We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mitchell's Sandcastles
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
West Wind Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachview Cottages(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Beach Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Inn(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ybel Resort(Sanibel Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
268
70
13
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
70
13
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean mistthe cottagessea chestsea spray cottagebeach chairssea grapethe kitchenscreened porchlove this placefree bikeslaid backgreat shellingshelling equipmentsaw dolphinstennis courtscoffee makerlaundry room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Joel and his staff did a wonderful job in making our vacation experience memorable. Not only is the property well maintained but free use of the bikes and kayaks will save you a ton in rental fees. Watch the beautiful sunset on one of the best beaches in North America.

The cottages are all sizes and all are ocean view or a very short walk to the beach. Highly recommended! The true Florida experience!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach are best.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff_RoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Thank you Joel , I'm so thankful that you allow dogs. We enjoy the experience so very much here.
Our dogs love it here it's a perfect puppy paradise. We love the clean remodeled units they are fabulous. Your cleaning staff are wonderful and friendly.
Faith and Simon FAIRBROTHER

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Faith4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Very nice resort and relaxed atmosphere. Cottages have lots of space, well equipped and they are clean. We appreciated the pools, bike use and tennis court. All of this was included. Very good service from management. They take really good care of their guests. Only issue we had during the week we spent there was the Wifi. The connection was unstable. Sanibel Island felt like paradise. Quiet, not crowded, relaxing and fun. I recommend this resort if you are planning a trip to Sanibel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Svein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We drove from Ohio to Sanibel Island, this being our first vacation in 11 years! Jacob, our 7 year old son and my wife, who at first was very hesitant about going so far from home and had never been to Sanibel. Well, after the 18 hour drive, all three of us were very surprised at what we saw. I had done the research and read reviews prior to selecting Mitchel's. I promise you that you will not be disappointed with Mitchel's. They have everything you could ask for, beautiful views , well equipped cottages , we stayed in 7, beach chairs , umbrellas, pool towels, tennis rackets and balls, etc. The staff is great and towels/ sheets are washed and returned to you within hours. The family that had issues with Joel , my advice is watch / supervise your children. My wife and I have 9 children between us , with Jacob being only one at home. He knows the difference between right and wrong and respecting others. We met Joel today July 24 , my wife' s birthday, you couldn't ask for a nicer and caring person. He took time out from his busy schedule to speak to us. This vacation was also our 9 the anniversary. My wife thoroughly enjoyed herself and we would gladly recommend Mitchel's to anyone. You will not regret your stay. Only disappointment is we have to leave for Ohio Saturday.

Room Tip: Get a room with ocean view, all rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Saj F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The studio cottage #4 was absolutely perfect for 2 adults and 2 dogs (45 & 60 lbs) for a 3-day weekend. There is a door from outside into the bathroom and then the door into the main room. This may seem odd, but it allowed us to come and go from outside, such as carrying in luggage, without fear of the dogs slipping out. All of the doors have door KNOBS instead of lever handles like hotel rooms, which our dogs can open too easily. The cottage allowed us the freedom to leave the dogs in the room to enjoy the beach or have dinner at one of the fabulous restaurants on the island, which we cannot do if we were staying at a hotel. Mitchell's only charges $25.00 per night for the dogs, which is an enormous savings over pet fees at chain hotels!

Mitchell's has bikes, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and kayaks available for check-out. There are 2 pools, tennis, and shuffleboard. For longer stays, there is even laundry facilities. A wonderful service is the complimentary wi-fi.

The resort is not luxurious, but is very comfortable. Cottages have tile floors (cool and easy to sweep up the sand and shells!) They have full kitchens with real dishes, glasses, silverware and knives and utensils for cooking, as well as a toaster, coffee maker, and dish washer. There were some very basic dry staples in the pantry, but NO COFFEE or tea like you would have in a hotel room. There are also outdoor patio tables and chairs and a small grill if you would like to cook out. Mitchell's is located toward the west end of the island in a residential area, so it is very quiet. There is very little traffic, but is only minutes from shops and restaurants. You could actually ride bikes to just about everything if you don't want to drive after arriving.

The beach was just a short walk across the grounds and through a sandy path right out to the beach which was not crowded at all. The water was fairly clear (it's the Gulf of Mexico, not a swimming pool) and felt cooler in the morning and really warm in the afternoon and evening. When the air temps were cooler early evening, the water was warmer than the air.

We were told to purchase food items before coming onto the island, but the prices at the local markets really weren't that bad. Some items were a little pricey, but we just decided whether or not it was important enough to purchase. We found some delicious local-flavor items such as peach-mango slasa that was well worth picking up. Produce items were about the same as we would have paid at home. There are 7-11 stores as well as 2 local markets. But with the wonderful selection of restaurants, we really didn't eat in our cottage, even though we had planned on doing so.

I would abolustely consider going back to Mitchell's Sandcastles again in the future.

Room Tip: Many cottages have shared screened in porches. Luckily, ours was shared with friends, but could be a little awkward if you don't know the people in the adjoining cottage. The common walls are thick enough that you do not hear any noise from the adjoining cottage.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarynJones03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews