We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Dolphin Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Dolphin Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 years ago for only 3 days then went to Disney for the rest of our vacation. Our 10 year old daughter just kept saying, while we were at Disney, "I want to go back to the Blue Dolphin." The shelling and the gentle ocean are perfect. The only reason I give it a 4 out of 5 is the no see um problem. (Which obviously is not anything anyone on Sanibel Island can control) Beth (the cottage manager) directed us to the Island Pharmacy. After purchasing a special spray the local pharmacist concocted, we had no more problems. The breakfast every morning, compliments of the Blue Dolphin was nice. They also supply bikes, a shell drying station, beach toys, umbrellas, washer & dryer. We can't wait to get back!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your vacation and the amenities we provide. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    40
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
50
137
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Unfortunately, the units are small and the no-see-ums are the most active I've experienced in my life. We spent two nights in the ocean front cabin #7. I was more pleased than my wife with the actual cabin. It is quaint and we could hear waves on the bay. One evening, I spent ten minutes on the porch without bug spray just before sundown. Now, more than a week later, I'll still suffering from the no-see-um bites in the hundreds. If you like small, quaint, and close to the beach, bring lots of bug spray and use it and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Only two ocean front rooms, #6 and #7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your room and the proximity of the gulf from it. We are sorry that the no seeums took a liking to you. That is a Sanibel thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Blue Dolphin is, for me, an ideal place to stay -- a small group of peaceful, well-maintained cottages, set in an exceptionally beautiful tropical garden, at the quiet end of West Gulf Drive. You cannot be closer to the beach than this, and the shelling is usually very good near here.

Egrets and pileated woodpeckers visit the garden area. Some nice breakfast items are set out each day at 8 am, and all day long cookies and coffee are available in the office. Beth, who is the weekday manager, is fantastic; she really could "write the book" on hospitality. If you need something, or if something seems not quite right in your cottage, do not keep it to yourself -- just ask her about it.

It is great to have a full kitchen and access to a laundry room. To me this place is like an ideal home from home.

And the WiFi now functions perfectly at all times!

Remember it is subtropical in Florida, and therefore there are "no-see-ums", small, almost invisible flying insects, which view you as a delicious buffet. For the one-hour before sunset and one hour afterwards, and ditto for sunrise, you will probably want to wear a good strong insect repellant.

Room Tip: Book at least a year in advance (as repeat customers do), if you want to have a choice. Rooms do var...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank invertpaleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the amenties we offer, our location and the fact that we do try to extend ourselves. Have a great year and we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We love staying here. Calm, quiet, empty beaches, dolphins swimming up close to the shore. Good water pressure.
It's getting time for some maintenance on the property like new beds and new air conditioning units. That's why they get 4 stars instead of 5.
A must - bring item is insect repellent with at least 40% DEET. for the no-see-ums.
If you know all this ahead of time, you will have a very enjoyable time.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TampaTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we hope we will see you again. As to the a/cs and mattresses they have been updated recently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Wonderful location, quiet and far away from busy condos and motels. The continental breakfast served each morning is lovely . Very clean cottages and very pleasant guests who return each year. Thank you Beth and Helma for being so helpful. Looking forward to our stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetotravel54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Beth and Helma thank you for visiting us. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
306 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

My husband and I spent another wonderful 5 days at the Blue Dolphin before Thanksgiving and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Poinsettias on the walkway tables were a festive holiday decoration. We had a beautiful view of the Gulf from our porch where we ate breakfast every day, watching dolphins in the surf and magnificent frigate birds soaring in the sky every day. Shelling wasn't as good for me this year as it's been in the past; we tried our beach as well as the Lighthouse Beach and Blind Pass Beach. I didn't find many as shells washed up on the beach as usual, but did find some nice ones by wading in the surf and using a net. The weather was beautiful. The no-see-um midges were a nuisance, but somewhat lessened by various sprays; Beth even told me about an alternative medicine pill that might lessen your body's attractiveness to these nasty critters. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast with delicious fresh fruit along with the usual muffins and bagels was good (except for the couple who brought travel mugs and drained the coffee pot each morning!). We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our amenities. Beth is trying to find some magic potion to ward off the no seeums, another product is greenway formula 7 with clove oil, we now have Beth smelling like an Easter Ham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Loved everything about this place! Beautiful, peaceful, setting on a stunning beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The breakfast was really cute and we were able to enjoy it sat outside on our patio. Staff very friendly and helpful. And yes, you really can see dolphins (we saw them every day at sunrise and sunset) ! Just remember your insect repellent for the 'midges'. We will definitely return and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lr2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerry S, Owner at Blue Dolphin Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Your stay sounded wonderful. We are glad we could accomodate you and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
6.1 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#12 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
1.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
Shalimar Cottages and Motel
#14 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Inn
Sunset Beach Inn
#17 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Dolphin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Dolphin Cottages

Property: Blue Dolphin Cottages
Address: 4227 W Gulf Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-5199
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly refreshing vacation awaits you at the Blue Dolphin Cottages. We are a family owned, intimate and charming motel situated directly on a tranquil, white sandy beach on the beautiful Gulf of Mexico. The Blue Dolphin Cottages offers a selection of accommodations in its 10 units, either bright and airy efficiencies or spacious one bedroom suites, all with completely equipped kitchens, phones and cable television. Each unit has a comfortable sun deck surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. With our compliments, you will enjoy a delicious continental breakfast every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Dolphin Cottages Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Hotel Sanibel Island
Blue Dolphin Cottages Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing