We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Place to stay”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed a week in May 2014 and loved every minute of it. Had extremely low tides and saw more live shells than we ever have before. We have stayed at Ocean's Reach for a week every year for the last several years and have not had many problems, and what we did were quickly addressed by management. Really love this place and we are looking forward to returning in September! Especially like condos 4A4 and 4B4. Ocean's Reach is a very relaxing place to unwind and de-stress.

Room Tip: If going in the summer, make sure you use No-See-Um bug spray to keep the noseeums at bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moriah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    59
    8
    6
    0
See reviews for
256
210
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centerton, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed in 1B4 from June 21 till the 27th. The view from our condo was incredible. The kitchen was stocked so well we ate in our condo exclusively. I was very impressed with how the unit owner thought of everything that was essential. The storage unit was stocked with beach necessities. The only complaint would be the bedroom mattress. The review by another patron was spot on with the FIRMNESS of the mattress. The bed was also full of sand, but we got out a blanket to cover the fitted sheet to remedy that issue. Our two teens slept on the sofa bed and stated often how the coil would hurt their back, so if you are bringing other people to sleep on the pull out sofa bed I would suggest getting a two bedroom. When we arrived the floor had a lot of sand residue, but I guess due to location that is to be expected. All in all we will be back to this beautiful area. The grounds are immaculate and the scenery is breathtaking. Our last night there we enjoyed from our lanai an amazing thunderstorm! Just as a last thought! If you go to the beach at night put on bug repellant! The noseeums will eat you up.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank law2295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texarkana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week on the top floor corner and had an excellent view, especially of the sunrise every morning. The views were beautiful and the porches are screened in, so we never had a problem with bugs, birds, or belongings blowing away. The condo was comfortable, clean, and had everything we needed. We were extremely thankful for the washer and dryer, which we ended up using daily. The grounds were clean and beautifully landscaped. I'm not sure you can get much closer to the water on Sanibel. Access was easy and shells and other wildlife were plenty. We also enjoyed the shell cleaning station, BBQ area, and outdoor games. We also rented bicycles, which were conveniently waiting at our condo when we arrived. Check-in and check-out was quick and easy. We have no complaints and can hardly wait to return. There is no reason to book
anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We love Ocean's Reach & had stayed there before. If we had stayed at 1B4 on our first visit,we would not have returned. We love the facility and all that Oceans Reach offers: the closeness to the beach,a nice pool,the clean manicured landscape & the friendly staff. The 1B4 unit had a great kitchen & a nice lanai to view the gulf. The downfalls were internet access that was shoddy( had to use other units wifi), pillow cases that were too small for the queen size pillows, no rugs except a door mat(not a stitch of carpeting- just hard tile), a sofa that makes a farting sound every time you sat on it, Nowhere to put your feet up,a bathroom fan that sounds like it will explode, a tub faucet that doesn't stop the water properly, and a TV in the bedroom that is smaller than my laptop. It's a nice one bedroom condo. But, others are so much nicer. It's unfortunate. Maybe someone should stay here for a week and see how it feels. I was sad to leave Sanibel, but so happy to feel the comforts of home. Cudos to the Oceans Reach staff that quickly replaced our TV after a storm destroyed it. We will return, but not to this unit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Linleedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansreach, General Manager at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. It was a delight hosting you and your family again at Ocean’s Reach and we are pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to Sanibel Island. We’re disheartened to hear that you did not care for the unit you chose this year and we will forward your comments to the unit’s owner. As we remind all of our guests, our on-site management office is open 7 days a week with the specific goal of promptly tending to any problems that may come up, so in the future please don’t hesitate to let us know of issues that can be immediately addressed. We’re here to make sure that your island vacation is a completely relaxing one! Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We just got back yesterday from a one week stay at Ocean's Reach. My overall impression of the condo was average. The access to the beach is its main draw but other than that I Was not really impressed. The dishwasher was old and rusted inside. The washer made this odd squeaking when it was running that made it distracting to watch TV in the evenings. The kitchen was equipped but only with the basics. Want to use the on site grill? No grill tools to be had. Want to store leftovers? No plastic containers to store any. The guest shower made a horrible sound like a jet taking off when in use. MY kids took baths after using it once as it was so loud. The ceiling fan in the main area had one speed and you could not turn off the light attached to it. No beach towels were available in the unit. The DVD player was not hooked up to the TV. The iPod dock did not have a power code so it was unusable. The internet service was spotty at best. MY wife wanted to use CSLive to edit some photos but it could not connect to the Adobe servers until Wednesday of that week and the internet dropped out often after that. I also want to point out that there is almost no cabinet storage in the unit. We like to cook at the unit in the evening so we bought a bunch of groceries on the was into Sanibel. we had to just stack them up on the counter for storage as there is no place to put them.
The pool was great and very close to the ocean so that is a plus.

I have been to Sanibel 4 times and this is the most average condo we have stayed at.

Talking to other guests is seems that we picked the old and not well cared for unit as several other people were amazed at our experience.

Room Tip: Pick another unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansreach, General Manager at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your review. We will contact the unit owner to advise them of your feedback. We are very sorry, however, that you did not advise us about any of these issues during your stay here. Our on-site management office is open 7 days a week with the goal of responding to all problems as quickly as possible. Many of the difficulties you mentioned could have been addressed as soon as we learned of them, such as arranging for immediate repair of the shower and dishwasher. We also could have helped provide guidance, such as where to locate grill tools and how to use the remote control for the ceiling fan. We do apologize for items that apparently were missed during our pre-arrival inspection, e.g. the disconnected DVD player, and staff has been alerted to be more observant in the future. We also apologize for the faulty internet service last week, but as you’ll recall, it was one of the many ramifications we experienced due to a nearby lightning strike, all of which were addressed as quickly as possible. Thank you again for your feedback. We will utilize your comments in our ongoing efforts to improve Ocean’s Reach, but certainly in the future, please don’t hesitate to advise us in person of any difficulties so we can better serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had a great experience at Ocean's Reach for our 1st visit to Sanibel. Condo was right next to the beach, very clean, and kitchen was well stocked. Pool was right next to the water and the grounds were very well maintained. Shelling was excellent on the beach and low tide was a lot of fun looking for shells and sea life. We will definitely stay there again. My only complaint is other renters were smoking in their lanai and it would seep into ours. We notified management and they said "unfortunately there's not much we can do about it."

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceansreach, General Manager at Ocean's Reach Condominiums, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent visit to Ocean’s Reach. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan on visiting again. We were disheartened to hear, however, that you did not receive more information about how we address guests who violate our “no smoking” policy. For the comfort of all guests, Ocean’s Reach is strictly a non-smoking resort and smoking is prohibited in all interior and exterior areas, including our lanais. We are concerned when guests disregard this policy, as our gulf breezes can certainly drift smoke toward other units, disturbing other guests, especially those with respiratory issues. Fortunately, the vast majority of our guests appreciate and adhere to our "no smoking" policy. Whenever we are alerted to violators, however, we immediately try to contact them in person. If we are unable to do so, we leave a strongly worded reminder of our non-smoking policy and advise them that, per published resort policies, they may incur additional cleaning fees (starting at $100) or face other consequences for violating our smoking policy. Our paramount concern is for the safety and comfort of all guests and we are sorry that this was not explained in more detail to you. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dillsboro, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I just returned from our first visit to Ocean's Reach. The place is amazing from the rooms to the staff. I absentmindedly left an item in the room that we were staying in and they were able to locate it and shipped it right to my house. From now on, when we visit the island, this will be our home.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
1.1 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
Sanibel Siesta on the Beach
#2 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.8 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
2.2 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sanibel Moorings
Sanibel Moorings
#1 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean's Reach Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean's Reach Condominiums

Property: Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Address: 2230 Camino Del Mar Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean's Reach Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All Oceanfront 1 & 2 bed Condos. Enjoy the amenities of home at the beach. Every building is only 19 steps to the beach. All units have a bath for each bedroom. Amenities: Free wireless, Tennis, Basketball, Pool, Shuffleboard, DVD, Elevators, Washer/Dryer, Large Shell Cleaning Station, Gulf-side Pool, Outdoor dining and grill area, on-site Guest Services, Fully equipped units. Units all look out to the beautiful gulf beach. Bike rental is on site. Total remodeling complete in 2006. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean's Reach Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean`s Reach Condominiums Hotel Sanibel Island
Ocean's Reach Condominiums Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing