We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super clean & super Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super clean & super Friendly”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

First off.. Every staff member was so kind and considerate!! Made you feel right at home :) Our room was clean and had a total beach vacation feel. The pool was super clean! Was so impressed to see they provided beach towels, beach umbrellas and sand pails for shelling. Have already recommended to a friend and she is booking a room this week! I love this place and would recommend to anyone! We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myhotelmotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanibelTropicalWinds, Manager at Anchor Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for your review. We take pleasure in you having a great vacation and are glad you enjoyed our pool and beach accessories. We thought these would be perfect for an island get away. Also, thanks for referring a friend. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    74
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
63
95
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Anchor Inn & Cottages is such a relaxing place to stay. They have several room sizes to choose from, including the historic A-frame cottages. We chose a two-room efficiency, which was quite roomy for our family of 4. We enjoyed a small living area, a kitchen, 2 bathrooms, and a master bedroom. The master bath was a bit tight, but it really didn't bother us at all. Outside our front door was a porch and sitting area with a table and a nice view of the pool. Outside our back door was a beautiful place to sit and watch the little pond area with turtles swimming around happily. The room was affordable and clean, and staff were helpful and friendly. Plus, you can walk to a small store just down the street or rent a bike and hit the bike trail, which ran in front of the inn. Definitely recommend Anchor Inn & Cottages for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Two friends and I went here for spring break looking for a relaxing hotel near the beach for a good price. It was perfect. They let us check in early and check out late, rent bikes from the hotel, and bring towels and toys to the beach. Shuffleboard, horseshoes, warm pool, tetherball, and plenty of grills and picnic tables. Nice clean rooms with kitchenette. Staff were all very helpful and kept asking if we needed anything. Location was right in the middle of Sanibel's Downtown. Short bike to the beach, and very short bike or short walk to convenience stores, restaurants, and the only dairy queen on the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delton, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My girlfriend and I were on a two week auto trip all around Florida. We stopped in Sanibel Island, loved it, and wanted to stay. After checking several lodging options, we were quite disappointed at the common price points. Being budget travelers, we were resigned to leaving the island in search of cheaper lodging.

On a last ditch whim, we pulled into Anchor Inn, which is close to the bridge leaving the island. To our surprise and delight, their pricing was most reasonable. Not only that, we got the nicest room with two bathrooms, full kitchen, living room, and front porch area. They had a clean and private out door swimming pool area, plus shuffle board courts, bike rentals, and horseshoes. They were next to some nice restaurants and night life too! We stayed an extra day, and both days tried to "rent" bikes but the owners let us use them complimentarily, being more interested in us enjoying our stay than anything else! They also provided us with invaluable information about where to go and things to do. Top notch folks! Real nice place for the price. Sure, there are much "fancier" digs out there, but this was truly a breath of fresh air!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 day stay here. It was not 5 star ,so don't compare it to that but we liked it a lot , large airy rooms and comfortable beds, peaceful & quiet location right by bike path with an easy ride to lighthouse and beach. Bikes were on site to use, very convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ephratamyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Great for the facilities and kitchen, great for families. There is bad internet connection in the cottages but overall the hotel gives off a wonderful vibe. I love that they have a shuffle board in front.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley england
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at the end of a two week vacation,The cottage was very clean and spacious.The pool is a nice size.Had a look at other units, much bigger than motel rooms.People very friendly helpful.good for a short break or longer.Good value for sanibel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STUARTbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,347 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,830 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
598 reviews
8.7 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 19 in Sanibel Island
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn & Cottages

Property: Anchor Inn & Cottages
Address: 1245 Periwinkle Way, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-4720
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchor Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Sanibel Island, Anchor Inn offers affordable accommodations in a lush tropical setting. Private A-frame cottages, standard hotel rooms and fully equipped 1 and 2 room efficiencies are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anchor Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Anchor Inn And Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing