We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 8th stay at The Colony Resort”
Review of Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My 8th stay at The Colony Resort”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I love Sanibel Island, this last visit was my 11th in 28 years. It also happens to be my 8th at The Colony Resort. Ever since a friend recommended this wonderful place to me, I haven't stayed anywhere else on the island & I keep recommending it to others.
Great prices, clean, pretty, comfy condos, friendly staff, great location on the island, near beach, shopping, places to eat, nice pool, close to lighthouse. Bikes for rent at the resort, go for a nice morning ride! I love the weekend specials, they can't be beat! Its good for all age groups! Good for family time, as well as a romantic get away! Come tan, go for a bike ride, see an amazing sunset & keep your eyes open for the wildlife. Dolphions, manatees, starfish & great birds to watch.

Room Tip: Go on the website for The Colony Resort & pick your own room. The cottages are great for romance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieakaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    52
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
71
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Cute little cottage/condo area. Nice location to beach and strip of restaurants and shops. Very beachy feel - pool is small but kids didn't mind. Several families cooked out at grills and used the picnic tables to eat. The walk to the beach is quick and nice. The condos kitchen was weel equipped tiny and had lots of those "no see" bugs... not the condo's fault - just part of Fl.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you've never been to Sanibel Island you are missing one of the most beautiful and romantic spots on the Gulf of Mexico. With its spectacular beaches, fabulous fishing, a world-class wildlife refuge, and one of the best shelling beaches in the world, Sanibel is a four-star resort island just a short drive from Ft. Myers, Florida.
We have stayed at the Colony Resort a half a dozen times. Our recently remodeled room featured a large bedroom with a king-size bed, a huge living room with sofa, two arm chairs, dining table and a large flat-screen TV, plus kitchen and luxurious bath. Add to that a quiet screened-in veranda and you have the makings of a perfect vacation. Just a three-minute walk to the beach and very close to the famous Lighthouse Cafe, the Colony is perfectly situated to take advantage of everything Sanibel has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We've stayed here several times and are always very happy with whatever condo unit we stay in. The kitchenette is well equipped; the porch is a bonus and very private; the bed and bath are clean and comfortable. We love the location, steps from the Gulf and a short walk to the Bay and to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We book our unit over the phone and let the ladies in the office choose a place for us. We've n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Colony Resort for April break. We will definately be back. Check in was so easy and so friendly and our Condo was just perfect! Very clean upon arrival and everything you need like the comforts of home. Clean towels are provided for you on a daily basis. The pool was nice, although not a lot of seating for everyone. But it's so warm outside and the pool is just the right temp, it was fun just hanging right in the pool. We were in walking distance to the Lighthouse some shops and also the Lighthouse cafe. The beach was right behind our Condo and it was nice to get up in the morning and stroll the beach, and look for shells of course. Highly recommend Colony Resort!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I booked one night during high season at this resort and was pleasantly surprised! I expected the worst, especially in light of the reasonable rate and that they had availability but lo and behold it was excellent! The room was HUGE! It had three rooms plus a lanai!!! We were right adjacent to the pool and to get to the beach was a five minute walk. The amenities were clean, with a fully-stocked kitchen (plates, glasses, cookware, forks & knives, full-size fridge, micro, stovetop). DON'T HESITATE BOOKING HERE! The staff was very amenable, too!!! LOVELY. Will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank depogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at the Colony Resort for Spring Break. Loved the condo! Nice decor. A great king sized bed and sleeper sofa. Plenty of storage with two closets in the bedroom and one additional closet in the living room where the sleeper sofa is. The condo met all of our needs and had beach chairs for our use. The office let us use one additional beach chair. Staff were great, check-in and check-out where a breeze. The location is off the beaten path a bit which we really enjoyed! We found a bunch of our best seashells at low tide at the beach within walking distance from the Colony Resort. The only bad thing I can say about the condo is that the shower head was short and we are all tall, so we had to duck a bit. That is my only complaint! Not bad! Would recommend the Colony Resort for families looking for a nice quiet place to stay within a short walking distance to a nice beach! Thank you Colony Resort!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UMTerpVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
5.1 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Inn

Property: Colony Inn
Address: 419 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short Stroll from the pristine beaches of Sanibel, famous for sea shelling, Colony Resort is located on the "Quiet side of the Island" minutes from the Historic Lighthouse, fishing pier and in biking distance to World Ding Darling Wildlife Refugee. Located on 26 miles of bicycle paths among tropical vegetation Colony Resort offers 1 bedroom/ 1 bath condominium and cottage accomadations. All units have fully equipped kitchens, screened lanai's or balconies, free Wi-Fi and long distance phone calls. Heated fresh water pool for year round use. Rates vary throughout the year and specials are offered seasonably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Sanibel Island
Colony Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing