We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Pelicans Roost

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelicans Roost
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We (family of four) stayed here in August and it was fantastic. We stayed in a beautiful unit (307) which was a top floor corner unit and had amazing ocean views. I believe all units have a fantastic view, 2 bedrooms, free wifi and steps from the ocean. There was a large stock of beach chairs/loungers that you can help yourself to as you walk a few paces from the unit to the beach and use as much as you like. The pool is beautiful and we had it to ourselves for most of the week as the resort is so small (21 units) and is never busy or noisy. There is a small wildlife area next to the pool where we saw so much wildlife - loads of huge birds, turtles in the water and even an alligator! The unit was very clean and had everything you could need - full kitchen, laundry room of its own, master bed had walk-in wardrobe! If you are looking for a lovely, peaceful, clean and well appointed place to relax - this is it! Definately will return here again, no need to look at anything else on the island!

Room Tip: Check out the resort web-site and you can see individual photos of each unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suemari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

We came for our honeymoon, and it was everything we could have asked for. Pelican's Roost is in a quiet and tranquil setting with easy access to everything that you need. The pool is nice and the facility is well maintained. There is also very easy beach access with chairs provided should you need to take one. Any time we needed anything somebody was around or a number was posted to call with quick reply. Evenings are quiet which makes for great sleeping. The view is always awesome! I have to say the 3rd floor has the best view, but I will take the view from any room.
In short: We will be coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This was our 5th visit to Sanibel and we always liked to stay at Pelican's Roost because the condos were so nice, all face the beach and provided everything we needed. We were sooo disappointed in unit 101 on our recent trip. This unit needs updating and a through cleaning. The tile floors in both bathrooms looked very dirty around the doorways, dirty exhaust fan in 1st bathroom, baseboards need cleaning or painting, refrigerator handle has clearly not been cleaned lately and of course stained white carpeting. The dishwasher had not been installed properly and continued to run for hours one day making us wonder if the dishes were clean. We arrived on Thursday night and were told at the office on Friday all the other units were booked. We really like Pelican's but in the future will probably check out other areas.

Room Tip: Choose a 3rd level unit and read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelmason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PelicansRoost, General Manager at Pelicans Roost, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

To: travelmason from Lexington

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor!

We take comments from our rental Guests very seriously and we’re sorry to hear that Pelicans Roost did not live up to your expectations.
I remember that you requested a unit on an upper floor but regrettably we had nothing available that could accommodate the dates of your visit.
If you had reported any problems prior to your departure we would have responded immediately with housekeeping and maintenance.
The dishwasher problem was a simple repair and you would not have had to wonder if your
dishes were clean.

Pelicans Roost continues to be a favorite vacation spot for many of our repeat guests and we
hope that you might reconsider your decision to check out other lodging should you return to
Sanibel.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We had a corner condo on the second floor and it was totally awesome! Views were breathtaking of the beach. I would absolutely stay at Pelicans Roost again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

301 was a beautiful corner unit on the 3rd floor which is the top floor and it offered a breathtaking direct view of the beach and it had all the bells and whistles that can be imagined in a upscale, modern condo. The kitchen was beautiful with granite countertops and Samsung stainless appliances, Huge Sony 52 inch HDTV in the livingroom with free netflix and even an incredible digital treadmill in the master bedroom overlooking the beach if you wanted to work out..There were large flat screen TV's in the bedrooms. It was definitely the best condo we have stayed in our travels. We will definitely request this unit in the future. The grounds are pristine and manicured complete with beautiful, lighted tennis courts and the shelling is fun and the kids loved the pool and the beach. There are many great restaurants on the island and lots to see and do. This is definitely an island paradise with no traffic signals, no fast food restaurants and no building taller than the tallest palm tree. It is like going back in time to the 1950's.

Room Tip: 3rd floor quieter and beautiful views. Corner units offer more light and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed in a top floor end unit which had a view of the beach that had to be seen to be believed - amazing.

We've stayed on Sanibel around 40 times but have only just discovered Pelican's Roost but from now on it will be our new home form home.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in Unit 301 which offered many unexpected and pleasant perks including a fitness center quality treadmill in the master bedroom to enjoy watching the people shelling on the beach while exercising. Also a beautiful modern kitchen with stainless Samsung appliances and granite countertops. The bedrooms had flat screen HD TV's and the living room had a 52" HDTV and blu ray player and also free Netflix movies. The grounds are manicured and it has a beautiful pool and a very short boardwalk to the beach. Lots of restaurants nearby and we also used the lighted tennis courts on the grounds.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is top floor offering beautiful views and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
717 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelicans Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicans Roost

Address: 605 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6798
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £216 - £497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pelicans Roost 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pelicans Roost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelicans Roost Hotel Sanibel Island
Pelicans Roost Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing