We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

For what you pay this is a very good place to stay. The room's are large, have nice tropical decor, and clean. The grounds are nicely upkept. Yes it is very basic but you will be spending most of your time at the beach anyway. That being said, this place is not on the beach and with the beach parking costs in Sanibel you may want to find a hotel on the beach instead if it is in your budget. If not then this is a good option.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heatherfeather28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. There were no staff in sight and it is pet friendly so bring your ear plugs with all the barking dogs I thought we were in a kennel. They do not clean the rooms daily but in each room is a tip envelope for the person that cleans the room? Every hotel I stay at the room is clean and cleaned daily then I'll tip. Parking is a nightmare so be prepared. All in all stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at Anchor Inn in mid June. It was me, my husband, my 4 year old and my baby. The cottage was very nice and clean. They have a broom but not a dust pan, so would only ask in the future to provide that. I stayed with my baby downstairs in the bedroom while my husband and son stayed upstairs in the loft. We were placed in cottage #20 which is furthest from the road and had more privacy and was able to park my car right next to the cottage. We went to the beach that was a little drive turning on Casa Ybel and we ending up just renting 2 chair and umbrellas for a $1 each at the inn. This place is centrally located to all of my favorite restaurants so that was also a plus. The pool is also very clean and we had a nice time in that. We placed our towels in the bin each day and had fresh ones waiting around noon each day. Overall, I would prefer to continue to stay at Anchor Inn and save some money, and use the money I'm saving on eating at activities. Had a great time, and can't wait to go back. Also, we rented some things for the babies needs and the company is like .5 miles away from the cottage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My family just returned from our first trip to Sanibel and Captiva Island. I have to say I didn't really know anything about Sanibel and just decided to book the Anchor Inn on Hotwire, when I read some good reviews. Our stay here was wonderful. I loved the tropical feel of the room and it was great having the ceiling fan and also the kitchen. We cooked breakfast each morning, which worked out great. The entire property was very beautiful and gave us a very island feel. The pool was wonderful and we were always the only people in the pool. It was great having the shuffleboard and games and also the ice machine and water right near the office. The staff were very hospitable and helpful and always friendly. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting the area and would definitely come here again. Thank for for a really fun time on Sanibel!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yahoo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very far from the beach, poor internet connection, shower faucet is backwards, and the "after 10:30" phone number on the office door is not answered, left a voicemail, and the office staff said "We didn't receive a voicemail" along with no one has ever complained about the hotel. That is an absolute lie.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Only going to be on the Island for a couple days and wanted comfort and economy. I am most pleased to report that the friendly, thorough service from the folks at Anchor Inn provided both in great measure. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The atmosphere is totally relaxing. Sanibel is all about being out-of-doors, so why worry yourself with unessary amenities that will go mostly unused when the real action is out on the Island? Reccomend this location to any wishing (as we did) old style charm, cleanliness and comfort. We will return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolfinns2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We arrived here in 2012 and didn't have a plan. This place caught our eye and we loved it! It was quiet, comfortable and very friendly staff. The buildings are so quaint - but well kept. It reminded me of the Florida my grandmother spoke about - and that is a very good thing! We had a blast playing shuffleboard - and sitting on the wide covered porch in front of our room with the fans turning lazily overhead ... it was so private. Love the plants all around the buildings and the parking - it was great to park so close and still have the foliage and such - it's not a concrete jungle - another plus. We'll come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflyingaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
519 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £94 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing