a dish to another table; she apologized and explained their policy is to carry the food to the table immediately when ready, as they do not use heat lamps. Perhaps this is laudable, though having someone else available to run the dishes so as not to not be so helter-skelter in taking orders would make even more sense. When one salad was missed and arrived a few minutes late--no big deal--the server repeatedly apologized for this. And she was very apologetic about the steak.

Steak:
We ordered a steak. We requested medium well.

The steak was well done and them some. We pointed this out to the staff. They promptly took it back to the cook to have the order redone. The cook came to our table to talk to us. He asked what the problem was. We said that the steak was overcooked and mentioned there was no hint of pink at all. He explained that medium well has no pink and added that steaks continue to cook after being removed from the heat source--implying, we think, that we are to anticipate this continued cooking and order a less-cooked steak to compensate. As though somehow that is not part of his job. And furthermore, he let us know that he has over 30 years of experience. This was arrogance in lieu of customer service, and moreover, seemed to be designed to humiliate one of the younger members of our party in a rather loud voice. In writing this review, we claim no expertise in the matter of cooking a steak. So I defer--gasp--to an on-line description of medium well from www.bbq.about.com: "A medium well steak should have a hint of pink in the very middle of the steak..." The cook's 30-plus years of experience is at odds with bbq.com and what two members of our party—both servers—already knew.

The cook personally served the redone steak, which arrived after everyone else had finished their meal. To say that he was "cold" would be an understatement. He did his duty but made the entire table uncomfortable. He should have had the server deliver the steak to spare us of his attitude. We ended up putting the steak into a take-away box, relieved to finally leave.

Vibe:
Felt like we were in a dictatorship run by a surly cook who was on the border of being hostile.

Bottom Line:
We won't go back and cannot recommend the Sangria Grill.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
9 Thank jcappell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklyspeaking1964, Owner at The Sangria Grill, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
And here's the rest of the story as Paul Harvey would say.....

I remember this table very clearly. Party of 5 with no reservation. Pretentious attitudes especially when they had to be seated where they didn't want to be due to all the other tables reserved. (How dare I not seat them at an already reserved prime table?!?!) The older male admitted he can't taste food. The young female they speak of couldn't have been over 26 yrs old, and STATED to the owners she knew everything- SHE'S IN THE BUSINESS. And this is the second time you posted this review. You gave more stars at first. Then deleted it and re-posted it as a 1 star. You have a lot of time on your hands.

My "surly" Chef/Owner, says this: You are in Chapter 14 of Why We Wonder... And Thanks you :)

All I have to say is this: As stated in the past, on our website, on our facebook and twitter- we DO NOT DO PRETENTIOUS- TAKE THAT ATTITUDE SOMEWHERE ELSE. However, if you want to enjoy yourself, eat great food and have a good time- we are all about that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place with awesome food”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Love this place, all homemade from scratch is a welcome change from most restaurants, as that's how we cook at home. The special (snapper) was out of the park great, as well as the hand rolled ravioli. There new salad dressing there going to market kiwi/mango was DELICIOUS!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franklyspeaking1964, Owner at The Sangria Grill, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I absolutely LOVE the picture of the girls! Would it be ok if I copied it and posted it on our facebook? We truly love and appreciate our guests- and are thrilled when we see pics like yours <3
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sangria Grill also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing