We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome spot for a Staycation!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribe Beach Resort
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome spot for a Staycation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked a last minute studio efficiency to meet up with friends who have a time share there. Room was smaller than expected but you can't beat a full size kitchen & steps from the immaculate pool area (with bbqs). Friends stayed in the cottage closest to the beach and the loft and "secret" entrance were great.
The beach is FANTASTIC and a VERY short walk to the beach. Complimentary use of their beach chairs, paddleboards and shuffleboards.
Only thing missing was an ice machine!
Will be back very soon!

Room Tip: B Building looks over the pool. A Building is closer to the beach overlooking a great courtyard. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    26
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our family of 5 (2 adults, 2 kids & 75 year old Grandma) + dog went for the weekend to one of the cottages (they have 2 in total) and we were happily surprised with the hotel, the cottage, the location and everything, It is a very clean hotel overall, the cottage was impeccable and had everything that we needed. It is a basic beach hotel without major luxuries but we didn't have to ask for more. We wanted to stay more days but unfortunately everything was booked. Staff super friendly, pool nice and clean, beachfront property, very good prices for the lodging and for the pet. We will definitely go back to this hidden jewel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magaly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We had the cottage closest to the beach and it was gorgeous. The view from the loft was fabulous! Pool was always quiet and very clean. The grounds were clean and maintained. The people at the front desk were always pleasant and were attentive to our needs. Loved it and would highly recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked this resort through Interval International relying on the reviews being accurate...which to the most part they were. there resort is dated but well maintained. It immediately gives you the feel of the 60's as do many of the owners guests. There are two buildings. Building A overlooks the pool area. Building B is closer to the beach and overlooks a picnic & gaming area. there are also two cottages near the beach. Each building has two floors. The upper floors give better overall views than the lower floors which are landscaped by high shrubbery. there are two grills by the pool area and two in the picnic area. Contrary to many reviews, the grills were rarely used the entire time we were there and occupancy was about 90%.

Nearly all the unit are efficiency units which are equipped with a small full kitchen, a very small bathroom and a combined dining/sitting/sleeping area. The kitchen is well equipped. The bathroom is so small only one person can be in it at a time. When the murphy bed is pulled down, there is little area left in the room to move. If someone were to also use to sofa bed, there would be no room to move. There is ample clothing storage for two people for a week. The unit is equipped with two beach chairs which hung on a peg on our balcony. the chairs furnished in our unit were very old and rusty. there are a limited amount of beach umbrellas available for use. There is also laundry facilities available in Building A near the office. The staff was mostly friendly and helpful. the beach is so nearby and in a more isolated area of the beach where there were not many people sitting & relaxing. Bicycles are furnished for guest use and there are plenty of paved paths for bicycles on the island that you can ride to stores, restaurants and attractions and they all have racks to lock them in.

Bailey's Grocery is excellent and not very far away...maybe a mile. Make sure you take the land & boat tours in the sanctuary.

For the money, this is an adequate place to stay but don't expect too many luxuries. the pool, spa & grills are great. Check out the many other places to stay for comparison before committing to this property due to the rooms only.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jeg3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Read all the reviews on this resort because they are true! I knew exactly what I was getting myself into so I can't complain. The staff at this resort is the best. Dawn was so helpful and went out of her way to make our stay satisfying. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the pool is immaculate. Now the bad part - the efficiency apartments are extremely small, very dated and you will have company - ant company that is. There are little sugar ants that will visit you if you keep anything on the counter. If you go bring lots of zip lock bags and put any food that can't go in the fridge in the bags on the table. Do not keep anything on the counter. We were in building A and had a view of the ocean from the room. The balcony has two chairs and is very small. The bathroom is probably the smallest bathroom I have ever been in. Very difficult to move around at all. I wish i could say i would stay here again but the Murphy bed and pull out bed were so uncomfortable and the ant situation was not something I would want to deal with again on vacation. This resort is conveniently located and the beach was wonderful. Bring water shoes for the beach because there are a lot of shells and you will need them. If it were not for the great staff and the beautiful location and grounds I would have given this a poor review - sorry. Oh and we had no issues with the wifi and could even use it on the beach if directly in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Building A is closer to ocean but no elevator. Stay in a one bedroom if you go do not stay in an eff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pugmom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Great small hotel with beautiful beach access, lush tropical landscape. The rooms are small and dated but if you come for the beaches and sun it is the best of Sanibel. Located directly on the white sandy beaches. Free wifi that extends out to the beach. They allow small dogs and have a full kitchen. A very relaxing vacation for two! Dawn and Angela provide the best hospitality at the front desk. Come enjoy Florida!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Erlamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This resort has it's own beach just a hundred yards from the furthest room. Although it could be considered dated, it's clean and the rooms have everything needed for a long stay. The pool area is great and they have a live band come in at least once a week which was a treat. A great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
Villa Sanibel Condominiums
#29 of 42 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 42 in Sanibel Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#42 of 42 in Sanibel Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Ybel Resort
Casa Ybel Resort
#13 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Beach Resort

Property: Caribe Beach Resort
Address: 2669 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5911
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Caribe Beach Hotel Sanibel Island
Caribe Beach Resort Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing