We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Relaxing Place To Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Relaxing Place To Stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My husband and I were looking for somewhere on the beach (that didn't cost an arm and a leg) in Sanibel for a long weekend away. Mitchell's was everything we were looking for and MORE!!! We stayed in an efficiency, Cottage #4. It was steps away from the pool, the beach,and the best shelling ever. Our place was clean and spacious. The grounds were well-kept. The staff and the other patrons were all very friendly and accomodating. Every morning we took a walk on the beach, every night we sat under the stars listening to the waves crash, it was wonderful. We also were lucky enough to see several dolphins and a manitee while sunning ouselves on the beach. We liked it so much we booked for next year in a one bedroom. I would highly recommend coming to Mitchell's for your next vacation!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank af_martini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    69
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
128
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We absolutely loved Mitchell's Sandcastles, no complaints!
We cannot wait to go back!
Everything from our accomodations to the location were awesome!
Thanks so much for the perfect Florida vacation!
The Clattenburgs
Truro, Nova Scotia

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dakota12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Great location, beautiful Island! We had unit 8 and enjoyed breakfasts outside, morning tennis, late afternoon dips in the pool and long days on the beach with beautiful sunsets! Great shelling and quiet beach. This location does not have other hotels nearby so you really enjoy quiet beaches. They allow you to use nice beach chairs, beach umbrella, boogie boards for free. Shuffle board, tennis rackets and bikes for checkout Also free!! Rooms are slightly outdated, but clean and nice TVs although we didn't use them. Great deal!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buonviaggetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

I can't say more about Mitchell's Sand Castles than it was the Absolutely Perfect place for a beach vacation. This was our third trip to Sanibel, and our first time at Mitchell's - everything was as good or better than I expected based on other TripAdvisor reviews. I booked the Beachcomber cottage during the "Blizzard of the Decade" in the Midwest and Joel was extremely helpful in finding us accommodations for our dates in April, with a promise that Sanibel weather awaited. After check-in, both Joel and Kim were very helpful with information on shelling, tide charts and anything else we needed during our stay. Bailey's Market is only a short drive away, and access to the rest of the island is very easy from the location. Dale was always there to assist, always with a wave and a smile. The Beachcomber cottage was perfect.. clean, well appointed and comfortable. The Weber Grill was an added bonus, and put to good use during our stay. The Fitness Center was perfect for two people looking to get a good workout on vacation. The free Wi-Fi came in handy for two working professionals on vacation. The adults only pool was a nice touch - we had it all to ourselves one afternoon. The location on the beach was amazing....... awesome shelling and the sunset views were spectacular!!! I can't wait to return again!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wicosmogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

From the moment we contacted Mitchell's to arrange for accommodations to the moment we stepped on to the property, Mitchell's is a first class operation. The owners are wonderful to work with from beginning to end and we just can't say enough about how beautiful the resort is! Our cottage, if you can call it that since it was so spacious, was updated, clean and so welcoming that it was hard to leave. As four women traveling alone we felt so safe and secure that we slept with our doors open to hear the ocean at night. The beach is spectacular and the grounds immaculate. This resort is a piece of paradise that we wouldn't hesistate to recommend to anyone. Thank you Mitchell's for making our mother/daughter birthday trip a memorable and relaxing experience. We plan on bringing the whole family back again soon!

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenct3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2011

I have been staying at Mitchel's Sandcastles off and on since 1980. We have vacationed with adult family members and chldren. It is next to heaven. On the beach; wonderful shelling, nice wallking, and quiet. I love to hear the pines blow in the breeze. So relaxing. Even before all the up grades it was and still is my most favoriate vacation spot. Can't say any more as am afraid everyone will want to book a room.

If you want someone to park your car, personal maid service, a high scale high rise room forget this place; you won't be happy here. BUT we were every time.

February 2010 was our last stay. Hopefully we will be back in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We stayed in the Sea Chest room last May, and it was perfect for our week-long Florida vacation. The room was clean (except for the sand we brought in with us) and quiet. The blinds didn't quite block the morning sun, however. The owners were very helpful and available. A family member sent us flowers and they took care of receiving it and delivering them to us.

We spent a lot of time on the beautiful, peaceful, private beach. We even saw some dolphins near the shore one day. Neighboring properties are all houses, keeping the number of people on the beach even lower. We were there in the off-season, which probably also contributed to that. The two pools and grounds were nicely kept. The on-site wifi was handy for plotting out what to do on the islands.

Overall great vacation, we've recommended to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobzilla42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,296 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
267 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
594 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachview Cottages
Beachview Cottages
#3 of 19 in Sanibel Island
633 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Property: Mitchell's Sandcastles
Address: 3951 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchell's Sandcastles Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing