We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good happy hour with lighter fare menu”

Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts, we want to make you feel right at home! Our location has been regarded as one of Sanibel's best kept secrets! Indulge yourself with one of our fantastic meals, or browse around for a great gift for a loved one. We are proud to offer a variety of food, gifts and entertainment to the Sanibel area. We provide live entertainment every Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. Some of our best dishes include succulent seafood and steaks! After your meal, relax with some great cocktails, fine wine, or a delicious dessert! We'll be ready to greet you with a smiling face! Visit Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts today!
Eastham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good happy hour with lighter fare menu”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

Most food on Sanibel is expensive so take advantage of small plates menu served until 6:00 PM. We enjoyed crab cakes, Kobe burger, lamb shank, oysters florentine, and a wonderful gulf shrimp/lump crab mixture with avocado cilantro mash served in chilled martini glass.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CapeCodPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,003
    403
    119
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“More like a hotel restaurant”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Was slightly disappointed given its high ratings on Trip Advisor. Lunch was average. Seemed to be a lot of locals there who knew all the servers so felt slightly unfriendly. Quesadilla was burnt on the back and have had better crab cakes in other restaurants. On a positive note the shop was very nice that is attached to the restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“overated”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

have been to traders on a number of occasions usually pretty good last time there and i mean the last time, we were greeted by the hostess first thing she said was do you have reservations? not even a hello we did not ,so with a sigh she said we could go to the shop for about a half hour then she could seat us near the door quite the attitude we did take her advise about the door left and went down the street to cips a much better choice without the attitude oh well.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn
Level Contributor
123 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Go Back!”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I enjoyed one of the specials for lunch...blackened shrimp wrap. OH YEAH!! Seriously, it was awesome! Plenty of parking at this restaurant too. After your meal, you can go through their gift shop...very nice!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrappy4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Longtime Customer No More”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Over the years I have eaten at Traders many times, generally with good results. The past couple of times, though, haven been disappointing at best. We recently had dinner on a Saturday night, a group of 7. If you have been to the restaurant you know about the bread. Well, on this particular night they were out of bread. On a Saturday night? Surprising. Our entrees were rather mediocre, and the service was a notch below mediocre. When I wrote about my experience on the restaurant's website, in the "Contact Us" section, I heard not one word in response. I posted on Facebook, and was assured I would be hearing from the management promptly. That was weeks ago. I have yet to hear from anyone. I would estimate having spent $3000 or so over the years at Traders; it is not cheap. And I do not mind paying a premium price for premium food and service. The quality of this institution has slipped mightily. And while that disappoints me, I am even more disheartened at their seeming lack of concern for a regular customer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eng_prof2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Traders Gulf Coast Grill and Gifts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing