We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for Families”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great for the facilities and kitchen, great for families. There is bad internet connection in the cottages but overall the hotel gives off a wonderful vibe. I love that they have a shuffle board in front.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    74
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
61
95
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burnley england
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of a two week vacation,The cottage was very clean and spacious.The pool is a nice size.Had a look at other units, much bigger than motel rooms.People very friendly helpful.good for a short break or longer.Good value for sanibel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STUARTbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Listowel, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family stayed for 8 days. The kids loved the pool; the staff was friendly; there are laundry facilities on site which we needed with 2 two year olds. This is our second time staying and we have picked this Inn also because it is pet friendly. Right on Periwinkle and very close to the bike rentals. We will visit again - thanks Diane and Luke

Room Tip: A frame cottage is great for small families but has only one bathroom. We sat out on the little deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnanny329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Friendly accommodating staff. Pet friendly which is a big plus as we travel with our pets frequently. We stayed in the A frame cottage ( A MUST ) and were very comfy there. Clean and well taken care of. the location was great...not directly on the beach but not too far from the beaches either.. parking at the beaches are pricey...didn't like that, but the Anchor Inn is nicely located to all the great restraunts and a grocery store which comes in handy. All in all we had a great time and a great stay....the price also was also reasonable...Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jb6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I booked a room for some family members that were visiting us. I was looking for an inexpensive room. This was the best price I could find on Sanibel. It turned out to be a great deal. I'm glad I booked it. The room was clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location on Periwinkle allows for easy access to the beach, museums and restaurants. We will use Anchor Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

For what you pay this is a very good place to stay. The room's are large, have nice tropical decor, and clean. The grounds are nicely upkept. Yes it is very basic but you will be spending most of your time at the beach anyway. That being said, this place is not on the beach and with the beach parking costs in Sanibel you may want to find a hotel on the beach instead if it is in your budget. If not then this is a good option.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherfeather28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had the misfortune to stay at this hotel. There were no staff in sight and it is pet friendly so bring your ear plugs with all the barking dogs I thought we were in a kennel. They do not clean the rooms daily but in each room is a tip envelope for the person that cleans the room? Every hotel I stay at the room is clean and cleaned daily then I'll tip. Parking is a nightmare so be prepared. All in all stay away.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,775 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sanibel Inn
Sanibel Inn
#9 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,296 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Property: Anchor Inn & Cottages
Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing