We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

You simply cannot find a better place to stay on Sanibel. Steps to a quiet, seashell filled beach- which is my only must but Luke and Stephanie made it so much more. They are such friendly and genuine people! My search for accommodations on Sanibel is over, I'll always return here.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Seachell19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Came over from the other side of Florida for a weekend getaway with our dog. We stayed in the Unit #3 with a king bed. The room had everything we needed...the bed was comfy, the little sitting area was cozy, a kitchen with everything you need, and a deck and sitting area outside that we really enjoyed. We had a short little walk down to this nice clean secluded stretch of beach. There was hardly anyone out there and our dog just loved swimming and walking the beach. There is a nature preserve close by we rented bikes from Tropical Winds and went for a long ride. There are restaurants on both ends of the island which are super yummy. We especially like The Green Flash and the Bubble Room in Captiva. Stephanie and Luke are wonderful people. They make you feel welcomed and like your old family friends coming to visit. We had the best time and will definitely will make this an annual trip to Tropical Winds!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My husband took me here just this weekend for a surprise birthday gift. We stayed in Cottage #1. Quiet area. the managers, Luke and Stephanie, are great !! They are very helpful with places to go and very accommodating. Disregard the bad comments from February of 2012, as Luke and Stephanie have taken over since then and are VERY conscientious about service. The area of beach where we were is very quiet and not crowded... very peaceful. They provide beach chairs and large beach umbrellas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We love, love this place, and so does our pup. We first visited in Feb with a 12 lb puppy and it was his first visit to the sea. We visited last week with the now-70lb puppy, and he enjoyed as much as he did the last time! Stephanie and Luke are the best, so friendly and accommodating and helpful in every way. The actual cottage we stayed in had 2 bedrooms and a welcome pet-basket :) 2 minutes from the sea, this place is your dream vacation home - in convenience, ambiance, friendliness and charm.Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neem_neem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Lovely, lovely stay in an old Florida motel/cottage! Small fully equipped kitchen, nice living area, two double beds, screened lanai porch. Beautiful pool for cooling off. And only a 100 yard walk to the beach--with some of the best shelling on the island (right next to Bowman's Beach)! Buckets, beach chairs, umbrellas, all the beach supplies you need. And a shell washing station right outside the cottages.
Stephanie and Luke went out of their way to make our stay wonderful.
In a quiet residential neighborhood--you'll need a car or taxi to reach restaurants and shops.
(Sanibel Taxi is wonderful!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karlibrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Luke, Stephanie, and Lisa made our stay so very wonderful. From the extremely clean and expansive cottage, friendly guests, welcome basket for our dog, massive amounts of shells, and breathtaking sunsets..Tropical Winds is the absolute best getaway. There is no size limit on dogs and the pet fee is only $15 per day.

Room Tip: Ask for Cottage # 3, it may be a little further from the beach, but its so large and peaceful. No ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Muffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A welcomed restful experience. Our stay at the Tropical Winds was a pleasure. The room was clean, with all that we needed. A friendly atmosphere, we began our day sitting in the lanai with a cup of coffee and greeting guests. Most of our time was spent walking the nearby spacious beach and picking up numerous varieties of shells.

The friendly management, Luke and Stephanie, went over and above to make our stay relaxing and fun. Thank you, we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonShineOn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
6 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
304 reviews
5.7 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,447 reviews
5.9 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 19 in Sanibel Island
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
'Tween Waters Island Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
705 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages

Address: 4819 Tradewinds & Jamaica Drive, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2605
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £109 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience Sanibel with the charm of Old Style Florida! Located on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, on the west end of the island, Tropical Winds is tucked away in a very secluded, private setting within a small residential neighborhood. Enjoy one of our beachfront or nearby cottages in our own tropical paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Winds Motel And Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Tropical Winds Hotel
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing