We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect beach spot for a great family week”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blind Pass Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, Florida
Level Contributor
140 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect beach spot for a great family week”
Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were lucky enough to have a fantastic week with our children and grandchildren, ten people in all, at this very lovely beachside condo. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo and had a great time. The owner is having the place fully renovated and we can't wait to see how it looks. There are only a few 3 bedroom areas and they book up quickly. If you're taking a group with you, check it out sooner than later. An extremely well maintained facility. We found the beach access easy and the shelling terrific. We cooked and barbecued and had a wonderful family vacation. Bikes and pool stuff and carts and everything was included. Only expenses were food and any incidentals. Have a great time. If you rent B-103, tell them that Steven M. sent you. Nice owners. Tough to rent as its got a great location by pool.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samba, Manager at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are delighted that you and your family had such a great time! Blind Pass Condomimiums are unique for their location, a short walk to the beach, beautiful grounds, heated pool and spaciousness of our units. All that said, we do have occupancy codes that limit two bedroom units to 6 persons and three bedroom units to 8 persons. We did feel compelled to spell that out as we must, by Sanibel law, abide by those restrictions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    36
    8
    9
    1
See reviews for
96
25
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

What a great condo! There were basically 5 adults staying for a week in this condo (two parents and three adult kids). The unit contained everything we needed, including linens, beach towels, kitchen necessities, a few beach chairs, beach umbrella, a small cooler and various "beach toys". There were tons of books to read, and plenty of movies for rainy, cool days. The best part of this unit was the location. We were at the very back of the property, closest to the beach. There's still about a 3-5 minute walk to the beach, but it is a very pleasurable stroll. There's a beach cart in the closet if you don't feel like carrying things to the beach. The unit was very clean and cheery. One of the bathrooms had a double-sink vanity. It had a door to the master bedroom with an attached huge closet. The other bathroom was in the bedroom at the other end of the condo. We followed the advice of other travelers and got groceries and staples in Fort Myers before crossing over to Sanibel. We bought extra paper products, which is necessary. The unit provides a few rolls of TP and paper towels, but for a week with this many people, we def. needed more. The included Wifi was awesome, as I started classes the week of vacation. All-in-all a great place to stay. Beautiful grounds, friendly staff and awesome condo! Will be returning some day! Note: This property is a bit secluded, so you'll need a bike or car to get to restaurants and town. The general population staying here is "older " as well. I loved seeing the ladies playing tennis is their little outfits! Just the neatest thing to see such active senior citizens.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NurseTSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samba, On line Marketing Consultant at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thanks for your excellent review. We are so happy things went so well for you and your family. The population at the complex has a great deal to do with the time of the year. In January, our visitors are largely retirees but holiday weeks in February, March and April are largely families with children, as are most weeks in summer. We welcome guests of all ages, and we are delighted that we have such a diverse group of visitors!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

The best part of these condos is the location - right next to Bowman's Beach and surrounded by nature, not by other condo complexes, shopping centers, etc. There is a walkway over the lagoons to the uncrowded beach (even during the New Year's holiday week). There are free kayaks for paddling around in the lagoon, and on beach walks you see shells, birds and the Gulf. The pool is nice and well heated, the tennis courts good. The condo units are nice and comfortable, although the screened porches could be more spacious. (The townhouse units do have large porches). There are fancier places to stay, but if you are on Sanibel Island for the nature and not the "action", this location can't be beat. Also, bikes can be rented cheaply and the bike company delivers and picks up.

Room Tip: Units facing the pool are going to be noisier during the day time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 212Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We enjoyed our stay in the Blind Pass Condos. Quite happy to have full on cable and wifi included with our rental (it appeared that this was not the case for all of the units). We loved the beach and the pool was fun.

My family enjoyed the condo and we may be back to this unit, but the beds (at least in the master bedroom) need updating as they do the trick, but they aren't the most comfortable for sleeping. The living room furniture is comfortable (although couch does an awkward tipping if you aren't careful) and new. Truly enjoyed having a ground floor unit as the stairs don't work for some of our family members.

The covered parking is probably a real plus in the rainy season and when it's crazy hot outside. The parking isn't the most convenient and getting to the front door of the condo the first time (until you learn your way around the various paths) can be tricky.

I would recommend the condos based on the private beach alone -- that was happily worth the price we paid. Fell in love with Sanibel and love having access to a private beach within a five minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samba, on line marketing consultant at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Blind Pass Condominiums. We certainly agree that our grounds, pool and private beach are among the best reasons to choose our complex over others on Sanibel Island. Added incentives are, as you mentioned, the spaciousness of the units as well as the value to be found in our pricing. Choosing the precise condo is, of course, the biggest challenge as each unit is owner decorated, supplied and updated. The rental office can generally guide guests to condos that best fit their needs if the unit is in our program. In this particular instance, this condo is not in our program, and we do not have the opportunity to inspect or evaluate it, nor counsel the owners on how best to address your concerns. Hopefully the owner will read this review and take your comments into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have stayed at Blind Pass Condos for many years. It's a little far from the action but that's what we like about it. Bowman's Beach is never crowded. The condos are larger than most, the grounds are always impeccable, they have a very large pool, nice gas grills, tennis courts, covered parking, and free kayaks for use. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach over a small canal, very beautiful. We would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a good value on Sanibel Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LF3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have stayed in quite a few rental condos over the years, and Paul and Corly’s unit (F-101) is one of the nicest we’ve been in. The location was excellent, with easy access to the beach and a good location on the island. The condo was in top condition, with good quality furnishings and beautiful décor. The kitchen was large and functional, better than most condos we’ve rented. There were a variety of books there that our kids enjoyed when they had down-time. With so much to do on the island -- shelling, swimming, Ding Darling nature preserve, CROW animal rehab clinic, and more -- this condo was a wonderful place to call home for our time on the island. The owners of this unit are friendly and responsive people who take care of the property, have integrity, and treat people with respect.

We thought Grandma Dot’s had the best key lime pie on the island, and preferred Jerry’s for groceries (great bakery section, too, for delicious treats). The easy drive to Captiva is worthwhile if you want to see beautiful houses and try shelling at some different beaches.

We loved this condo and definitely recommend it to others looking for a pleasant stay on Sanibel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Blind Pass Condominiums for the first time this summer; normally we stay at a place on Middle Gulf Drive on the beach (we have been going to Sanibel since the late 80's). The main caveat is that you won't have beach views, so this is not a good match if that is important to you. However, the walk to the beach is not long, and goes over a lagoon where we saw wildlife daily (no alligators thank goodness!). The beach is relatively quiet, although a little ways away is Bowman's Beach which is public and usually a bit crowded.

The facility is very nice, and they clearly are working to improve it even so. Parking is covered, but the path from parking to your unit may not be completely covered. We stayed in G101 and the unit was very well-appointed and larger than similar units in Sundial (2 BR 2 BA). WIth six people, it didn't feel like we were smooshed in. Unlike other condominiums which can treat guests staying not in their rental program very poorly, the front desk was great to us, and we had access to all amenities. One of the reasons we left a certain Middle Gulf condo complex is that they made guests of owners not renting through them pay a daily pool and amenity fee!

There are kayaks and tennis rackets and balls to borrow for free, although the lagoon is not that big so more serious kayakers should just rent a kayak in the refuge. It is great for beginners to try though.

They do not have bike rentals available on-site, but if you rent bikes for a week for more than one person, the $10 delivery charge from Billy's is not that bad. We went to the refuge several times and also rode up to Captiva. It is really great to go to the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge on a bike, you see so much more.

The only downside of our stay was two nights the people above us in G201 were noisy. The first night it sounded like a toddler running around, but the next night, they were hammering near midnight! Turns out Sanibel has a noise ordination past 10 pm, so the front desk mentioned that we should have called their service and registered a complaint. We handled it ourselves with a trip upstairs, and they stopped making noise in a little while. In the future, we'll make sure to call - these aren't individual houses!

We're not sure if we will be back to Blind Pass any time soon based on family commitments, but we heartily recommend it. It is located in a great spot for those wishing to hike, bike, or kayak in the refuge. People have mentioned a down side that it is "off the beaten-path" but seriously folks, it is maybe 10 minutes to Jerry's as opposed to 5 minutes from the Middle Gulf properties. And it is closer to Captiva so we split our time between Captiva and Sanibel this time.

Room Tip: The front desk is very helpful. They have different size units, so that is good. We were in G, whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samba, Owner at Blind Pass Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 August 2012
We appreciate your time in writing this review and are happy that you found your stay enjoyable. Blind Pass Condominium offers not only more spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath units, but a split floor plan offering more privacy not found in many other complexes. In addition, for those looking for a little extra room, we do offer 3 bedroom units as well.

We are delighted that you were able to see and recognize our rather unique location on the Island. Again, what "sets us apart" is that we are set apart. Our property site is not close to any other complex and the private homes that flank us on the left and right are not seen from within the complex, and hardly seen from the beach.

We are always gratified when our guests not only have a good time, but feel that their vacation delivered a good value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
3.9 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,250 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#12 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blind Pass Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blind Pass Condominiums

Property: Blind Pass Condominiums
Address: 5117 Sea Bell Rd, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2519
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blind Pass Condominiums is the hidden jewel in Sanibel's crown. On the quiet west end, secluded, tropical and a short walk to the best shelling beach on the Island, Blind Pass units offer great value. Their spacious room sizes and well designed layouts make vacationing comfortable and convenient. The extra large pool and on-site management also enhance a vacationer's stay. Free tennis offered at all times. Free kayaking and canoeing offered, conditions permitting. We are sure you will find a unit at Blind Pass that you will love and will meet your needs. And, if you have any questions about a unit in our rental program, our rental office will help you make a decision in what best suits your search. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blind Pass Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island
Blind Pass Condominiums Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing