We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French bistro cuisine with New Orleans flair”

Sweet Melissa's Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Sweet Melissa's Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Casa Ybel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“French bistro cuisine with New Orleans flair”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were absolutely impressed with the flavors of the appetizers and the wine list. The rabbit pate was succulent; Lobster spring rolls elegant;Sweet breads savory; frog legs, amazing. Our entrees were the same: Many different items cooked to perfection including guinea fowl, cobia, smoked tenderloin of beef, and fish soup - mussels, scallops, etc. Dessert was no different with homemade sorbets, tarts, and of course key lime parfait.
DO NOT SKIP this culinary flavor masterpiece - Melissa is magnificent

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arabianhorse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    775
    214
    103
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ladies Who Lunch”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I enjoyed the beet salad with grouper. The atmosphere is lovely. Pretty restaurant with attractive art work. Most of us would return. However, one lady who ordered the roasted romaine with shrimp found it tougher to cut than meat. Quiche, salad with beef got rave reviews.
Quirky thing was when I put the reservation through on the website, I was automatically told that they were booked from noon to 2:30 PM and could not accomodate us. Because it is off season, I thought that was odd, so I called and our reservation for eight was accepted. I told the woman who answered about the website, and she said it was set up only to accept a party up to six people. So if you have a party larger than six, call.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Less impressed than first visit.”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Was told I had to order everything at once, not what I enjoy or am used to when partaking of small plates. Therefore I ended up eating much less than I would have ordinarily. Don't remember that being the case on a previous visit. Food also seemed overly safe and not as richly flavored.

Overall an average experience. My previous visit (two years ago) put SMs at the top of my Sanibel list. No longer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Close_I75_in_TENN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must do on Sanibel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I visited Sweet Melissa's between our week-long vacation on Sanibel Island. The menu was awesome and the service perfect. If you are looking for a place to enjoy that one special meal while on vacation in the area, this is the place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank park56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Anniversary Diner”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My wife and I had our first anniversary dinner at Sweet Melissa's. The wine list was wonderful but the pour was terrible. Three sips and its done. The ambiance was best on Sanibel and service was professional. Started with Mussels and they were the best I have had in years. BUT my wife's medium rare steak was well done and my "small plate" scallops had only two (2) scallops on the plate. For $17 are you kidding me? We may come back for a glass and wine and the mussels but for diner no way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Melissa's Cafe also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sweet Melissa's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing