We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular Location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular Location!”
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Mitchell's Sandcastles is located in an ideal setting for a very laid-back and relaxing holiday. Really, I can't say enough how peaceful it was to wake up to the sound of crashing waves every morning or to sit on the screened-in patio at sunset.
One of the drawbacks I would say is the proximity of the cottages to each other. There was one night that the tenants at the adjacent to our cottage decided to grill - and used about an entire bottle of lighter fluid. The stench stayed in our cottage from the time we left for dinner and drinks (because we couldn't stand the smell) until the time we came back and went to sleep.
We stayed at the Sea Grape and loved the quaintness of the cottage. The only problem we had was with the very (VERY) noisy bed.
We did, however, have the unfortunate pleasure of vacationing during a very stormy weekend. It rained nearly all day when we first arrived and then on and off downpours the remainder of our stay. We could not exit or enter our cotage without getting drenched by the rain water coming from the roof. There is no gutter and the only entrance is a storm door right under the edge of the roof.
Overall, I would recommend this place because of it's location. Probably great for families, definitely pet-friendly, but no the ideal place for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessZoladz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    68
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
127
161
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We really enjoyed our three day stay at Mitchell's. It was a was a nice change of pace from the busy big city. The cabins were exceptionally clean and bright. Everything you could need in the kitchen was there,even dish soap and trash bags. The beds were comfortable. I loved the use of skylights for natural light, but sleeping in in the morning was a bit difficult due to the bright sun coming in from above in cabin #8.I would. Definitely stay here again though. My only suggestion for improvement would be to install some sort of shade in the bedroom skylight that can be opened and closed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel4meAugustaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you are looking for a resort type place with all the bells and whistles that come with it, this is not for you. If you want to get away to a secluded spot on Sanibel and be away from the crowds, Mitchells is great. My son went back in May and told about it and then i read through some of the postings.

This is a throw back to another time in Florida where bungalows and cabin lodgging were common place before the resorts became fashionable. Met Joel but sadly not Kim who are the owners. I hardly saw them becuase we were on the beach most of the time and really had no complaints.

Stayed in the Seagrape which is a studio setup with with a queen size bed. It is nciely decorated in wood from floor to ceiling. It has a full gas stove, full fridge, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, pots, pans, cooking utensils, silverware, plates, glasses and a webber charcoal grill. Oh, and they have wifi for those who can't bear to leave their toys at home but the range does not extend to the beach (i tried getting to their wifi from my smart phone on the beach....). You have all the trappings if you want to eat in or you can go out to get a bite. The units range from Studios to 3 bedrooms.

They have a pool if you must but i go for the beach. They provide bicycles, beach chairs, umbrella's, beach kayaks for F-R-E-E!!! No charge, gratis! You will need your own beach towle as the towels for the pool ar just for the pool and they request you not take them to the beach.

I live in south florida and durring the offseason, is when we locals go to sanibel for the most part because its not as crowded. i dare say even in the high season, because of its location, it's still pretty secluded.

The property sits on and the very far end of West Gulf drive nestled between homes so it really is off the beaten path.

The only downer during the summer are the sand flies that are relentless from Sundown to Sun up and can make beach walks or star gazing at night a real pain. However they can be dettered with with a good repelent like OFF or skin so soft. it does not matter where you go on Sanibel on the beach, the little buggers are there. This is direct from Wiki: "Bring insect repellant with DEET for the sand flies (also called midges and "no-see-ums.") You literally cannot see the "no-See-ums" and they come right through the screens on the balconies and lanais. They may be virtually invisible to the naked eye, but you'll see the bites later. Some folks are driven crazy, others do not get bitten at all.".

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyc39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I have to save this was a little slice of rustic old Florida sparkle . It was a lovely to surprise to see such a beautiful resort and beach it was quiet private and secluded. The beach was lovely the pool was great and the doggies loved every bit of it . Shelling galore on a white sanding beach with exciting surprise of wildlife. I would highly recommend staying here it is a little bit of heaven for those people who only want to relax and take it easy.

Room Tip: Rustic old florida with Great beaches and very dog friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stepping into the Dunes cottage my wife and I felt like we were picking up right where we left off last year. What a great feeling almost like coming home.

We were there for a full week Aug. 26th - Sep. 2nd. Unfortunately, the weather only cooperated for the first three days, but I'll take a rainy day on Sanibel over working any day. The rain did offer the chance to check out some local eateries and shopping, both of which were very enjoyable.

We will definitely be back next year. We are totally hooked on Sanibel and Mitchell's Sandcastles in particular. For all those who come away with a negative impression of Sanibel or Mitchell's, well Sanibel and especially Mitchell's is a state of mind and frankly, you just don't get it. That's okay though it is your loss at not being able to surrender yourself to the tranquility Sanibel and Mitchell's has to offer.

Kevin Travers

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srevart4066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We have stayed at this place a few times. Dog friendly and in a great location. Also, free bikes, boogie boards and kayaks make the decision easier. The owners are great and very helpful. Good palce to stay if you just want to hang out at the beach. Each cottage has their own grill so you don't have to drive anywhere if you don't want to!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JZapala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

After reading reviews, my husband and I decided we wanted to spend our anniversary at Mitchell's Sandcastles. We paid for our 5-day stay ahead of time. After spending just one day there, I had an asthma attack. Unfortunately we had to leave the next day. We contacted the owner but was informed that it was their policy not to give credit or refund any monies. He said that we should have taken the insurance or to contact our credit card company to see if they had some kind of insurance. Needless to say, we understand that they have policies, but out of good faith, he could have offer us something. if you have a life-threatening illness where you have to leave early, you've been made aware. Unfortunately, we are out several hundreds of dollars!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SanibeAnniversary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mitchellssandcastles, Owner at Mitchell's Sandcastles, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
I am glad to have an opportunity to reveal the unfortunate decisions made by this couple. They booked a cottage with us on 5/25/11 for 8/21-8/26/11. Prior to arriving and upon arrival they made mention (to me) of their concern about Hurricane Irene which was hovering near the Bahamas. They were worried about the potential damage it could cause to their house on the east coast of Florida. The following morning they came to the office and informed my assistant Oriana that "they were leaving to prepare their home for the possibility of the storm and take precautions because the wife had asthma". No mention or signs of a "life threatening" asthma attack. Oriana left me a note and a business card which asked for me to call regarding "their situation"? Approximately 10 days later the husband sent me an e mail asking why his credit card had not been refunded ("which he was checking every day"). I responded that our policy does not cover someone leaving for an event that was not going to and never did occur (hurricane Irene was never a threat to Florida at the time they left). I reminded them that we offered travel insurance at the time of their reservation and that they had refused it. Now this review shows up. So,,,,,why would you come to the office in the morning and leave on a 4 hour drive across the state of Florida when Lee memorial Hospital was right over the causeway from Sanibel? Why wouldn't you tell Oriana that that you were leaving because your wife was suffering from an asthma attack (which she wasn't at the time)? Why wouldn't you admit that you made a bad decision, overreacted and incorrectly expected that you were going to get a refund? Let me use this opportunity to disclose our policies. We have a 45 day cancellation window. We are proud to offer CSA Travel Protection which covers legitimate cancellations as well as auto collision, baggage, medical and weather related events. We HAVE re booked guests that have had LEGITIMATE life threatening conditions as well as unforeseen family issues. We will not be blackmailed and if the result is an "I got you back" negative review than so be it.
Joel Kronfeld
Owner/Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.2 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,250 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
265 reviews
5.7 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
1,708 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
587 reviews
5.2 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mitchell's Sandcastles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mitchell's Sandcastles

Property: Mitchell's Sandcastles
Address: 3951 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5298
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mitchell`s Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Sanibel Island
Mitchells Sandcastles Hotel Sanibel Island
Mitchell's Sandcastles Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing