We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad to leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Myerstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
290 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

The location can't be beat if you like an uncrowded beach! West Gulf Drive is largely residential. There are a few parking areas for residents to use to access the beach (special permit needed). But no public parking in this area. We found a starfish, pen shells, whelks, fighting conchs, etc, etc (sadly, no junonia)! We did visit Bowman's Beach, however, we found a better selection of shells right near the Cottages. The warm water outside shower and table by the back door was the perfect place to rinse shells and sandy shoes. My son and I rode the complimentary bikes to Over Easy Café for breakfast one morning. The sleep quality got 4 stars only because of the pillows. The room was clean and fresh towels were available in the laundry. The internet was fast. Both of us watched movies without any problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mosslady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Please remember if there is a problem please feel free to let the management know because things can be rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
137
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed for four nights and it wasn't long enough. The cottage was wonderful, had everything we needed, fresh towels were always available. The beach was beautiful. It was in a residential area so not crowded. We visited the public beach and it was nothing compared to the beach at the cottage. Beth and the other guests were so friendly. Couldn't have been better. Our next visit to Florida probably won't be for two years but this will be a definite come back but hopefully longer.

Room Tip: Shelling is best below the low tide line. All cottages are near/on the water and with only ten you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyJane48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We hope to see you again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

A birthday surprise for me, and it couldn't have been nicer. The perfect place for a quiet, peaceful getaway. Clean and spacious cottage unit with king size bed and kitchenette. Literally just steps from a clean, almost private part of the beach that extends for miles. Manager Beth and owner Jerry were most welcoming and helpful. Hope we can come back some day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank auntmamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about The Blue Dolphin! I just couldn't get good reception for my cell ph! Very clean, always plenty of fresh towels! If you need for anything..Beth is always there for you! Loved the quaintness of the whole area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LStMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are glad to know you had a great time. We hope to see you again. Cell phone strength is known to be a problem on Sanibel. Sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

It was very gorgeous, very quiet, very relaxing. The cottage was great because it had full kitchen, so we didn't leave at all, which made it so relaxing. The scenery and all the shells we found were so awesome because we don't have shells in the Keys!!! The only issue was no seeums were very bad early in a.m. and sunset, we live in Fla Keys and have same problem but were very bad when there.

Room Tip: bring something with deet in it, stay closer to water, have to carry your own chairs/umbrellas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon34346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your girls weekend and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our 3rd year staying at Blue Dolphin- yet again we had a wonderful stay and have already booked our cottage for 2014. The cottages are very clean and well equiped. The bed is very large and comfortable. A simple but well thought of, tasty breakfast is provided daily . Beth once again was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: All cottages are near to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caihooves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
We are so glad you had another wonderful experience here at The Blue Dolphin, see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was our first trip to Sanibel Island and we very much enjoyed our brief stay at the Blue Dolphin. This is a wonderful quiet residential area and right on the beach. Yes, the place has been around a while and some things could use some updating/ sprucing up, but overall is clean and very efficient for what it is. Beware the "No-see-ums" bugs, they are truly a pest that will send you home with many unwanted souvenirs. I agree that end units (We had #6), are the best, with view overlooking beach. Also agree that they have a friendly, laid-back clientele. 10 am seems a bit early for checkout though. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: #6 really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denturedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
6.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
4.9 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Property: Blue Dolphin Cottages
Address: 4227 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing