We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed one week during the month of July, 2013. It was terrific. The management is keen on creating a stress-free stay. It's not posh but it's a very clean facility with everything you need to create a memorable vacation. The location is somewhat secluded, but very close to shopping and other vacation attractions. Looking for quiet and a more secluded beach that's away from the mainstream island visitors - this is the place to be! They offer separate house like facilities as well as cottages. Visitors are welcome to use the clean and well-kept pool that's located by the manager's residence. The PRIVACY is wonderful.

Room Tip: Staying in the cottages? Ask for the Oceanside unit, or one of the units that does not include a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Awesome Vacation. This was our second year in a row that we stay at Tropical Winds in Sanibel Florida, and let me tell you, we have
officially named Sanibel our hidden Jewel. If peace, tranquility, and total relaxation is what you're looking for, this is the spot. And of course to separate it from the rest of the beaches out there....Shelling at its best..No kidding. I never really liked picking seashells from the beach before visiting Sanibel but all that changed the moment I stepped on Sanibel's coasts. Anyways, fishing, biking, swimming, all kinds of tours on and offshore. Fine dining and of course, cannot forget all the souvenir and gift shops which are one of a kind. (CHEAP TOO!). There's nothing like Sanibel anywhere else in the world. You'll find quite a few nice places to stay in Sanibel, but just like Tropical Winds with all its charm, warmth, and peacefullness I doubt it. Oh! Almost forgot. Well behaved pets are welcomed very happily! This was a Plus for me and my family..since our four legged friend completes our four member family..Check them out ..cottages of all sizes to accomadate small and large families..Sanibel is Florida's hidden jewel. Take advantage !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drakethepet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Loved this, in every respect. The beach is wide and deep, with no other hotels or public beach access close by. We found sand dollars, saw a manatee and porpoises, rode bikes to Captiva and around the island, and swam in the pool to cool off after a day at the beach. The cottages are old Florida: terrazo floors, wall units, a small lanai with a dining table, and a kitchenette. That said, they're perfect and perfectly kept. We used the bbq grill to cook dinner, TWinds provided the charcoal and lighter fluid. They provided beach chairs and even loaned us a cooler when we discovered we'd left ours at the other hotel. Cable TV & WiFi, too. We couldn't have asked for more. Several of the people around us were returning guests, one couple for their 7th time! Says a lot. I'm sure we'll be back, too. Thanks, Stephanie & Luke!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I will start with THE BEST MANAGERS ever!!- this place is nice- little older style cottages- VERY clean short walk to beach.....but thanks to Stephanie and Luke this place become so much more.
They really know how to run the business and make you feel as part of their family ...any of your needs are accomodated , they are so very friendly and always smilling.
WE had the pleasure to stay for a couple of days , the weather was not the best , but we still had a great time shelling, watching the nature, ( sea turtle layed eggs right on the property beach) :-)
I do very much recommend this place for quite, private vacation-it would be worth the experience
No wonder that Stephanie is always smilling- she lives in paradise :-)
Lucie

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucieza1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

The best hotel by far with private beach, cute old florida cottage on beach. Oscar our dog loves it here, staff is very accommodating for dogs with welcome baskets including treats and beach towels. Staff is knowledgeable about area and have list of restaurants for you and the dog.

Room Tip: Look no further if you want a beach vacation with your dog.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trvlndawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have stayed at Tropical Winds at least five times. We love it...so does our dog. The new managers are wonderful and the place is clean and well kept. If I had one complaint, it would be the furniture. Since Sanibel is not known for its night life, you do spend your evenings in your room. The furniture is so uncomfortable, it is very hard to sit in the living room and watch a TV show. Of course, this won't stop us from coming back...can't wait!

Room Tip: We always try to stay in #10...beautiful view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandyrose749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

What an amazing weekend. Renewed our vows on the beautiful beach at sunset. Beach is amazing, tons of shells and our cottage was perfect. Rented the 2 bedroom/2 bath cottage with another couple and it was immaculate. Luke and Stephanie (managing couple) make you feel at home the moment you arrive and couldn't have been nicer. They were on top of anything we needed and greeted us with smiles. We will definitely be back over and over again. :)

Room Tip: There is a full use kitchen in the cottage which is very enjoyable for breakfast and lunch while you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
5.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £109 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing