We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st stay at Colony Resort”
Review of Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colony Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1st stay at Colony Resort”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at the Colony Resort on our recent vacation to Sanibel (7/26-7/30). We had the one bedroom which worked out for our family of 4. There is a separate bedroom, living space, kitchen and bathroom. My only recommendation is to switch the layout of the bedroom and living space but that's my view. The bedroom is right when you walk in from the parking lot. So if your kids are napping/sleeping, it is hard going in and out of the room w/o making lots of noise. The kitchen was stocked with all the cups, plates, cooking supplies you will need. The oven and stove top works as well. The outside pool was on the small size and depth was from 3ft to almost 6ft. Since this is not a hotel, they don't provide daily housekeeping (but they do have daily bath towel replacements).

This resort is not beach front but easy 10-15 mins walk to the beach which wasn't too bad even for my 2 girls (aged 4 & 3). A BIG plus was that our room had beach chairs, 2 beach umbrellas and a cart to lug all these to the beach. Very helpful with 2 toddlers and we took it to all the beaches we visited.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leekh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    52
    18
    9
    9
See reviews for
71
68
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
naples, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the colony for two nights with our two year old. The property is older but overall well maintained. We got a summer rate which was fine but i would have been slightly disappointed if i needed to pay full price for an older property. We liked the space of having the living area with a small child. The unit had all that we would need for a short stay. We were advised that there would be daily towel service but we did not receive any new towels during our stay despite following the instructions to leave the used towels in the hamper outside our door. This was slightly disappointing. Location to beach was good. A short walk but bring your own beach towels as they are not provided to you. There were two beach chairs in our unit. There is a good ice cream place that you can walk to while everything else is just a short drive into town. I would recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopperqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I will start with it's not on the beach and the photos seem to have been from before the condo between it and the beach were built.
The room I had was nice, clean two TV's plenty of stuff in the kitchen to cook and store provisions for a week. Beach chairs a cooler a shovel and brella were provided for beach day.
My sister had a room with one tv and a struggling air conditioner.
We needed a lower floor and they couldn't accommodate us. My sister was really having a hard time by day 2 going up to the room.
Pool area was nice but too small when you got several folks in it.
Would I stay again? Probably not. There tons of places on Sanible for rent. Keep looking

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crapsshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in Unit C46, which doesn't have any WIFI. Very disappointed about this. Also, we were a party of four and the sofa sleeper was broken! It's on a quiet street, but not directly on the beach, which I had hoped for. The room was clean and towels changed every day. We won't be staying at this resort again.

Room Tip: Do not rent Unit C46. It has no WIFI!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I love Sanibel Island, this last visit was my 11th in 28 years. It also happens to be my 8th at The Colony Resort. Ever since a friend recommended this wonderful place to me, I haven't stayed anywhere else on the island & I keep recommending it to others.
Great prices, clean, pretty, comfy condos, friendly staff, great location on the island, near beach, shopping, places to eat, nice pool, close to lighthouse. Bikes for rent at the resort, go for a nice morning ride! I love the weekend specials, they can't be beat! Its good for all age groups! Good for family time, as well as a romantic get away! Come tan, go for a bike ride, see an amazing sunset & keep your eyes open for the wildlife. Dolphions, manatees, starfish & great birds to watch.

Room Tip: Go on the website for The Colony Resort & pick your own room. The cottages are great for romance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieakaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Cute little cottage/condo area. Nice location to beach and strip of restaurants and shops. Very beachy feel - pool is small but kids didn't mind. Several families cooked out at grills and used the picnic tables to eat. The walk to the beach is quick and nice. The condos kitchen was weel equipped tiny and had lots of those "no see" bugs... not the condo's fault - just part of Fl.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

If you've never been to Sanibel Island you are missing one of the most beautiful and romantic spots on the Gulf of Mexico. With its spectacular beaches, fabulous fishing, a world-class wildlife refuge, and one of the best shelling beaches in the world, Sanibel is a four-star resort island just a short drive from Ft. Myers, Florida.
We have stayed at the Colony Resort a half a dozen times. Our recently remodeled room featured a large bedroom with a king-size bed, a huge living room with sofa, two arm chairs, dining table and a large flat-screen TV, plus kitchen and luxurious bath. Add to that a quiet screened-in veranda and you have the makings of a perfect vacation. Just a three-minute walk to the beach and very close to the famous Lighthouse Cafe, the Colony is perfectly situated to take advantage of everything Sanibel has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
2.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Song of the Sea
Song of the Sea
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
684 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
375 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Inn

Property: Colony Inn
Address: 419 E Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-7201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Colony Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short Stroll from the pristine beaches of Sanibel, famous for sea shelling, Colony Resort is located on the "Quiet side of the Island" minutes from the Historic Lighthouse, fishing pier and in biking distance to World Ding Darling Wildlife Refugee. Located on 26 miles of bicycle paths among tropical vegetation Colony Resort offers 1 bedroom/ 1 bath condominium and cottage accomadations. All units have fully equipped kitchens, screened lanai's or balconies, free Wi-Fi and long distance phone calls. Heated fresh water pool for year round use. Rates vary throughout the year and specials are offered seasonably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Sanibel Island
Colony Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing